Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta

Sony/Konica-Minolta Dream. Create. Live

Old 16th March 2007   #1
TME

Default Carl Zeiss 16-80mm

Anyone has ever seen this lens in S'pore? Tried it out yet? It's perfect for walkabout... at 1.5X crop of the current DSLRs... it is a APS-C lens right? So it's not full rame 35mm... any idea about price? Thanks!
Old 16th March 2007   #2
wilsonang

Default Re: Carl Zeiss 16-80mm

everybody drooling for this lens liao
Old 18th March 2007   #3
TuTu_CaR

you can preorder in Amazon.com for $699 USD...
Sponsored Link
Old 18th March 2007   #4
TME

Originally Posted by TuTu_CaR View Post
you can preorder in Amazon.com for $699 USD...
That's madness, no? About S$1050 for a DT lens?!!! Phew...
Old 18th March 2007   #5
dr34mc4st3r

welcome to $ony...
Old 18th March 2007   #6
Rashkae

Originally Posted by dr34mc4st3r View Post
welcome to $ony...
No... Welcome to CZ...
Old 19th March 2007   #7
pai

Originally Posted by TME View Post
That's madness, no? About S$1050 for a DT lens?!!! Phew...
11-18 is also a DT lens... though still cheaper than this....
Old 19th March 2007   #8
mtiller

Hi All,

I'm new to this forum and I hope I'm not breaking the rules by posting a link to another forum. Here is a link to a comparison of the CZ 16-80 to a couple of other lenses.

http://www.dyxum.com/dforum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12890
Old 19th March 2007   #9
eow

Originally Posted by mtiller View Post
Hi All,

I'm new to this forum and I hope I'm not breaking the rules by posting a link to another forum. Here is a link to a comparison of the CZ 16-80 to a couple of other lenses.

thank you very much.
really appreciated !
Old 19th March 2007   #10
Rashkae

The CZ is SHARP!!!!

However, it's also noticeable that the KM 24-105 really comes close.
Old 19th March 2007   #11
dr34mc4st3r

Originally Posted by mtiller View Post
Hi All,

no worries...dun remember having such a rule in this forum thanks for the link!
Old 19th March 2007   #12
GENO

good zoom range, but the price is a little too high lor.
Old 19th March 2007   #13
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by dr34mc4st3r View Post
no worries...dun remember having such a rule in this forum thanks for the link!
i dun mind adding it just for you...

btw... anybody compared tis lens with similar one instead...

like 17-35f3.5G, Tamron 17-50f2.8, Sigma 17-70
Old 19th March 2007   #14
TuTu_CaR

i planning to sell of my 17-35mm and 24-105mm to fund for this cow lens!
Old 19th March 2007   #15
Del_CtrlnoAlt

moooooo....

i thinking if its better than the tamron 1... i sell my tamron and some other lens to fund tis...
Old 19th March 2007   #16
pai

then when larger crop sensor becomes more widely (and cheaply) available then how?
Old 19th March 2007   #17
eow

both will came in handly once sony came up with a 1.25 or ff bodies
Old 19th March 2007   #18
FZ5owner

wow!!! bro, will cost u more to fund for the cow lens. u still need to feed the cow with grass daily...........
Old 19th March 2007   #19
TuTu_CaR

haiz!!!!!

why the COW lens is a DT LENS!?

they make it just for the consumer market???

maybe wait for sony to announce their sensors plans first before jumping in to cow land
Old 28th March 2007   #20
drake336

Like many here, I have been waiting for this lens... but now, some bad news...

User review from China:

16-80/3.5-4.5ZA镜头是一支真正的APS镜头。在ALPHA 9胶片机(全幅)上试用,从焦距16mm一直到80mm都有暗角,而且暗角程度在不同焦距时基本不变。不像 另一支11-18的DT镜头,在广角时有暗角,变焦距到15mm以上时就暗角消失。

另外,此镜头的光圈虽然是F/3.5-4.5,实际上F/3.5的范围很小,只是在焦距为16-18mm之间,在20-30mm焦距范围内的最大光圈是F/4.0,超过30mm焦距就是F/4.5了。

In short, vignetting at ALL focal lengths on film and FF, unlike the KM 11-18mm.

Secondly, max f4.5 from 30mm onwards...

That sure rained on my parade some...
Closed Thread