Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

  1. #1

    Default Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    How does Telco sends out phone settings to our mobile phone. Any GSM expert out there?
    Or is there a way i can create a setting for my phone so i can just load it in anytime i needed to restore the values i want?

    I'm currently using a E-61.

    Thanks a million!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Raffles Place
    Posts
    1,808

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by SianZronG View Post
    How does Telco sends out phone settings to our mobile phone. Any GSM expert out there?
    Or is there a way i can create a setting for my phone so i can just load it in anytime i needed to restore the values i want?

    I'm currently using a E-61.

    Thanks a million!
    they are able to send to your phone when u downloaded via GPRS or thru interne or sms. They have a server housing an application running 24/7 to perform requests from users. If settings needs to be changed, the adminstrator will just edit the configuration.

    The settings are standard.. just like your internet proxy settings to ISPs.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    any idea how to create the file?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Raffles Place
    Posts
    1,808

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by SianZronG View Post
    any idea how to create the file?
    why do u want to create the file ? even u got file but no licence application also no use.

    are u on some school projects that involves such a knowledge ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Raffles Place
    Posts
    1,808

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by SianZronG View Post
    any idea how to create the file?
    u can view the settings on your service provider website and just key into the phone as instructed down there.

    the " downloads " are for people who wanted a fast hassel free work..

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nee Soon
    Posts
    457

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by SianZronG View Post
    How does Telco sends out phone settings to our mobile phone. Any GSM expert out there?
    Or is there a way i can create a setting for my phone so i can just load it in anytime i needed to restore the values i want?

    I'm currently using a E-61.

    Thanks a million!
    I thouight E61 can backup the memory settings to miniSD card and can restore from same.
    That's what I did when I upgraded the firmware to v3 (a must, IMO, wifi better now and the stupid voice recorder doesn't start automatically when you accidentally press the button).

  7. #7

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by arpinkor View Post
    I thouight E61 can backup the memory settings to miniSD card and can restore from same.
    That's what I did when I upgraded the firmware to v3 (a must, IMO, wifi better now and the stupid voice recorder doesn't start automatically when you accidentally press the button).

    really? sounds like what i need. let mi go look into that cause i wanna copy some of the phone settings onto another phone. thinkin of the telco way of sending a config file.
    Last edited by SianZronG; 11th January 2007 at 03:53 PM.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    Looks back i tried to use the content copier in the nokia PC suite and it crashed at 1% every time i try it. is there another way to do it? hm....

    Thanks~

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nee Soon
    Posts
    457

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by SianZronG View Post
    Looks back i tried to use the content copier in the nokia PC suite and it crashed at 1% every time i try it. is there another way to do it? hm....

    Thanks~
    I used the function inside the phone:
    Menu --> Tools --> Memory --> Options --> Backup phone mem. (or Restore from card)

  10. #10

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    just wondering the backup saves every setting in your phone or just the contacts?

    Thanks

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Raffles Place
    Posts
    1,808

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by SianZronG View Post
    just wondering the backup saves every setting in your phone or just the contacts?

    Thanks
    mostly contacts ...

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nee Soon
    Posts
    457

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by SianZronG View Post
    just wondering the backup saves every setting in your phone or just the contacts?
    As far as I can tell, everything. But you mentioned later that you want to restore to another phone (a different model, I presume), then this method may not work.
    I only restored to the same phone with this method.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    hm... it's fine i only want to do it to another(same model) phone. THanks for the help~ i'm going to trty it out now!

  14. #14

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    Oh but if i bring it to my friend's HP it will override all his contact though.... hm.... but can always do a contact backup using nokia PC suite right?

  15. #15
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: Any idea how does the telcos do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by SianZronG View Post
    Oh but if i bring it to my friend's HP it will override all his contact though.... hm.... but can always do a contact backup using nokia PC suite right?
    yeap that is correct

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •