Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: DDR Ram price hit new low! Buy NOW or regret later

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default DDR Ram price hit new low! Buy NOW or regret later

    More ram always better especially for photoshop

    just bought a 512MB Kingston PC2100 DDR at $110+ (or even cheaper if u buy whole system)

    256MB should be abt $57+

    my advise is better get as much as u need before u regret like i did.....past experience & insider info tell me that ram price will not always stays so cheap....it is already cheap enough liao so it will not get cheaper anymore.

    the last time when ram prices were this cheap was in Oct 2001. I regretted not buying 1GB of ram at that time cos the next day the prices were tripled and never go down anymore until now.

    BUY BUY BUY
    We are HDD of PC & FT are MB add to storage;
    so PC never hangs with enormous storage capacity - LKY

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    and err...those who are still using SDRAM

    bad news....SDRAM is more expensive than DDR now.....

  3. #3

    Default

    or me using RDRAM....

    how is the price of RDRAM these days.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Originally posted by mysteriousjimmy
    or me using RDRAM....

    how is the price of RDRAM these days.
    not sure abt australia...but for Singapore

    PC1066 is abt $260 for 256MB
    PC800 is abt $150 for 256MB
    We are HDD of PC & FT are MB add to storage;
    so PC never hangs with enormous storage capacity - LKY

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Wai, can I know where did u get yr DDR RAM so cheap? Thks

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default

    I'm still using PC133.

    But my mobo supports both DDR & SDRAM. Wonder if it's worth "upgrading".

    :Later,

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    a.little.red.dot
    Posts
    208

    Default

    Originally posted by Pinoy
    I'm still using PC133.

    But my mobo supports both DDR & SDRAM. Wonder if it's worth "upgrading".

    :Later,
    It depends on your CPU, if your CPU are slow. No point upgrading, the bandwith of your memory is wasted. So whats your CPU, Athlon or Pentium?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Behind the viewfinder...
    Posts
    5,851

    Default

    Wai,

    Do organise a MO on this ASAP. I'll be da first to support you!

    I want 2 pieces of 512mbs of DDR rams If you are getting, do let me know... thanks!!

    Sniper @ 90487420

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    a.little.red.dot
    Posts
    208

    Default Re: DDR Ram price hit new low! Buy NOW or regret later

    Originally posted by Wai
    More ram always better especially for photoshop

    just bought a 512MB Kingston PC2100 DDR at $110+ (or even cheaper if u buy whole system)

    256MB should be abt $57+

    my advise is better get as much as u need before u regret like i did.....past experience & insider info tell me that ram price will not always stays so cheap....it is already cheap enough liao so it will not get cheaper anymore.

    the last time when ram prices were this cheap was in Oct 2001. I regretted not buying 1GB of ram at that time cos the next day the prices were tripled and never go down anymore until now.

    BUY BUY BUY
    But still the price is not as low as during 2001, its dirt cheap. I think the current price is a normal situation, because DDR-RAM getting faster, PC2700, PC3200 even PC3500. So PC2100 is considered outdated , so it is cheap.

    There are many things to consider when you buy RAM, buy quality not quantity. Kingston are generally cheaper, because they are slower than other brand. Try to get other brand like, Corsair or Samsung. But speed will normally affect gamers, if you use your PC just for photoshop or surfing, speed will not do much diff to you.

    cheers.....

  11. #11

    Default

    /me waiting for SIS 655 M/Bs to be released in singapore. dual channel ddr

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Re: Re: DDR Ram price hit new low! Buy NOW or regret later

    Originally posted by hanoman


    But still the price is not as low as during 2001, its dirt cheap. I think the current price is a normal situation, because DDR-RAM getting faster, PC2700, PC3200 even PC3500. So PC2100 is considered outdated , so it is cheap.

    There are many things to consider when you buy RAM, buy quality not quantity. Kingston are generally cheaper, because they are slower than other brand. Try to get other brand like, Corsair or Samsung. But speed will normally affect gamers, if you use your PC just for photoshop or surfing, speed will not do much diff to you.

    cheers.....
    the price is already lower than Oct 2001

    i still have the price list from Oct 2001 which i keep until now...and everytime i see the price i will bang my head against the wall becos the price was so cheap and i did not buy 1GB of ram last time...

    cos on the day when i upgrade to DDR, the price suddenly shoot up to $100+ for 256MB (from $57)...and then the price keep going up until $150+ for 256MB in 2002

    that's why i was stuck with 128MB until now...cos the price is now back to 2001 level....

    btw, i lazy to overclock so i dun need those "special" one to help me in overclocking...i trust kingston more becos of good support from Covergent.
    Last edited by Wai; 25th February 2003 at 10:00 PM.
    We are HDD of PC & FT are MB add to storage;
    so PC never hangs with enormous storage capacity - LKY

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Originally posted by SniperD
    Wai,

    Do organise a MO on this ASAP. I'll be da first to support you!

    I want 2 pieces of 512mbs of DDR rams If you are getting, do let me know... thanks!!

    Sniper @ 90487420
    MO? cannot lar...no time...just go ard and see which shop sell cheapest lor...mine bought from videopro at 5th floor.

    anyway, shops are selling these ram below cost so they won't let me buy in bulk and they won't give u good price even u buy in bulk...cos the more u buy...the more $$ they lost...they will rather keep the ram until the price go up again....but due to pressure from other shops so they must follow the price cut...
    We are HDD of PC & FT are MB add to storage;
    so PC never hangs with enormous storage capacity - LKY

  14. #14

    Default Re: Re: Re: DDR Ram price hit new low! Buy NOW or regret later

    Yes go and buy it now! Got my 512Mb PC2700 last week for $135 from Fuwell.
    Get the latest news with Today Online Downloader

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default

    Originally posted by hanoman
    It depends on your CPU, if your CPU are slow. No point upgrading, the bandwith of your memory is wasted. So whats your CPU, Athlon or Pentium?
    TB 1.13GHz (AXIA).

    :Later,

  16. #16
    ClubSNAP Admin Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    8,510
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Originally posted by erwinx
    /me waiting for SIS 655 M/Bs to be released in singapore. dual channel ddr
    why wait? MSI GNB MAX-FISR already available and supports Dual Channel DDR. In fact, I will be getting this mobo soon.

  17. #17

    Default Hmm...

    BTW, the Nforce 2 already has dual channel DDR..

    And just to inform you guys, there's already a DUAL socket A Geforce FX board in the works..


    But I don't think that its going to be cheap....

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Re: Hmm...

    Originally posted by SNAG
    BTW, the Nforce 2 already has dual channel DDR..

    And just to inform you guys, there's already a DUAL socket A Geforce FX board in the works..


    But I don't think that its going to be cheap....
    N-force only allows u to put two piece of DDR (cos there are 3 slots only)

    but for Pentium 4 (with granite bay chipset) there are 4 slots...so u can put 2 pairs (4 pieces) of ram and run in Dual Ch. DDR mode
    We are HDD of PC & FT are MB add to storage;
    so PC never hangs with enormous storage capacity - LKY

  19. #19

    Default

    yup
    rock bottom man
    bought a stick of 512 pc2700 yesterday for only $120+

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Where mutant dugongs vormit
    Posts
    270

    Default

    My MOBO has 3 slots, 2 with 256mb each and one with 512mb. How to change / sell?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •