Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 38

Thread: fireworks query

  1. #1
    Senior Member StrifeYun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Rivervale Drive
    Posts
    2,216

    Default fireworks query

    hi guys,

    got any recommendation settings for fireworks if i dun use tripod ?
    and i wana get a clear image? or some trails?

    i haben got a change 2 take, so if i got chance next time, i hope i can get gd shots

    iso
    apature
    shutter speed

    thanks
    Canon EOS "Luxury"
    [flickr]

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Quote Originally Posted by StrifeYun View Post
    hi guys,

    got any recommendation settings for fireworks if i dun use tripod ?
    and i wana get a clear image? or some trails?

    i haben got a change 2 take, so if i got chance next time, i hope i can get gd shots

    iso
    apature
    shutter speed

    thanks
    If you don't want to use tripod to take fireworks photo, you can forget about it. Just relax and enjoy the fireworks.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  3. #3
    Senior Member StrifeYun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Rivervale Drive
    Posts
    2,216

    Default Re: fireworks query

    reallie arr ....hmmmm

    can use
    iso 800 - 1600 ,
    apature, 3.5
    shutter spd , 3"

    will this setting work ?

    i using kit lens

    any1 try before ? hee

    lazy 2 bring tripod ... hmmm (maybe should get a small tripod)
    Canon EOS "Luxury"
    [flickr]

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    The Land of the Teddy Bear
    Posts
    1,454

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Quote Originally Posted by StrifeYun View Post
    reallie arr ....hmmmm

    can use
    iso 800 - 1600 ,
    apature, 3.5
    shutter spd , 3"

    will this setting work ?

    i using kit lens

    any1 try before ? hee

    lazy 2 bring tripod ... hmmm (maybe should get a small tripod)
    if you're lazy, just go watch. i usually use iso 100 aperture f8 and shutter 4-5secs. i wish i have tripods to use.
    I Love You :)

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Quote Originally Posted by StrifeYun View Post
    reallie arr ....hmmmm

    can use
    iso 800 - 1600 ,
    apature, 3.5
    shutter spd , 3"

    will this setting work ?

    i using kit lens

    any1 try before ? hee

    lazy 2 bring tripod ... hmmm (maybe should get a small tripod)
    You can hold your camera to the table, stone or garbage bin, or something like that to prevent movement. But I prefer tripod than scratch on my camera's bottom.

    If you handheld your camera, I wonder you can freeze for 3 seconds .

    Regards,
    Arto.

  6. #6

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Cannot be lazy if you want to appreciate the beauty of photography...maybe you can consider a point $ shoot digital camera which is so much convenience...

    as for the setting you had mentioned...without firework, you can do an experiment now by handheld and see if your pictures turn out good...if you can't produce any good image, then forget about fireworks...

    Tripod is essnetial and good investment...in order to produce excellent pictures (in certain cases)...

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    1,107

    Default Re: fireworks query

    High ISO dun work....for fireworks u need to long shutter speed, High Aperture and low ISO to make it work..as such , tripod is a MUST..

  8. #8
    Member/Tangshooter
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    ClubSNAP Community
    Posts
    3,118

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Quote Originally Posted by Artosoft View Post
    You can hold your camera to the table, stone or garbage bin, or something like that to prevent movement. But I prefer tripod than scratch on my camera's bottom.

    If you handheld your camera, I wonder you can freeze for 3 seconds .

    Regards,
    Arto.
    garbage bin is good!

    but then be careful when u press the shutter..may cause movement too..thats y tripod and remote/cable release is necessary..
    Last edited by blazer_workz; 18th December 2006 at 02:26 PM.
    This is an electronic post which requires no signature.

  9. #9

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Dun want to use tripod for fireworks ? Can. Try to squeeze into the crowd and compose the crowd against the fireworks using high ISO.

    You have to try an error on metering like ISO 800-1600, f4-5.6, 1/20 to 1/30sec
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

  10. #10

    Default Re: fireworks query

    shutter release cable, mirror lock, tripod.......

  11. #11
    Senior Member StrifeYun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Rivervale Drive
    Posts
    2,216

    Default Re: fireworks query

    kkk thanks for the input guys

    i also got a pns cam heee

    i haben try shooting fireworks wif slr yet so not so sure wat to expect ,
    i noe best 2 use wif tri pod but think those sort of ocassions i will be moving around n squeezing wif ppl so abit difficult 4 mi 2 set up tripod (also lazy abit haha)

    i used 2 take fireworks pic with pns cam but now got slr cam i wondering what settingswould be best, if a tripod is not used.
    Canon EOS "Luxury"
    [flickr]

  12. #12
    Senior Member StrifeYun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Rivervale Drive
    Posts
    2,216

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Quote Originally Posted by Artosoft View Post
    You can hold your camera to the table, stone or garbage bin, or something like that to prevent movement. But I prefer tripod than scratch on my camera's bottom.

    If you handheld your camera, I wonder you can freeze for 3 seconds .

    Regards,
    Arto.

    opz i mean 1/3 sec ?
    3" is wat i see on e screen.
    Canon EOS "Luxury"
    [flickr]

  13. #13
    Senior Member StrifeYun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Rivervale Drive
    Posts
    2,216

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Quote Originally Posted by Artosoft View Post
    If you don't want to use tripod to take fireworks photo, you can forget about it. Just relax and enjoy the fireworks.

    Regards,
    Arto.

    take fireworks does not mean have 2 use tripod mah hor hor
    anywayz think i also dun have so much time 2 setup equipment

    oni when i try shooting at starz den i will take more time 2 setup stuff (no crowd 2 bother mi )
    Canon EOS "Luxury"
    [flickr]

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    The Land of the Teddy Bear
    Posts
    1,454

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Quote Originally Posted by StrifeYun View Post
    take fireworks does not mean have 2 use tripod mah hor hor
    anywayz think i also dun have so much time 2 setup equipment

    oni when i try shooting at starz den i will take more time 2 setup stuff (no crowd 2 bother mi )
    i shoot fireworks and wait usually 4hrs for a good spot. nothing comes easy. just try taking with a pns and u can see the difference. a tripod is definately needed. might as well use a hp and video the fireworks.
    I Love You :)

  15. #15
    Senior Member StrifeYun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Rivervale Drive
    Posts
    2,216

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Quote Originally Posted by Koelsch View Post
    i shoot fireworks and wait usually 4hrs for a good spot. nothing comes easy. just try taking with a pns and u can see the difference. a tripod is definately needed. might as well use a hp and video the fireworks.
    hmmm will wait c christmas got firework anot hehe den got chance try try.
    cannot compare wif phone lah ...think my hp cannot make it (2mp)

    but i got take video on mi pns cam, okie oni, colours not so rich, hmmm will try next time wif dslr c how

    any1 here try taking fireworks without tripod on dslr ?
    wats ur results ?

    i just wana noe wat would be the best settings, i noe if i 1 a gd photo for night shots have 2 use a tripod 2 prevent blur and i noe nothing comes easy
    (i like star gaizing, n i can take a few hrs just staring and adjusting mi tripod ,changing lens n stuff, everytime c until eye strain & backache.)
    Canon EOS "Luxury"
    [flickr]

  16. #16
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Quote Originally Posted by StrifeYun View Post
    take fireworks does not mean have 2 use tripod mah hor hor
    anywayz think i also dun have so much time 2 setup equipment

    oni when i try shooting at starz den i will take more time 2 setup stuff (no crowd 2 bother mi )
    Seriously... forget it.. go and just view..

    Without a tripod, you can't take any fireworks trials shots. All you can do is capture static bursts (if you're lucky and time the shot right)

    It's all up to you.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  17. #17
    Senior Member StrifeYun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Rivervale Drive
    Posts
    2,216

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Seriously... forget it.. go and just view..

    Without a tripod, you can't take any fireworks trials shots. All you can do is capture static bursts (if you're lucky and time the shot right)

    It's all up to you.
    i just hope 2 get richer colours den my pns cam hee
    Canon EOS "Luxury"
    [flickr]

  18. #18

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Quote Originally Posted by Koelsch View Post
    i shoot fireworks and wait usually 4hrs for a good spot. nothing comes easy. just try taking with a pns and u can see the difference. a tripod is definately needed. might as well use a hp and video the fireworks.
    haha...

    me too.. esp the esp bridge..

    get another kakis along..
    Stress Man @ work... :bigeyes:

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    8,167

    Default Re: fireworks query

    Lazy to bring tripod.. might as well stay home & sleep..

  20. #20

    Smile Re: fireworks query

    once i bring 2 tripods...

    one 055pro for my cam, the other slik for my pns to shoot mpeg...
    Stress Man @ work... :bigeyes:

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •