Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 44

Thread: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by Artosoft View Post
    No. No liquid in dry cab. It will dry soon.

    Regards,
    Arto.
    duh... that explains it... but it is tightly sealed..
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    duh... that explains it... but it is tightly sealed..
    Last time I used dry cab to drying my wet washed microfiber cloth .

    Regards,
    Arto.

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by Artosoft View Post
    Last time I used dry cab to drying my wet washed microfiber cloth .

    Regards,
    Arto.
    Will it spoil the dri cab?
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  4. #24

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    Hi all, need you advises pls... I have a HD-60 DigiCab and have been using to store my cam stuff. Recently, I realised that the humidity on the analog scale has been hovering at 60+ to 70+ percent when usually it should be between 40-50%!

    Nothing has been touched and the readings were the same even if I turned the knob to very low humidity! Door is closed properly and there is a red light in the cab so mean power is ok right?

    How how??
    Mine is usually stable at 45-50% but when it rains it can hit up to 55%. That's quite normal for the electronic type using thermo electric element. For dessicant type, it should only increase slightly unless you keep opening the door in humid weather.

  5. #25

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by Artosoft View Post
    Last time I used dry cab to drying my wet washed microfiber cloth .

    Regards,
    Arto.

    Why use a dry cab to dry the wet cloth when we're trying to reduce/maintain the %RH low?

  6. #26

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    Will it spoil the dri cab?
    I also have this fear of placing extra unnecessary stress on the unit leh.

  7. #27

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Think the Akarui dry cabinets are better than the Digicabi.

    My akarui has been stable since day one. The red LED will only light up when humidity is higher than desired settings. 99% of the time the light is off. It only comes on if I do not close the door immed and humidity shoots up.

    If I do not open the dor, I dun even get to see the red light coming on indicating it is drying the air.

  8. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    250

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Got a HD-60 and encountered the same problems. On 3rd day i gave digicabi a call and complain. Next day they sent someone down to change the dehumidfier unit and meter. Been working well since.

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Checked with Digicab. For the HD-60, the red light should be off when humidity settles at steady state. And should not be on at all unless there are humidity changes.

    In the end changed my unit for a new one. Now should be ok. Any idea where to get a digital hydrometer besides sim lim tower? Does places like MS sells?
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  10. #30
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Boon Lay
    Posts
    218

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    MS = Marina Square?

    Can try HomeFix... but quite ex... around $30+ iirc

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    I mean MS Color. HomeFix ex la...
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  12. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Boon Lay
    Posts
    218

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    If want cheap, gotto get from SLT liao la...

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    So now who is right?

    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  14. #34
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    250

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    i would rather trust the digital one. btw where did u get the meter? looking to get one also

  15. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by weevil84 View Post
    i would rather trust the digital one. btw where did u get the meter? looking to get one also
    sim lim square
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  16. #36

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    So now who is right?

    Hey.. eventhough I'm using the DHC series, I also noticed the same thing.. digi-cabi reading different from my digital hygrometer.. but I think it's better to get another hygrometer just to be sure..

    'coz if say the digital one you have is giving wrong reading.. then after you set the RH% to 50% on digital reading.. the actual RH% would effectively be 60%.. might as well don't on.

  17. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by ipin View Post

    Why use a dry cab to dry the wet cloth when we're trying to reduce/maintain the %RH low?
    Read again 'last time'. It doesn't mean I used to dry the wet cloth now.

    FYI, people use dry cab too to dry fruit.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  18. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    Will it spoil the dri cab?
    My dry cab still run well until now. Read the dry cab manual. They said something about to dry fruit too.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  19. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by ipin View Post
    I also have this fear of placing extra unnecessary stress on the unit leh.
    Don't worry. When you know how dry cab work, you are less worry about damaging the dry cab because putting something non photography things.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    sim lim square
    You mean SimLim Tower? I can't find that on SimLim Square last time. Only found it on SimLim Tower.

    Regards,
    Arto.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •