Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 56

Thread: RAM and Vista

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by kcuf2 View Post
    yes...as i mentioned in another thread, 2gb is the amount for ur vista to run smoothly with all the aero crap.... take note, this 2gb amount is JUST for vista.

    If u add in photoshop, anti virus, firewalls, x-fi sound, and all the mumbo jumbo background applications etc, 4gb is the recommended amount.
    off topic, my mac running 1gb ram, the eye candy is good and i can run photoshop, msn msgr, iCal, iTunes, ACDsee, FF and QuickSilver ........ oh sorry, Vista is a newer OS, so cannot compared........... Vista is great!

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Punggol 21
    Posts
    967

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    my notebook only up to 2GB ram..... tt's mean not good enuff for vista....

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by Sjourn View Post
    my notebook only up to 2GB ram..... tt's mean not good enuff for vista....
    upgrade RAM! .... provided there is enough slot ... notebook may have very limited slots right?

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    i think Vista will make RAM manufacturers very happy!

  5. #25

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    I was tested on my 1 GB RAM laptop with Vista quite sometime ago. What I can say is really cannot make it. Vista suck too much resources. If you insist on Vista, recommended use it on Core 2 Duo with at least 2GB RAM to let all things run smoothly. Unless you really willing to bear with the speed then nothing I can say.

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by brandonb View Post
    I was tested on my 1 GB RAM laptop with Vista quite sometime ago. What I can say is really cannot make it. Vista suck too much resources. If you insist on Vista, recommended use it on Core 2 Duo with at least 2GB RAM to let all things run smoothly. Unless you really willing to bear with the speed then nothing I can say.
    u tested 1gb with vista alone or running some programs concurrently? .... what am i talking? if not running any programs, whats the use of a computer?

  7. #27

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Yeo View Post
    u tested 1gb with vista alone or running some programs concurrently? .... what am i talking? if not running any programs, whats the use of a computer?
    no more multitasking?? so that we can concerate on 1 job at a time.

    aiya ..to save $$$ stay with XP from now..
    Last edited by drewdam; 30th January 2007 at 10:29 PM.

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    KFC
    Posts
    1,776

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Yeo View Post
    i think Vista will make RAM manufacturers very happy!
    i certainly hope so too.... the price of ram to me now is still very very expensive.. i have been staying with 768mb of ram for 2 yrs already, and the cs2 ran very slow on my 2.26ghz computer....
    but ps 7 is just nice, the speed is ok

    i hope this will make more ram manufacturers come into the industry and hopefully drive the price of 1 gb ram down to $50 or less... This may seem like a dream now, but wait a minute, still remember the days when 1gb cf card cost near $1000?
    09 Oct 09 officially marks the date I become a canon convert.

  9. #29
    Senior Member Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Blue/Green Planet
    Posts
    1,854

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Stick with XP.

    Vista is "eye candy" and a pain
    Time, is an effortless construction :)

  10. #30
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
    Posts
    8,242

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Yeo View Post
    5 years were long time - enough time for the programmers to remove lots of bugs
    ... yeah, and add a lot more at the same time

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Stick with XP.

    Vista is "eye candy" and a pain
    Pain? candy suppose to be sweet leh

  12. #32
    Senior Member Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Blue/Green Planet
    Posts
    1,854

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Yeo View Post
    Pain? candy suppose to be sweet leh
    Ask a dentist
    Time, is an effortless construction :)

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by ndroo View Post
    ... yeah, and add a lot more at the same time
    debugs and re-bugs, debugs and re-bugs.... with all this cycles, maybe that's why 5 years of development?

  14. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    maybe a no brainer remark: $ is the only issue that hinder Vista upgrade as most people dun want to spend the money to upgrade their hardware.....

    so Vista actually is a great product!

  15. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Yeo View Post
    maybe a no brainer remark: $ is the only issue that hinder Vista upgrade as most people dun want to spend the money to upgrade their hardware.....

    so Vista actually is a great product!
    you hit the bulleye!
    i don mind trying vista if its free.

  16. #36

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    512MB worth of RAM WILL run on Windows Vista. I've tried running Vista Ultimate on 512MB of ram.

    but on the side note, right once after you've installed Windows and all the drivers, it'll already take more then 300MB of RAM for Windows alone.

    that's a cool 60% more as compared to Windows XP, which would not take more then 180MB under same conditions...

    Windows Aero Glass is cool, but personally, i find it dumb to have nice nice interface at the expense of responsiveness...

    and to rant on, windows defender is really a pain in the ass. everything you run, windows defender will ask you if you'll permit it or not.. perhaps it's good for the "not so literate" bunch, but it's annoying if you ask me. RAM sucking piece of feature...

    oh well.

    it's kinda odd that i've been chasing betas for Windows XP 5 years ago, but now Vista is officially out, i dont give 2 hoots. =)

  17. #37

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Yeo View Post
    5 years were long time - enough time for the programmers to remove lots of bugs
    who say remove bugs, they try to figure how to put in bugs to stop people using pirate copy
    vista is compitable with all the windows virus

  18. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    wondering when the jump from DOS to Windows , does the users of PC complained about the need to buy more RAM?

  19. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by asdfghjkl View Post
    who say remove bugs, they try to figure how to put in bugs to stop people using pirate copy
    vista is compitable with all the windows virus
    Vista is the most secured Windows ever developed , ok?

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Punggol 21
    Posts
    967

    Default Re: RAM and Vista

    just wait for Vista SP1, SP2,SP3, SP4,.......

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •