Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 41

Thread: studio flash at f1.8...

  1. #1

    Default studio flash at f1.8...

    guys think thats possible...?


    lo

  2. #2
    Senior Member creampuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dover
    Posts
    5,116

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    Definitely possible - aperture size should have no bearing when using any flash unit.

  3. #3

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    Quote Originally Posted by creampuff View Post
    Definitely possible - aperture size should have no bearing when using any flash unit.
    Correction: It is shutter speed.

    Why do you want to shoot f1.8 using studio flash in the first place?

  4. #4
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    Quote Originally Posted by lohlinshan View Post
    guys think thats possible...?


    lo
    Why do you want to do so?? Your shutter speed will be very high...

  5. #5

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Why do you want to do so?? Your shutter speed will be very high...
    Shutter speed has no effect on the flash exposure. You just need to ensure that the shutter speed is within flash sync speed.

    BC

  6. #6

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    Quote Originally Posted by lohlinshan View Post
    guys think thats possible...?


    lo
    If the flash can be turned down low enough, you should be able to shoot at that aperture. However, take care of the ambient lights which now may be picked up.

    BC

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    I think it's hard unless your strobes are only 150w or something. What you can try to do is having ND filters on the strobes or on your lens.
    If you understand my works, it's photography. If you don't, it's art.
    SplutterPhotography|flickr

  8. #8

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    f/1.8 for shallow DOF?

  9. #9
    Senior Member creampuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dover
    Posts
    5,116

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    Quote Originally Posted by Youhong View Post
    Correction: It is shutter speed.

    Why do you want to shoot f1.8 using studio flash in the first place?
    If you don't know what you're talking about, please don't correct and say it should be shutter speed. So long as the shutter speed used is within flash sync speed of the camera (or lens if it is a leaf shutter), one can use any aperture. Obviously since TS mentioned studio flash, the issue he will probably face when using such a large aperture is how to throttle back the flash output. So long as one can get the desired exposure, there is no reason why a large aperture such as f1.8 can't be used, perhaps to get a very narrow DOF.

  10. #10

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    Quote Originally Posted by creampuff View Post
    Definitely possible - aperture size should have no bearing when using any flash unit.
    Quote Originally Posted by creampuff View Post
    If you don't know what you're talking about, please don't correct and say it should be shutter speed. So long as the shutter speed used is within flash sync speed of the camera (or lens if it is a leaf shutter), one can use any aperture. Obviously since TS mentioned studio flash, the issue he will probably face when using such a large aperture is how to throttle back the flash output. So long as one can get the desired exposure, there is no reason why a large aperture such as f1.8 can't be used, perhaps to get a very narrow DOF.
    I think your original post is quite misleading. The aperture should have a bearing on the flash in terms of flash power to be used. It's also got a bearing on the flash used. With a 1000Ws flash, I think using large aperture becomes virtually impossible (other than using a ND filter as suggested by Splutter ... didn't come across my mind )

    Quote Originally Posted by Youhong View Post
    Correction: It is shutter speed.

    Why do you want to shoot f1.8 using studio flash in the first place?
    Youhong is correct... shutter speed (as long as it is within the sync speed) has totally no effect on the flash exposure (flash strength and flash type). If you are using leaf shutter, there will be effects on flash exposure only at very high shutter speed (faster than the flash duration).

    BC
    Last edited by Scaglietti; 19th February 2007 at 07:44 PM.

  11. #11

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    Most people shoot in studio because you can use small aperature size to get sharp pictures. Why shooting at f1.8 when you can shoot at a smaller aperature size (also bearing in mind that the so called best aperature size to shoot at is definitely not the widest)???

    For shallow DOF? There are also other ways of achieving that FYI...
    1) Larger aperature size (as discussed)
    2) Longer focal length
    3) Closer subject to camera distance

    For portraiture shoots, I don't see there's anything to bokeh... Maybe you are thinking of still life I presume?



  12. #12
    Senior Member creampuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dover
    Posts
    5,116

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    Apologies if my earlier post was misleading.
    The aperture one selects certainly has a direct effect on exposure as every full stop represents either a halving or doubling of the amount of light passing thru the lens. Certainly the aperture one selects would be based on several considerations: DOF, maximising the optimum sharpness of the lens, flash working distance, flash power, etc.

    So long as the shutter speed used is within the flash sync speed, for a given exposure value (EV), any combination of shutter speed/aperture can be used. If for example, a meter reading for a still life using a particular studio flash setup is say 1/15 sec at f5.6 (EV9). If the exposure is kept the same, one could also shoot at 1/30 at f4, 1/60 at f2.8 or 1/125 at f2. Obviously while the exposure remains the same, DOF, sharpness, etc. will differ. Could it be shot at 1/250 at f1.4? Only if the camera's sync speed is slower than 1/250 sec.

    Here I'm not even talking about flash power as the assumption is that the flash output is constant. Obviously in practical terms, using such a wide aperture may be impractical or counter-productive as one would need to use ND filters, increase the flash working distance, etc. to throttle down the flash output to prevent overexposure. These are remedies to reduce light output but it doesn't prevent the use of wide apertures.
    Last edited by creampuff; 20th February 2007 at 12:45 AM.

  13. #13

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    Quote Originally Posted by creampuff View Post
    ...
    So long as the shutter speed used is within the flash sync speed, for a given exposure value (EV), any combination of shutter speed/aperture can be used. If for example, a meter reading for a still life using a particular studio flash setup is say 1/15 sec at f5.6 (EV9). If the exposure is kept the same, one could also shoot at 1/30 at f4, 1/60 at f2.8 or 1/125 at f2. Obviously while the exposure remains the same, DOF, sharpness, etc. will differ. Could it be shot at 1/250 at f1.4? Only if the camera's sync speed is slower than 1/250 sec.

    Here I'm not even talking about flash power as the assumption is that the flash output is constant. Obviously in practical terms, using such a wide aperture may be impractical or counter-productive as one would need to use ND filters, increase the flash working distance, etc. to throttle down the flash output to prevent overexposure. These are remedies to reduce light output but it doesn't prevent the use of wide apertures.
    I think you got it all wrong. When you are working with flash, you take the shutter speed out of the equation. You do not use EV.

    E.g. if you set your flash for ISO100 f/8, you can use 1/25s, 1/100s, 1/250s with f/8. You will get the same exposure no matter what shutter speed you use as long as the aperture and ISO remains the same.

    You only take flash power, ISO and aperture into consideration when using flash. You can use any shutter speed and it will not affect the exposure. You just need to ensure that the shutter speed is lower than your sync speed or slower than the flash exposure. This is because the flash duration is very short and is shorter than your shutter speed under normal circumstances.

    BC
    Last edited by Scaglietti; 20th February 2007 at 04:17 PM.

  14. #14
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    another way is to move the strobes further away from the subject
    or find some other way to cut the amount of light reaching the subject or sensor

  15. #15
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    if flash output is constant

    and the meter says that it should be f11 @ 1/60s
    and if your camera's flash sync can go up to 1/200s

    then using f11 aperture you can use any shutter speed from 1/200s and slower (1/125, 1/60, 1/30, 1/15 and so on )
    but not to slow as the ambient light will also be captured.

  16. #16
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,839
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    funny how the TS never appear again, while everyone is hot under the collar over the flash sync speed and watnots....

    to get back to the original question, yes, u can. but u have to dial down the power of the flash or modify the light like siao to prevent over-exposure.

  17. #17
    Senior Member creampuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dover
    Posts
    5,116

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    ortega sums it up best. definitely got carried away

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    0145.646'N 10637.396'E
    Posts
    547

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    sound very werid. who uses f1.8 studio flash. your flash power is less than 200w ?!?!!? WTH. i haven touch f2.8 even. aperture most used was f5.6

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    Nothing wrong with using big apertures wat, whoever said studio must be everything sharp?
    If you understand my works, it's photography. If you don't, it's art.
    SplutterPhotography|flickr

  20. #20
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: studio flash at f1.8...

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter View Post
    Nothing wrong with using big apertures wat, whoever said studio must be everything sharp?
    Not to say it's wrong... but rare..

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •