Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: FZ5's dpi

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Singapore - Punggol
    Posts
    14

    Default FZ5's dpi

    Hi there, I recently notice that the photos I taken with my FZ5 is always at 72dpi.. which is so low... >_< Is there any way to change the dpi besides edit it in photoshop?

    Thanks alot! ^^

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: FZ5's dpi

    Quote Originally Posted by LollipopGwen View Post
    Hi there, I recently notice that the photos I taken with my FZ5 is always at 72dpi.. which is so low... >_< Is there any way to change the dpi besides edit it in photoshop?

    Thanks alot! ^^
    doesn't really matter... be it 72dpi or 7200dpi the file dimension is still 2560x1920

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default Re: FZ5's dpi

    yup, doesn't matter at all. what's important is the image dimensions, rather than "dpi" for images captured from digital cameras.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Singapore - Punggol
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: FZ5's dpi

    wont the low dpi affect the quality of printouts? thanks for the help so far... >_<;;;

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,866

    Default Re: FZ5's dpi

    Quote Originally Posted by LollipopGwen View Post
    wont the low dpi affect the quality of printouts? thanks for the help so far... >_<;;;
    i printed 8R sized pics from my FZ5 when i sent my pics for the SYPA compeition many months back..looked okay to me...

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Singapore - Punggol
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: FZ5's dpi

    oo... okok, thanks alot! *bows*

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default Re: FZ5's dpi

    Quote Originally Posted by LollipopGwen View Post
    wont the low dpi affect the quality of printouts? thanks for the help so far... >_<;;;
    it won't. the actual dpi is determined by the image dimensions and the print size. the "dpi" attribute u see is actually meaningless without printsize specified.

  8. #8

    Default Re: FZ5's dpi

    Go to image size, change dpi to 300, and image size back to 2560x1920, and you have the image at 300dpi... image size in pixel remains the same, and becomes smaller in cm/in

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •