Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 38

Thread: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Singapore East
    Posts
    125

    Default questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    it seems that after i calibrated the screen, the temperature does seem to be a little warmer and when i open applications with lots of colours, the temperature seems to be very warm.. is this the correct calibration? need help urgent

  2. #2

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    check it against the srgb colour plot and u will know how accurate ya profile is..

    cheers

  3. #3

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    What color temperature are you setting the default to?
    Last edited by photobum; 10th January 2007 at 10:11 AM.

  4. #4

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    Quote Originally Posted by photobum View Post
    What color temperature are you setting the default to?

    Can we set the color temp? I ran it's prog and it only tells me b4 and after. The 'after' can be as much as 600-800k warmer than 'before', based on their illustrated photo and that's scary.

  5. #5

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    Quote Originally Posted by shinken View Post
    Can we set the color temp?
    I think you can. It is hidden somewhere in the program. I don't use Colorvision products, so you may want to check their website for this feature.

    I know my Eye-One Match allows me to set any color temperature as I wish. For photo editing, I use 5500K.
    Last edited by photobum; 11th January 2007 at 12:56 AM.

  6. #6
    Member YogiBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Jurong West, Singapore
    Posts
    1,051

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    Have you at least done some of these before beginning calibration?
    - factory reset your monitor color/brightness/contrast settings
    - remove adobe gamma
    - turn off all power management settings
    - cleanup your monitor (dust obstructs accuracy of sensor)

    After adding or subtracting your colors/brightness/contrast, its advisable to wait for the changes to stablise (eg: wait 10-15secs) before proceeding with each measurement.

    Workplace brightness may have an effect on how bright you want your monitor to be. If you work in subdue lighting, you may want the brightness to be lower; if working in brighter environment, the brightness can be higher.

    Spyder2 tend to result in only one fixed brightness, so it might be too bright for you if you normally work in subdue lighting (like me); and just right if in brighter lighting.

  7. #7
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    I also faced the same "warm" problem with sypder 2 express. Its so much warmer than the previous one. I already remove the adobe gamma b4 running it and it turn out very warm. Im using on my laptop LCD. Need help!

  8. #8

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    Quote Originally Posted by iboey View Post
    Im using on my laptop LCD. Need help!
    Can you adjust your laptop LCD's individual RGB channels?
    Last edited by photobum; 13th January 2007 at 08:27 PM.

  9. #9

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    The latest Spyder2Express assumes that the native temperature of your monitor is set to 6500K, which is the factory default of many monitors. However, if the temperature of your monitor is not 6500K, then the calibration will be a bit off.

    If your monitor is native at 5500K, you should use Spyder2Express 2.2 instead of the latest 2.3.

    If the native temperature of your monitor is way off from 5500K or 6500K, then you need to have the Spyder2 Pro. How would you know if the native temperature is off right? I also don't know... but I used to have te Spyder2Express, and I thought the temperature was somewhat wrong. So, I upgraded to Spyder2 Pro.

    The Spyder2 Pro will make you adjust the monitor's RGB, so that the native temperature s around 6500K, before you start calibrating. So that should do the trick.

  10. #10

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    But the difference between the 2 calibrations (with 2 different RGB settings) are not extremely different... but still visibly different.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Singapore East
    Posts
    125

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    wah.. i think i need to find out more.. haha.. very confusing..

  12. #12

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    Quote Originally Posted by Jacobyeo View Post
    wah.. i think i need to find out more.. haha.. very confusing..
    It is very straight forward.... if your monitor is not between 6,500K-5,500K, the color temperature will be off. That's what nottipiglet meant.

  13. #13
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    Now my problem is when i restart my laptop, the spyder profile wont be loaded automatically. It still load my old adobe gamma profile. ( I have already removed it from the startup folder) I need to go to adobe gamma inside control panel and press cancel button to load the sypder 2 profile...is it supposed to be like this ?

  14. #14

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    Quote Originally Posted by photobum View Post
    It is very straight forward.... if your monitor is not between 6,500K-5,500K, the color temperature will be off. That's what nottipiglet meant.
    The Spyder2Express Version 2.2 assumes that the monitor's native (factory setting) temperature is 5500K.

    The Spyder2Express Version2.3 assumes that the monitor's native factory temp is 6500K.

    But whatever it is, Spyder2Express will try to calibrate the monitor to 6500K at the end. (They did not say this, but I assume that's what the final temperature calibration process does.) However, what the documentation in Spyder2 Pro says is that the beginning RGB setting does affect the accuracy of the final result.

  15. #15

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    Quote Originally Posted by iboey View Post
    Now my problem is when i restart my laptop, the spyder profile wont be loaded automatically. It still load my old adobe gamma profile. ( I have already removed it from the startup folder) I need to go to adobe gamma inside control panel and press cancel button to load the sypder 2 profile...is it supposed to be like this ?
    No leh... After I removed the Adobe Startup, it does not load anymore.

  16. #16

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    I went back to review the documetation of the Spyder2 Express. It says that for Spyder2Express 2.3, 'target White Point for LCD is now 6500K instead of Native.'

    So I was wrong in my past few posts. Spyder2Express makes no assumption on the beginning white point. It's just that the target white point for Spyder2Express 2.3 is 6500K.

    In Spyder2Express 2.2, the target white point was the monitor's native white point. If the native white point was off in the beginning, then the final white point would be off too.

    So, if you have Spyder2Express, you should download the latest version of the software. That should help.

    Having said that, if the beginning colour temperature is 6500K, the calibration would be more accurate. However, only better versions of Spyder2 (like the Pro) allows you to adjust the RGB at the beginning to achieve 6500K. The final result I achieved using the Pro version appears to have high contrast. But temperature appears to be about the same.
    Last edited by nottipiglet; 14th January 2007 at 01:12 PM.

  17. #17
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    Quote Originally Posted by nottipiglet View Post
    No leh... After I removed the Adobe Startup, it does not load anymore.
    I cut and paste the adobe gamma exe file from the startup to my data drive. So my startup is already empty. But it dosent load my sypder 2 profile.

  18. #18
    Member YogiBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Jurong West, Singapore
    Posts
    1,051

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    Quote Originally Posted by iboey View Post
    I cut and paste the adobe gamma exe file from the startup to my data drive. So my startup is already empty. But it dosent load my sypder 2 profile.
    You need not do a cut & paste from Startup; you should delete the file. The program can be initiated again from Control Panel when required.

    If Spyder2 profile doesnt load, the profile may not have been saved in your last calibration. Do another run (calibrating laptops are faster than desktop monitors).

  19. #19

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    Quote Originally Posted by iboey View Post
    I cut and paste the adobe gamma exe file from the startup to my data drive. So my startup is already empty. But it dosent load my sypder 2 profile.
    After you install the Spyder2 software, the Spyder2 startup will be in the Startup folder.

  20. #20
    Member iboey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: questions about the spyder2 calibrator

    Quote Originally Posted by nottipiglet View Post
    After you install the Spyder2 software, the Spyder2 startup will be in the Startup folder.
    My startup folder is still empty

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •