Thread: how to select a flash unit

Default how to select a flash unit

hi all~

newbie here would like to find out more about flash units.

how do u determine a gd flash unit (given the wide price range from sub $100 to $???)?

which brands are gd?

how do i prevent myself from getting ripped off when shopping for it?

thanks in advance!!

Deregistered

Default Re: how to select a flash unit

which brand camera u holding...

if canon..use 580EX...

if nikon...use SB800...

I think it's best not to just swipe for the top-end products. What sort of photos do you normally take? Holiday Or just a family thing every now and then? If you don't use the flash unit much, SB800 will be a waste of money. The SB600 (or other brand's mid-range would be a better choice).

And you're using an SLR right?

nope nope...i am actually going to get a panasonic fz50...so was thinking if need be, i will buy it together when i am at the shop.

juz wondering if a flash unit would be helpful to me in terms of learning...so its unlikely for me to spend a bomb on the flash.

are there any "recommended readings" about flash & stuff in relevance to my questions posted on the beginning of the thread?

Quote Originally Posted by xaviertte View Post
    nope nope...i am actually going to get a panasonic fz50...so was thinking if need be, i will buy it together when i am at the shop.

juz wondering if a flash unit would be helpful to me in terms of learning...so its unlikely for me to spend a bomb on the flash.

are there any "recommended readings" about flash & stuff in relevance to my questions posted on the beginning of the thread?
    My $0.02

If you are using the FZ-50 there are a number of flash that you can use...

Primarily, Panasonic has licensed / copied the olympus hot shoe design and thus you should be looking at the olympus FL-XX flashes... There are also reports that the nikon SB600/SB800 can be used for the Panasonic as well thou I didn't have an unit to try it out...