Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 256789 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 140 of 195

Thread: Lightroom 1.0

  1. #121

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    i have about 8000 pics in my libarary and it works just fine. The only downtime you have is when you build 1:1 previews of a 200+ shot... that will take some time but its way faster now than before. the betaversion would use up all the memory i had for this operation, LR1 does it now with a third of the resources... i think best is when you import a new shoot to let the computer run by itself for a couple minutes, go have a coffee and come back afterwards. Also previews are discarded after a certain time (can be adjusted by user, default is 30days). so if you revisit a shot taken a year ago you will have to rebuilt the 1:1 previews.

    I found my PC hanging and LR not responding way too frequent. Wonder if this is an operator error problem?

    I P4 3.2 with 2 GB of RAM. HDD space is plenty. I did import about 40K images into LR though.
    deadpoet
    my portfolio

  2. #122

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Quote Originally Posted by ricohflex View Post
    Just went to Challenger.
    Lightroom is available at special price.
    Asia-Pacific version only. Not to be sold in USA.
    Can't recall price. Might be either $179 or $149 I think.

    Edu Pack? If it is I got mine at only S$142.00.

  3. #123

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Trial version already expired.
    So got my copy a while ago.

  4. #124

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Quote Originally Posted by weekh View Post
    Trial version already expired.
    So got my copy a while ago.
    Did u get a good price ?

  5. #125

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    After usng it for 3 days, countless reinstall. Countless tweaking and fixes according to suggestion from all sources. I pronounce Adobe Light Room the BIGGEST SPIEC OF CRAP (and I am being nice otherwise ...) to LR already. If I am allowed to say absolutely whatever I want ...

    I am sure it's a very powerful database, I am sure it has wonderful actions to help photographers, and I am sure it might work one day, but I am not an engineer, not a database admin, nor am I an IT professional, I am merely a photographer. I merely hope LR will help me in post processing my pictures.

    Well, I cannot even open Adobe Photoshop via LR. The god damn Edit in Photoshop option was blanked out!

    I cannot just jump from files to file, folders to folders, the god damn program is Not Responding!

    There seemed to be much more things I cannot do than I can! Yippedi do da Adobe! This is surely a piece of CRAP!
    Last edited by Deadpoet; 27th March 2007 at 10:17 PM.
    deadpoet
    my portfolio

  6. #126

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Quote Originally Posted by 1Ds View Post
    Did u get a good price ?
    Got it from Challenger since there's a store near my place.
    Student version.

  7. #127
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    West
    Posts
    3,136

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Deadpoet View Post
    After usng it for 3 days, countless reinstall. Countless tweaking and fixes according to suggestion from all sources. I pronounce Adobe Light Room the BIGGEST SPIEC OF CRAP (and I am being nice otherwise ...) to LR already. If I am allowed to say absolutely whatever I want ...

    I am sure it's a very powerful database, I am sure it has wonderful actions to help photographers, and I am sure it might work one day, but I am not an engineer, not a database admin, nor am I an IT professional, I am merely a photographer. I merely hope LR will help me in post processing my pictures.

    Well, I cannot even open Adobe Photoshop via LR. The god damn Edit in Photoshop option was blanked out!

    I cannot just jump from files to file, folders to folders, the god damn program is Not Responding!

    There seemed to be much more things I cannot do than I can! Yippedi do da Adobe! This is surely a piece of CRAP!
    Seems like the problem is probably deep inside your computer. The software is merely showing that there is something wrong with your system itself.

  8. #128

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Deadpoet View Post
    After usng it for 3 days, countless reinstall. Countless tweaking and fixes according to suggestion from all sources. I pronounce Adobe Light Room the BIGGEST SPIEC OF CRAP (and I am being nice otherwise ...) to LR already. If I am allowed to say absolutely whatever I want ...

    I am sure it's a very powerful database, I am sure it has wonderful actions to help photographers, and I am sure it might work one day, but I am not an engineer, not a database admin, nor am I an IT professional, I am merely a photographer. I merely hope LR will help me in post processing my pictures.

    Well, I cannot even open Adobe Photoshop via LR. The god damn Edit in Photoshop option was blanked out!

    I cannot just jump from files to file, folders to folders, the god damn program is Not Responding!

    There seemed to be much more things I cannot do than I can! Yippedi do da Adobe! This is surely a piece of CRAP!
    User problem
    a700 | dynax7
    sigma12-24/minolta28-135/sony70-300g/sig400/lensbaby2.0

  9. #129
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    sing
    Posts
    3,353

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    wkh and others, please let me know if you face the same problems with Lightroom that Deadpoet is experiencing. Thanks.

  10. #130

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Quote Originally Posted by ricohflex View Post
    wkh and others, please let me know if you face the same problems with Lightroom that Deadpoet is experiencing. Thanks.

    I find it a little slow (especially during the initial stage when photos are imported) on my 3 years old system with about 1G+ RAM. Exporting also takes a long time even though it is only 1 file in 750X500 jpg pix.....
    Otherwise acceptable lah...

  11. #131
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    sing
    Posts
    3,353

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    This Lightroom ($149 also) thing still on my shelf.

  12. #132

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Hi

    I'm a hobby photographer and I'm evaluating Nikon Capture NX and Adobe Lightroom that may be used for editing and organizing photos taken by my Nikon D40. I don't and haven't started shooting and editing in RAW/NEF yet.

    I have two questions, hopefully someone may give some advice for:

    1. Does LR have any function similar to NX's U-point function where I can adjust HSV and RGB at specific areas of a photo? I know that I can use the Tone Curve and apply such adjustments to a specific pixel exposure, but I suspect it affects all pixels in the photo.

    2. When I select a folder to view thumbnails, all photos including those in the subfolders are displayed. How do I exclude photos from subfolders?

    Thanks.

  13. #133
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    May I ask how I to do batch pasting of setting to all/certain photo selects? Even after I highlight/select all photo, it still paste on the photo I last selected. Now I have to to one by one which is tidious.

    Generally I don't face other problem, except slower than RSE.

  14. #134

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    I'm a hobby photographer and I'm evaluating Nikon Capture NX and Adobe Lightroom that may be used for editing and organizing photos taken by my Nikon D40. I don't and haven't started shooting and editing in RAW/NEF yet.
    LR and capture can process jpeg files as well as RAW. Capture is a software to a) make conversion from RAW to jpeg b) to corrects settings and c) it can be used to manage your camera (tethered shooting).
    LR works similar, it does a) and b) but not c), however it has an integrated database that allows you to manage photos.
    So in some regards the two packages are similar in others not.

    I have two questions, hopefully someone may give some advice for:

    1. Does LR have any function similar to NX's U-point function where I can adjust HSV and RGB at specific areas of a photo? I know that I can use the Tone Curve and apply such adjustments to a specific pixel exposure, but I suspect it affects all pixels in the photo.
    NO, LR does not have the U-point technology as implemented in NX. Your suspicion is correct.
    LR allows you to apply corrections to certain colour casts or channels for example yellow colours, but they will affect all the yellow pixels in a photo.

    2. When I select a folder to view thumbnails, all photos including those in the subfolders are displayed. How do I exclude photos from subfolders?
    are you referring to LR? you cannot as far as i know. LR will show first all the photos in the main folder followed by the ones of each subfolder....

  15. #135

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Quote Originally Posted by zcf View Post
    May I ask how I to do batch pasting of setting to all/certain photo selects? Even after I highlight/select all photo, it still paste on the photo I last selected. Now I have to to one by one which is tidious.

    Generally I don't face other problem, except slower than RSE.
    There is a number of ways to this:
    1. Copy settings from one photo to others
    > develop mode
    > select source photo
    > select "develop>copy settings" from menu or Ctrl+shift+C
    > check the settings you want to copy
    > click copy
    > select photo you want to apply the settings
    > select "develop>paste settings" from menu or Ctrl+shift+C
    done

    2. Syncronize settings
    > develop or library mode
    > select source photo
    > add to selection the photo you want to apply the settings. make sure that the source photo remains the main highlighted one
    > select Sync botton at the bottom of the right hand panel
    > select what you want to be syncronized and sync
    done

    3. AutoSync: settings are applied to other photos while you are making the corrections
    > select photo you want to work on
    > add other photos to selection
    > press ctrl key
    > move mouse over Sync button, it changes to AutoSync, click the button
    > release ctrl key, AutoSync stays
    > all modifictions applied to the first photo selected are applied to the others in the selection as well

  16. #136
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    There is a number of ways to this:
    1. Copy settings from one photo to others
    > develop mode
    > select source photo
    > select "develop>copy settings" from menu or Ctrl+shift+C
    > check the settings you want to copy
    > click copy
    > select photo you want to apply the settings
    > select "develop>paste settings" from menu or Ctrl+shift+C
    done

    2. Syncronize settings
    > develop or library mode
    > select source photo
    > add to selection the photo you want to apply the settings. make sure that the source photo remains the main highlighted one
    > select Sync botton at the bottom of the right hand panel
    > select what you want to be syncronized and sync
    done

    3. AutoSync: settings are applied to other photos while you are making the corrections
    > select photo you want to work on
    > add other photos to selection
    > press ctrl key
    > move mouse over Sync button, it changes to AutoSync, click the button
    > release ctrl key, AutoSync stays
    > all modifictions applied to the first photo selected are applied to the others in the selection as well
    Thanks, will give it a try on the sync mode. I tried 1, but it can't batch paste to all images selected in one go.

  17. #137
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Quote Originally Posted by zcf View Post
    Thanks, will give it a try on the sync mode. I tried 1, but it can't batch paste to all images selected in one go.
    Thanks Michael
    Number 2 & 3 are indeed what I want.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  18. #138

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Quote Originally Posted by zcf View Post
    Thanks Michael
    Number 2 & 3 are indeed what I want.
    your welcome... anytime...

  19. #139

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    michael,
    i want to slap you.
    how come when you teach me LR you didnt gave me such simple step by step guide?instead you gave me an essay to read!

    seriously, write a book.confirm+guarantee alot of Csers will buy.

  20. #140
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    4,532

    Default Re: Lightroom 1.0

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    michael,
    i want to slap you.
    how come when you teach me LR you didnt gave me such simple step by step guide?instead you gave me an essay to read!

    seriously, write a book.confirm+guarantee alot of Csers will buy.
    Buy this one when its out

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 256789 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •