Thread: SB800 flash and 3rd party lens

Default SB800 flash and 3rd party lens

hello all,

i'm just wondering if it's possible for SB800 on TTL mode when using a 3rd party lens say a Tokina 28-70mm f2.6-2.8, am using a D80 btw

i'm really new in flash photography

i understand that D lenses will provide distance to subject information to the camera..so i wonder if i were to use a 3rd party lens(not sure if it's D or not), does the Sb800 able to run in TTL mode? thanks so much man in advance!

Default Re: SB800 flash and 3rd party lens

Quote Originally Posted by duckalas View Post
    hello all,

i'm just wondering if it's possible for SB800 on TTL mode when using a 3rd party lens say a Tokina 28-70mm f2.6-2.8, am using a D80 btw

i'm really new in flash photography

i understand that D lenses will provide distance to subject information to the camera..so i wonder if i were to use a 3rd party lens(not sure if it's D or not), does the Sb800 able to run in TTL mode? thanks so much man in advance!
    yes..

oh oh..thanks thanks explorer...so the camera/lens setup will be able to fully utilise the SB800 flash unit right?

thanks again!

whether or not u are able to fully utilise the flash is dependant on the body. If the flash is new and ur body is old, then u may not be able to use all functions.

its got nothing to do with the lens, 3rd party or nikon wise..

ahh icic...haha okay thanks all for enlightening...

because all along i thought that the flash needs the distance to be input frm a D lens before calculating the flash output and stuff. haha

okay then...

have a nice day!

thanks!

TTL does not need the distance information from ur lens.
    it fires a pre-flash (just before the actual flash of light) to calculate how much flash output is needed. it has nothing to do with lens.

if im wrong someone pls correct me
    Photo Album - Photo Album

Quote Originally Posted by Zaknafein View Post
    TTL does not need the distance information from ur lens.