Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Some VNC issues

  1. #1
    Member/Tangshooter zaxh81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,339

    Default Some VNC issues

    Hi,Any guys out here is good at using VNC?
    i'm trying to link up my office computer with my house com.
    Both are installed with VNC server and viewer.
    I registered for a dynamic host name for the server and also installed the IP address update client program but couldn't get the viewer to view in.
    i opened port 5800 to 5900 on my server side router.
    In the end,the connection refused.
    No firewall on server side.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Some VNC issues

    what are your office computer and home IP addresses ? Can you ping your office computer ip address ?
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

  3. #3

    Default Re: Some VNC issues

    Quote Originally Posted by zaxh81 View Post
    Hi,Any guys out here is good at using VNC?
    i'm trying to link up my office computer with my house com.
    Both are installed with VNC server and viewer.
    I registered for a dynamic host name for the server and also installed the IP address update client program but couldn't get the viewer to view in.
    i opened port 5800 to 5900 on my server side router.
    In the end,the connection refused.
    No firewall on server side.
    If you open a port that means you have firewall of some sort and opening port are the few feature of a firewall.

    Try ping your VNC server [by name resolution and also IP], does it resolve? Also does your ISP blocks uncommon ports?
    Try telnet onto your VNC server 'telnet <serverIP> 5800' or 5900.

  4. #4
    Member/Tangshooter zaxh81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,339

    Default Re: Some VNC issues

    Quote Originally Posted by megaweb
    what are your office computer and home IP addresses ? Can you ping your office computer ip address ?
    My office com have a unique IP 192.168.0.X and another is DNS eg 213.17.123.16
    If i ping is use house com to ping my office com?
    Quote Originally Posted by b18
    If you open a port that means you have firewall of some sort and opening port are the few feature of a firewall.

    Try ping your VNC server [by name resolution and also IP], does it resolve? Also does your ISP blocks uncommon ports?
    Try telnet onto your VNC server 'telnet <serverIP> 5800' or 5900.
    i very noob in IT stuffs,i will try to read up telnet and ping the VNC server.

    Thanks megaweb and b18

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Raffles Place
    Posts
    1,808

    Default Re: Some VNC issues

    Quote Originally Posted by zaxh81 View Post
    Hi,Any guys out here is good at using VNC?
    i'm trying to link up my office computer with my house com.
    Both are installed with VNC server and viewer.
    I registered for a dynamic host name for the server and also installed the IP address update client program but couldn't get the viewer to view in.
    i opened port 5800 to 5900 on my server side router.
    In the end,the connection refused.
    No firewall on server side.
    VPN way of connecting is different from remote dailin of 56K modem. Since yr office is given VPN , i guess only VPN access works.
    Last edited by raincool2005; 9th February 2007 at 10:17 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    3,287

    Default Re: Some VNC issues

    If your office is using a private network (which is usually the case) you will need to do a VPN. Once you are connected through VPN then you can ping your office server which will mean you should be able to connect using VNC.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Some VNC issues

    I think you may be able to get it to work by mapping port 5800 to redirect traffic to a specific IP address on your server side router configuration. VNC is not working now because when the VNC client is connecting to the external IP address but the router doesn't know which client to direct the traffic to (all private IPs 192.168.x.x are being "hidden" behind 1 public IP).

  8. #8

    Default Re: Some VNC issues

    Quote Originally Posted by zaxh81 View Post
    Hi,Any guys out here is good at using VNC?
    i'm trying to link up my office computer with my house com.
    Both are installed with VNC server and viewer.
    I registered for a dynamic host name for the server and also installed the IP address update client program but couldn't get the viewer to view in.
    i opened port 5800 to 5900 on my server side router.
    In the end,the connection refused.
    No firewall on server side.
    Usually people don't use VNC to link to office PC from external network esp from home PC...
    This is because office network are usually controlled either by firewall or router. Try to use VPN instead.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •