Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Focus Priority of CAM2000

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore - Jurong West
    Posts
    807

    Default Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Hi all,

    I'm curious about the Focus Priority of the CAM2000 auto focus module. If I attach a Manual Lens to any of the cam with the CAM2000 auto focus module, will the Custom Function menu A1 and A2 be grayed out?

    What I am wondering is that if you set the cam to focus only when pressing AF-ON, and set the shutter to release only when the subject is in focus (both AF-S and AF-C modes), and you use a manual lens, can you just hold on to the AF-ON button such that the camera doesn't fire till when you focus the lens to the sharpest point as detected by the camera thus getting a pseudo auto focus of sorts?

    TIA for any useful input

  2. #2
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Do some search online and you will be enlighten.
    More info over here:http://www.nikonians.org/nikon/multi...00/review.html

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore - Jurong West
    Posts
    807

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Hi jnet6,

    I have searched on google already. The results didn't really answer my question, which is, can you use focus priority and AF ON button to get the camera to fire when you are focusing a AI / AIS lens and it achieves focus lock even when you are still focusing it.

    So what happens is that, I'm using a 55mm f2.8 micro lens. I am holding on to the AF on button and squeezing the shutter button all the way down. I start focusing the lens from minimum to infinity and keep moving, keep focusing, never really stopping.

    Will it do any of the following?

    1) Fire all the way regardless of if the picture is in focus even as I am focusing

    2) Fire only when the AF is locked (even as I am focusing it to go out of focus since I'm still twisting the focus ring.

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Somewhere Out There
    Posts
    2,568

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    I think that you would loose all focusing indiciators except whether is your shot in focus or not

    I also think that you might still be able to select where you want to focus, but I also think that you could just be stuck to the centre focusing point.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore - Jurong West
    Posts
    807

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Quote Originally Posted by agape01 View Post
    I think that you would loose all focusing indiciators except whether is your shot in focus or not

    I also think that you might still be able to select where you want to focus, but I also think that you could just be stuck to the centre focusing point.
    Since the camera is able to detect if it's in focus or not, I am wondering if it's possible to set it to release the shutter only when it detects the shot is in focus, meaning even with the shutter button pressed all the way, it doesn't fire till it detects that it's in focus.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Wonder if you are refering to "trap" focusing? Care to enlighten us why you want to focus in this manner and in wat kind of situation

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Somewhere Out There
    Posts
    2,568

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Quote Originally Posted by Nerd View Post
    Since the camera is able to detect if it's in focus or not, I am wondering if it's possible to set it to release the shutter only when it detects the shot is in focus, meaning even with the shutter button pressed all the way, it doesn't fire till it detects that it's in focus.
    Don't think so, but you can bring your cam to a 2nd hand shop and try it out yourself.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore - Jurong West
    Posts
    807

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Quote Originally Posted by Jer View Post
    Wonder if you are refering to "trap" focusing? Care to enlighten us why you want to focus in this manner and in wat kind of situation
    Hi Jer,

    yes, I'm refering to something like that. Reason being I manual focus rather slowly if precision is required and I would prefer to hover around a particular range just focusing a tiny bit back and forth and have the cam snap when it's in focus rather than spending that extra 4 seconds trying to get it just right.

  9. #9
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    @ AMK
    Posts
    2,616

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    wah...rich man...

  10. #10

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Quote Originally Posted by Nerd View Post
    Since the camera is able to detect if it's in focus or not, I am wondering if it's possible to set it to release the shutter only when it detects the shot is in focus, meaning even with the shutter button pressed all the way, it doesn't fire till it detects that it's in focus.
    In the older film SLRs, you can use a data back to perform focus priority, so I believe you should be able to do that with the D2 series cameras. Did the manual say anything?

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore - Jurong West
    Posts
    807

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    westwest1,

    I don't have any camera with CAM2000 autofocus module. Only 1 with a CAM900 (D70)

    Reason I am asking all this is out of curiosity

  12. #12

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Quote Originally Posted by Nerd View Post
    westwest1,

    I don't have any camera with CAM2000 autofocus module. Only 1 with a CAM900 (D70)

    Reason I am asking all this is out of curiosity
    The focus priority of the D2X seems to be only for AF. When MF is used, the shutter release can be released anytime regardless of whether the subject is in focus or not.

  13. #13
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Quote Originally Posted by lsisaxon View Post
    The focus priority of the D2X seems to be only for AF. When MF is used, the shutter release can be released anytime regardless of whether the subject is in focus or not.
    It's true, regardless of cam module.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore - Jurong West
    Posts
    807

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Thanks guys! That clears it up!

  15. #15
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Quote Originally Posted by Nerd View Post
    Thanks guys! That clears it up!
    keep taking pictures and print/post!

  16. #16

    Default Re: Focus Priority of CAM2000

    Quote Originally Posted by Nerd View Post
    Thanks guys! That clears it up!
    I think Nikon should incorporate the Freeze Focus function from the F4 databack MF-23 into the D2X. It makes it very easy to shoot many things, especially when the subject is moving, the shutter will be released the moment the subject comes into focus.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •