Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 16th January 2007   #1
jeanie

Default which has the best closeup effect?

thinking of shooting a watch.

i dont have a macro lens.so can please advise which lens can give me the best 'close up' shot?

1)70-200 afs
2)17-35
3)12-24
4)50 1.4
5)105 dc
6)75-300
7)18-200
8)20
9)35

Last edited by jeanie; 17th January 2007 at 01:01 PM.
Old 16th January 2007   #2
lsisaxon

Default Re: which has the best closeup effect?

Originally Posted by jeanie View Post

i dont have a macro lens.so can please advise which lens can give me the best 'close up' shot?

1)70-200 afs
2)17-35
3)12-24
4)50 1.4
5)105 dc
6)75-300
7)18-200
8)20
9)35
50/1.4 or 35mm with reversal ring, depending on the magnification you need. If you're thinking of just using the lenses as they are, then you should look up the specifications on the maximum magnification ratio which has to do with the closest focusing distance and the optical quality of the lens itself.

Still, my advice for you would be to get a proper micro lens like the 60/2.8 or 105/2.8VR. 60/2.8 would be more suitable for shooting watches because of the working distance.

Last edited by lsisaxon; 16th January 2007 at 03:13 PM.
Old 16th January 2007   #3
jeanie

Originally Posted by lsisaxon View Post
50/1.4 or 35mm with reversal ring, depending on the magnification you need. If you're thinking of just using the lenses as they are, then you should look up the specifications on the maximum magnification ratio which has to do with the closest focusing distance and the optical quality of the lens itself.
1)what's reversal ring?must buy?

2)dont understand the underlined sentence.u mean as in go to nikon website and download the lenses' specs?but even after download, how i know which is best?by taking the lens with the closest focusing distance?
piang eh.so troublesome
Sponsored Link
Old 16th January 2007   #4
jeanie

Still, my advice for you would be to get a proper micro lens like the 60/2.8 or 105/2.8VR. 60/2.8 would be more suitable for shooting watches because of the working distance.

i will only shoot this watch once wor.
investing in a macro lens to shoot it?
i dont really do macros cos i'm afraid of bugs.
Old 16th January 2007   #5
lsisaxon

i will only shoot this watch once wor.
investing in a macro lens to shoot it?
i dont really do macros cos i'm afraid of bugs.
If I'm to choose from the list, I think the 18-200 might be a good bet because it focuses down to about 0.5m and at 200mm, the magnification should be about 1:4.5. The 70-200 focuses down to about 1.5m and would give about 1:6 at 200mm. The 70-300 also focus down to 1.5m and the reproduction ratio may be around 1:4 also (not stated in the tech specs). 50mm/1.4 focuses down to .45m and give 1:6.8. The 105DC focuses down to 0.9m and give about 1:7 ratio.

If your watch isn't too small, you can use the sharpest lens you have and then crop.

Alternatively, you may try to offer some people here to lend you their macro lens for you to use for a day.

Last edited by lsisaxon; 16th January 2007 at 03:30 PM.
Old 16th January 2007   #6
jeanie

If I'm to choose from the list, I think the 18-200 might be a good bet because it focuses down to about 0.5m and at 200mm, the magnification should be about 1:4.5. The 70-200 focuses down to about 1.5m and would give about 1:6 at 200mm. The 70-300 also focus down to 1.5m and the reproduction ratio may be around 1:4 also (not stated in the tech specs). 50mm/1.4 focuses down to .45m and give 1:6.8. The 105DC focuses down to 0.9m and give about 1:7 ratio.

If your watch isn't too small, you can use the sharpest lens you have and then crop.

Alternatively, you may try to offer some people here to lend you their macro lens for you to use for a day.
thanks isisaxon.
another ques, what does the 1:X stands for?
is it 1:6 means 6 x magnification?
Old 16th January 2007   #7
ExplorerZ

iirc the 18-200 is actually only 135mm due to some abnormality with super zoom lens. else at 0.5m focusing distance + 200mm, one can easily get something like 1:2 or bigger.
Old 16th January 2007   #8
Scaglietti

thanks isisaxon.
another ques, what does the 1:X stands for?
is it 1:6 means 6 x magnification?
1:6 = 1/6x magnification.

BC
Old 16th January 2007   #9
Cheesecake

1)70-200 afs
2)17-35
3)12-24
4)50 1.4
5)105 dc
6)75-300
7)18-200
8)20
9)35
85PC.
Old 16th January 2007   #10
scandisk

I'd go with the 50mm plus and 20mm extension tube....
Old 16th January 2007   #11
DeadEnd

how about using a close up filter?
Old 16th January 2007   #12
jeanie

Originally Posted by Scaglietti View Post
1:6 = 1/6x magnification.

BC
liat bo giu.please elaborate.
Old 16th January 2007   #13
jeanie

Originally Posted by Cheesecake View Post
85PC.
pc lens?i dont have wor.
Old 16th January 2007   #14
jeanie

Originally Posted by scandisk View Post
I'd go with the 50mm plus and 20mm extension tube....
seems like $ need be spent to shoot the watch?

tot i could do with what i have.
Old 16th January 2007   #15
jeanie

Originally Posted by DeadEnd View Post
how about using a close up filter?
dun have also.
Old 16th January 2007   #16
wildstallion

Just use the 105 or the 50, you can always crop, especially if you have a high MP camera.
Old 16th January 2007   #17
Cheesecake

sell ur 50 f1.4 and get a 60mm macro lens.
Old 16th January 2007   #18
zac08

Originally Posted by Cheesecake View Post
sell ur 50 f1.4 and get a 60mm macro lens.
She dun haf to sell any... she lich...

Just buy lah... get the 105VR
Old 16th January 2007   #19
Scaglietti

liat bo giu.please elaborate.
Aiyoh...

1:6. This ratio is image size on sensor : actual object size

The magnification is 1/6 times lor (0.167x).

BC
Old 16th January 2007   #20
Scaglietti

seems like $ need be spent to shoot the watch?

tot i could do with what i have.
You can rent my Tamron 90mm... cheap cheap only...

BC
Closed Thread