Thread: which cameras r better for learning?

Default which cameras r better for learning?

hi all,

i am a newbie who's starting to take up photography as a hobby. till now, i have been using a fuji finepix f610, which is a compact camera with little manual controls.

i am considering upgrading my camera, either to a prosumer or an entry level dslr. my budget is around $1000 to 1200. currently i am looking at panasonic fz50 & canon 350d/400d.

my concern with this camera is to maximise learning (to try out different sorts of photography & understand the basics) with a controlled budget, which is y i am a little reluctant about dslr bcos of the unlimited "upgrading" involved.

hopefully i didnt sound too much like a noob & looking forwards to advice from u guys!

thanks in advance~

Default Re: which cameras r better for learning?

Quote Originally Posted by xaviertte View Post
    hi all,

i am a newbie who's starting to take up photography as a hobby. till now, i have been using a fuji finepix f610, which is a compact camera with little manual controls.

i am considering upgrading my camera, either to a prosumer or an entry level dslr. my budget is around $1000 to 1200. currently i am looking at panasonic fz50 & canon 350d/400d.

my concern with this camera is to maximise learning (to try out different sorts of photography & understand the basics) with a controlled budget, which is y i am a little reluctant about dslr bcos of the unlimited "upgrading" involved.

hopefully i didnt sound too much like a noob & looking forwards to advice from u guys!

thanks in advance~
    prosumer got a much smoother learning curve than dSLR, but once you get transit from prosumer to dSLR, you will have to learn some of the stuff again.
    you might want to give d40 a try, the control is simplified a lot as compared to the other dSLR but it is still a very capable camera.