Thread: esplanade.

Default esplanade.

the image below was taken on my first photo taking session. i am a newbie in photography and would really wish to improve. hence, i will be glad if the image below can be comment and critique by you guys. thanks in advance.

it is a shot of the esplanade (part of it) during daytime at around 4pm. comments and ways to improve the shot will be greatly appreciated. thanks.

Default Re: esplanade.

one of the 'shot-to-death' places.

ok. i think if you could have frame the top left corner of the leaves, that will be better. it's kinda distracting and does nothing to the picture.

other than, i will prefer more skies or more of esplanade composition.

lighting is flat.

just my 2 cents.

Looks a bit underexposed to me
    And maybe too much sharpening done? Not too sure about that, though

I think too much sharperning liao.

too sharp ....

The torns looks like they are trembling.

thanks for the comments everyone. i do agree that there are errors in the picture. really appreciate all the comments and critiques. how do i ensure that a picture is not too sharp? i am really a noob in photography. am willing to learn.

thanks guys.

There are some halos between the "spikes" and the sky, sharpening artefacts I believe. Also noticed you may have set your camera date to year 2005?
    "...not taking what one doesn't desire is the hardest thing in the world" - Albert Camus

Quote Originally Posted by wetmybed View Post
    thanks for the comments everyone. i do agree that there are errors in the picture. really appreciate all the comments and critiques. how do i ensure that a picture is not too sharp? i am really a noob in photography. am willing to learn.

thanks guys.
    I believe there are quite a few ways to sharpen images, just google to find them. Basically you want to avoid creating artefacts from sharpening that destroys the image.

Just found one that seemed quite good and illustrates what happened to your image: