Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 44

Thread: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Hi all, need you advises pls... I have a HD-60 DigiCab and have been using to store my cam stuff. Recently, I realised that the humidity on the analog scale has been hovering at 60+ to 70+ percent when usually it should be between 40-50%!

    Nothing has been touched and the readings were the same even if I turned the knob to very low humidity! Door is closed properly and there is a red light in the cab so mean power is ok right?

    How how??
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  2. #2

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    [QUOTE=yehosaphat;2902933]Hi all, need you advises pls... I have a HD-60 DigiCab and have been using to store my cam stuff. Recently, I realised that the humidity on the analog scale has been hovering at 60+ to 70+ percent when usually it should be between 40-50%!

    Nothing has been touched and the readings were the same even if I turned the knob to very low humidity! Door is closed properly and there is a red light in the cab so mean power is ok right?
    Just got mine two weeks ago...you r right, red(for power) and green light shld be on..and humidity level shld stay as set..mine's stable at ard 48%.Any green light, ie from dim to bright when turned?

  3. #3

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Put in another hydrometer to confirm the humidity reading.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    Hi all, need you advises pls... I have a HD-60 DigiCab and have been using to store my cam stuff. Recently, I realised that the humidity on the analog scale has been hovering at 60+ to 70+ percent when usually it should be between 40-50%!

    Nothing has been touched and the readings were the same even if I turned the knob to very low humidity! Door is closed properly and there is a red light in the cab so mean power is ok right?

    How how??
    Happened once to me as well. Drying unit is prob dead. U'll need to take the unit out to digicab and exchange for a new one.. assuming its still within the warranty period.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Huh... mine got only red light no green light!

    Wah so fast spoilt? bought it august last year only....
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    Huh... mine got only red light no green light!

    Wah so fast spoilt? bought it august last year only....
    Yours is newer version, single red LED.

    Don't forget, electronics stuff, you can't be 100% sure it will not fail. But in most cases, it will serve well.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    BEHIND YOU!!!!!!
    Posts
    678

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    get a DHC series ,set to huminity need and on power can already, no trial-and-error problem
    down side is more expensive

  8. #8

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    mine no red light...

  9. #9

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    Huh... mine got only red light no green light!

    Wah so fast spoilt? bought it august last year only....
    Leave it untouched for another 24h and see what happens. Make sure there is suffiecient ventilation around the cabi.

    BC

  10. #10

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    yup if underwarranty contact them ... that the best solutions... i have three model from them .... only one meter light spoil ...humility works fine .... the AD60 almost 3 years ....

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Wah lau.. suey man. Think gotta call them out liao.

    Now i am taking things out one by one to see if humidity changes
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  12. #12

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    Wah lau.. suey man. Think gotta call them out liao.

    Now i am taking things out one by one to see if humidity changes
    How would taking things out one by one help reduce the humidity? Unless one or some of your items are wet.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by ipin View Post
    How would taking things out one by one help reduce the humidity? Unless one or some of your items are wet.
    Obviously that is something i am trying to find out...
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  14. #14

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    Obviously that is something i am trying to find out...
    Good luck and let us know the outcome.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    could it be that the unit is spoilt. i encoutered that for my previous unit and the humility just hover around the 60-70% range. i bought another unit since.

  16. #16
    Member shocky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Rental @ 82237153
    Posts
    1,249

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    My 40 L unit can only go down to 40% humidity ( on hydrometer)
    even at max power. Is this normal?

    But my 70L goes to 20% and stays there...

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Guess wat?! My knob is at the Low position turned since last night. Now it is at 50%! So now at least it is within acceptable range liao! Guess wat I took out..

    filters, filter pouch, spare batteries, lens cleaning soln... I am betting the lens cleaning soln is giving the prob! But... it has been in there since day one lei
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  18. #18

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    Guess wat?! My knob is at the Low position turned since last night. Now it is at 50%! So now at least it is within acceptable range liao! Guess wat I took out..

    filters, filter pouch, spare batteries, lens cleaning soln... I am betting the lens cleaning soln is giving the prob! But... it has been in there since day one lei
    Glad you isolated the culprit!
    Maybe your filter pouch has some sweat?

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by ipin View Post
    Glad you isolated the culprit!
    Maybe your filter pouch has some sweat?
    My guess is there is a leak in my lens cleaning soln Do you guys keep it in your dry cab?
    Canon 5D mkII|24-105 F4 IS L|70-200 F4 IS L|135 F2 L|580EX|

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Something wrong with my DigiCab?

    Quote Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
    My guess is there is a leak in my lens cleaning soln Do you guys keep it in your dry cab?
    No. No liquid in dry cab. It will dry soon.

    Regards,
    Arto.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •