Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Need recommendation for a DSLR cam!

Cool Need recommendation for a DSLR cam!

I'm fairly new to photography, and I'm really interested in getting a camera that can do better than my current digital camera.

I'm thinking of the

Olympus E500

or the

Canon EOS-300D

Would greatly appreciate if you recommend me either one of this or any other nice ones. I'm looking for a normal DSLR camera with average functions, and good looking camera. (A good looking one IMO would be something like the Olympus E500.)

Thank you!

Default Re: Need recommendation for a DSLR cam!

It would be easier if you stated what your current digital camera was as well as what your budget is as anything form 1k+ - 15k can get you a better digital camera =p.

You can try the entry level cameras like the Nikon d50 or canon 400D or hunt around for second hand 350D's (going for sub 1k now) or D70's in the BnS sub-forum. Do keep in mind to add a few hundred to your original purchases for other accessories like cleaning equip, dry box/cabinet or maybe even CF/SD cards if none are included.
    Furry Photos - Photography for the Modern Pet

Firstly, I'd say go for at least the 350D coz 300D has been around for too long.

Secondly, I havent heard of anyone looking for a "good-looking" camera, apart from you. The usual concern is the Noise, Color Output, Size of Camera, Handling, pricing, etc.. I'd guess you'll need "good-looking" lens to compliments the "good-looking" camera as well

Back to the topic, any idea of your budget that you need to start this hobby? You'll probably need alot more things than just the DSLR to kickstart this hobby (on the assumption that you are using P&S currently).

Cheers

imo a brand new 400D or 350D will do you much justice.