Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Pentax

Pentax Be Interesting

Old 23rd March 2007   #1
southernoise

Default Vivitar 100mm f3.5 Macro + 1:1 adapter

Some test shots of the elcheapo vivitar lens. Handheld with flash but would have been sharper if I had bothered to bring out the tripod.

Without the 1:1 adapter

With the 1:1 adapter

100% crop
Old 23rd March 2007   #2
longko

Default Re: Vivitar 100mm f3.5 Macro + 1:1 adapter

Wow. Very nice indeed. How much you got it for? I may want to get one just to collect BTW does crop factor adds on it?
Old 23rd March 2007   #3
otc

Yup, el cheapo lens is good. Where to find adapter? How much?
clarity of picture-Good, sharp and considering the low cost. Would teleconverter 2X and extensiion tube helps on magnification?

OTC
Sponsored Link
Old 23rd March 2007   #4
southernoise

eh it looks like my 100% crop is not really 100% hahaha... damn... i dunno how to do these things. never been a pixel peeper.

the lens was bought on ebay for around usd50 or thereabouts. can't remember really.

the 1:1 adapter is just a screw on magnifying filter that came with it. think the2x + extension tubes will help but i've yet to try.lazy leh

with the crop factor the lens would be a 150mm.
Old 23rd March 2007   #5
longko

US$50 is a good deal I really want to find the legendary 105mm f2.5/2.8 macro made by kiron. (Still looking for a good deal for it, ebay starts selling them at cut throat prices )

Look at these
http://www.flickr.com/groups/46164499@N00/pool/
Old 23rd March 2007   #6
southernoise

wah nice but i'd credit it to the photogs lah. give them a tamron 90mm macro and they could prob do the same.

main thing is to get em cheap!
Old 23rd March 2007   #7
longko

Originally Posted by southernoise View Post
wah nice but i'd credit it to the photogs lah. give them a tamron 90mm macro and they could prob do the same.

main thing is to get em cheap!
ya lor. K mount ones used to sell on ebay for <US$50 now very hard liao. Last one think about US$80

My bad, the last one sold for US$122.50
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...2538&rd=1&rd=1

Think buy Tamron cheaper lol

Last edited by longko; 23rd March 2007 at 06:23 PM.
Old 23rd March 2007   #8
Vulpix0r

I used to do a lot better when I was around 14 with manual macro lenses... Nowadays always aim quite badly...
Closed Thread