![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
|
being amateur with 18-55mm kit lens and 50mm f/1.8, I can already feel the superiority of the 50mm over the kit. I am not really keen on telephoto, but I do thought of replacing the kit lens for something better: in order or preferance...
All got reasonably good reviews, or is it that all reviews only say good things Just wondering which is a better lens to bank my cash on, to last me for some good time? Need advise... thanks! ![]() |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
|
something fast... your 1st choice is good.. else the Nikon 17-55 f2.8
|
|
#3 |
|
|
Yes, there is no substitute for a good lens with large aperture. I use a 50mm f1.4 and love it, despite the limitations compared to a zoom.
Key question is: What is your budget? The lenses you have listed seem to belong to the "intermediate" range. An upgrade from the 18-55mm kit lens for sure, but not a huge upgrade. The 18-70mm kit lens is sharper but suffers from some other problems like significant barrel distortion at 18mm and vignetting. Also, the max aperture is not big enough. This reduces the usefulness of the lens. Within your list, I think the Tamron will give you the best overall quality and sharpness, and good aperture. Since you are not into telephoto, forget about the long zooms like the 18-200mm stuff -- these are not quality lenses as they embody too many compromises to make the range that long. If you have the budget, go for a professional grade lens like the Nikkor 17-55mm f2.8 DX. Hope this helps lah. |
|
|
| Sponsored Link |
|
|
#4 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
|
alamak,
must really scrutinize both Tamron (17-50) and Nikon (17-55)'s quality liao... becos the price is so far apart. But no doubt both are very fast! Thorough review Pictures from an EOS 350D I am really willing to part my cash for that Tamron, since got a small bonus for company new product launch. Nikon's is out of the league for me, price-wise. I am more like comparing D80 kit and this Tamron, with my budget. If I am not wrong, D80 kit and 18-70 have similar built, so I guess the earlier comments on 18-70 applies to the D80 kit as well. |
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
|
If this is the case, then get the f2.8 lens from Tamron first...
Use it well until you have more cash to get better lenses. ![]() |
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|