Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Raw Vs Bracket

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bukit Panjang
    Posts
    791

    Default Raw Vs Bracket

    After starting to shoot in Raw, I realised its potential to play around with the different settings. And simply loves it.

    However, If I were to shoot in brackets and merge them in HDR format, will it perform as well as RAW?

    please advise.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    A village in a forest
    Posts
    1,515

    Default Re: Raw Vs Bracket

    Well you could still bracket your shots in RAW. This way, the range will be further expanded, instead of trying HDR from a single RAW photo with a more limited range.
    Canon 80D|Panasonic LX3/LX5
    35f2 IS|50f1.8|85f1.8|12-24f4|18-135f4-5.6 IS|28-75f2.8

  3. #3
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Raw Vs Bracket

    Quote Originally Posted by ryuggen View Post
    After starting to shoot in Raw, I realised its potential to play around with the different settings. And simply loves it.

    However, If I were to shoot in brackets and merge them in HDR format, will it perform as well as RAW?

    please advise.
    Well... in RAW, you have a small leeway in terms of exposure. Well, if I want to do bracketing, I'd still shoot in RAW and have more room to play with.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bukit Panjang
    Posts
    791

    Default Re: Raw Vs Bracket

    Very taxing on memory if were to use RAW. I saw a few photos over in flickr.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/lesec/374882166/

    I'm really impressed by how he did the post process. Is this a case of HDR? Or how did he managed to capture such contrasting colors. I seriously doubt if any camera can produce this kind of quality without serious PS.

    Anyway, thanks guys.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    A village in a forest
    Posts
    1,515

    Default Re: Raw Vs Bracket

    Quote Originally Posted by ryuggen View Post
    Very taxing on memory if were to use RAW. I saw a few photos over in flickr.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/lesec/374882166/

    I'm really impressed by how he did the post process. Is this a case of HDR? Or how did he managed to capture such contrasting colors. I seriously doubt if any camera can produce this kind of quality without serious PS.

    Anyway, thanks guys.
    Well, if you want to maximise your range, RAW is the best.

    I don't think the picture in your link is HDR. It is more of getting the quality and angle of light right at the time of shoot. Also I believe the photographer did not have to do any really serious amount of editing, maybe just some tweaking to enhance the colours.
    Canon 80D|Panasonic LX3/LX5
    35f2 IS|50f1.8|85f1.8|12-24f4|18-135f4-5.6 IS|28-75f2.8

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: Raw Vs Bracket

    I prefer only RAW than bracketing. In bracketing, there is a different in time when the bracketing shoots was taken. If you combine them in HDR, it will create another problem.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Raw Vs Bracket

    Hi all, sorry to OT here. How do you merge your photos into a HDR format picture? What software do you use? Does the software that came along with my Canon 300D support this? I tried searching the forums for "HDR" but apparently the search engine returns nothing.

    Appreciate any reply. Thank you.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •