Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Usergroup Discussions > Alternative Photography

Alternative Photography Toy cameras, pinhole, panoramic and other forms of alternative photography.

Old 14th February 2007   #1
jcryan55

Default Pinhole series #3

Just shocasing a friend's work that was shot recently with the 8Banners 4x5inch pinhole camera. The photos are courtesy of Mr Barnabas Hong, professional photographer, Singapore.

The images are made on slide film and then cross processed.

More of the series can be view at the flrick community at www.flickr.com/groups/sgalternatephotography.
Old 14th February 2007   #2
jcryan55

Default Re: Pinhole series #3

For reference, the images above was made with this pinhole camera using a 4x5 inch slide film. The back can accept the standard 4x5 back or usual Horseman and Linhof back that is 6x9 or 6x7. It can also take the Polaroid 405 or 55 back, which is available very cheaply over eBay.

Old 27th February 2007   #3
lOrBeRt

Originally Posted by jcryan55 View Post
Err abit OT, did you just captured a ghost image or that was a long exposure which you took some body in during an exposure? :P
Sponsored Link
Old 27th February 2007   #4
gangeslim

how small is the pinhole of the 8banners?
Old 27th February 2007   #5
vortex

Old 27th February 2007   #6
gangeslim

wow!
and i tot the stereo pinhole is small at 0.6mm
hmm...
then how much exposure on a bright day at say 2pm?
would 2~4 secs on Iso 400 be enuff?
Old 27th February 2007   #7
TrailsofLife

bro, just aga aga can liao lah. The last time I test my zorki pinhole, my exposure range from 1/2 secs to 15secs within about 3 hrs. In the end everything turn out ok.

35mm negative have a very good tolerance for overexposure.
Old 27th February 2007   #8
vortex

Originally Posted by gangeslim View Post
wow!
and i tot the stereo pinhole is small at 0.6mm
hmm...
then how much exposure on a bright day at say 2pm?
would 2~4 secs on Iso 400 be enuff?
i was shooting around 4-10 secs that day ....on Asa 100 film.
Old 27th February 2007   #9
plsoong

sorry for hijaking the thread...

how do u make the 135mm back for negatives for pinhole?

i intend to make one out of wood and am wondering how to "wind n store" the rolled film b4 i take the exposed roll out inside the dark bag.

the other thing is, how to guage when is the next frame?
Old 27th February 2007   #10
TrailsofLife

Originally Posted by plsoong View Post
sorry for hijaking the thread...

how do u make the 135mm back for negatives for pinhole?

i intend to make one out of wood and am wondering how to "wind n store" the rolled film b4 i take the exposed roll out inside the dark bag.

the other thing is, how to guage when is the next frame?
Here's some 35mm pinhole you can use as a guide:
http://www.blog.co.uk/index.php/alsp...pinhole~428481

http://www.pinholephotography.org/35mm%20A4.htm

http://www.pinholesolutions.co.uk/pinhole_factory.html

http://mkaz.com/photo/cameras/pinhole_35mm.html

Or you can buy a cheap russian rangefinder, find a body cap, and make one like I did.
Pinhole Zorki

I didn't measure the pinhole size and I use Pi Pa Gao bottle cap instead of a body cap.
I make the pinhole from a drink can, cut 3 piece, stack together and poke it with the finest needle you can find. If poke through, use the second piece. If you didn't manage to poke through, use the first piece with the dent created by the needle and use a fine file or sand paper and sand it lightly until you can see a tiny hole through the light.

Last edited by TrailsofLife; 27th February 2007 at 01:35 PM.
Old 27th February 2007   #11
plsoong

Originally Posted by Max 2.8 View Post
Here's some 35mm pinhole you can use as a guide:
http://www.blog.co.uk/index.php/alsp...pinhole~428481

http://www.pinholephotography.org/35mm%20A4.htm

http://www.pinholesolutions.co.uk/pinhole_factory.html

http://mkaz.com/photo/cameras/pinhole_35mm.html

Or you can buy a cheap russian rangefinder, find a body cap, and make one like I did.
Pinhole Zorki

I didn't measure the pinhole size and I use Pi Pa Gao bottle cap instead of a body cap.

hahahahahaha!

aiyoh! the pi pa gao can double up as glue oso...so sticky!

LOL!

where to get such rangefinder xia?!
Old 27th February 2007   #12
TrailsofLife

Originally Posted by plsoong View Post
hahahahahaha!

aiyoh! the pi pa gao can double up as glue oso...so sticky!

LOL!

where to get such rangefinder xia?!
B&S or ebay lor, there's alot of models of russian rangefinder, anyone will do. As long as got slow shutter and B mode.

How to fit the bottle cap tightly into the mount of the camera? Tough one, I sand the side of the Pi Pa Gao bottle cap until it slight fit the mount on the body, then I unscrew the mount and put it in hot water and let it expand abit, then force the bottle cap a bit and it fits in nicely. then, gaffer the side with black tape, glue on the pinhole and screw the whole thing back to the body.

Here's the result:
http://forum.clubsnap.com/showthread...=pinhole+zorki

Last edited by TrailsofLife; 27th February 2007 at 01:44 PM.
Old 27th February 2007   #13
plsoong

GOSH!

THE MATCHBOX ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm gonna give it a try!!!!!!!!!!
Old 27th February 2007   #14
vortex

yes guys and gals....all go try! make ur own pinhole, etc!

so we can conduct our own pinhole day here on the 29th April 2007
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=256820

Old 27th February 2007   #15
TrailsofLife

Originally Posted by vortex View Post
yes guys and gals....all go try! make ur own pinhole, etc!

so we can conduct our own pinhole day here on the 29th April 2007
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=256820

Lets do it http://forum.clubsnap.com/showthread.php?t=261635
Old 27th February 2007   #16
jcryan55

haha, those of you if u decided to give up yr DIY pinhole cams after repeated frsutrated attempts can look for me for the precison engineered ones...lol
Closed Thread