Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 12th December 2006   #1
babykailan

Default extreme macro

hi guys,

just got my 100mm macro and now trying to coax a little more out of this chubby baby. the focusing distance is 0.31m but i want to go really really close up to take extreme macro photos.

my main priorities are image quality and budget. my usual subjects will be still life and slow moving crawlies. what additional accessories will i be looking at? filters? extension tubes? teleconverters?

thanks!

Last edited by babykailan; 12th December 2006 at 09:19 AM.
Old 12th December 2006   #2
roticanai

Default Re: extreme macro

Originally Posted by babykailan View Post
hi guys,

just got my 100mm macro and now trying to coax a little more out of this chubby baby. the focusing distance is 0.31m but i want to go really really close up to take extreme macro photos.

my main priorities are image quality and budget. my usual subjects will be still life and slow moving crawlies. what additional accessories will i be looking at? filters? extension tubes? teleconverters?

thanks!
Extension tubes are probably best option with minimal degrading of pic quality. Canon teleconverters (1.4x, 2x) will NOT work on the 100mm f2.8 macro. I am not sure about 3rd party extenders though. The attachment filters are mostly for non critical work.
Old 12th December 2006   #3
An drew

hi guys,

thanks!
Teleplus extension tubes will work. They might not be as good as the Canon tubes as they have shiny internal surfaces BUT they are much more affordable.

If you attach the entire set of 3 tubes to the 100 macro it will give you about 3X magnification or 3:1. It is of course very dark with thin DOF and I have difficulty getting good results.
Sponsored Link
Old 12th December 2006   #4
DeSwitch

if you want extreme macro, either use stevewhy setup or get the MPE65 (5x mag)
Old 12th December 2006   #5
antacid

try reverse macro? wicked stuff...
((=
Old 12th December 2006   #6
EiRiK

my main priorities are image quality and budget.
hehe... they r probably everyones' priorities too...
Old 12th December 2006   #7
Snoweagle

Use the MP-E 65mm f/2.8 Macro Photo. Now that's extreme macro.
Old 12th December 2006   #8
babykailan

actually what's the diff between extension tubes and treleconverters huh? a bit blur leh. i dont think i want to do reverse setup lah. already got a macro lens why bother.
Old 12th December 2006   #9
niki

Take the pic in the largest size possible, best quality possible, then crop..
Old 12th December 2006   #10
Snoweagle

Take in RAW.
Old 12th December 2006   #11
yehosaphat

actually what's the diff between extension tubes and treleconverters huh? a bit blur leh. i dont think i want to do reverse setup lah. already got a macro lens why bother.
The former does not have lens element while the latter has so the former will not degrade the quality of your pics but the latter does. Get it?
Old 13th December 2006   #12
babykailan

Originally Posted by yehosaphat View Post
The former does not have lens element while the latter has so the former will not degrade the quality of your pics but the latter does. Get it?
aso-desune!

i am looking at kenko extensions tubes. ok hor? probably will not break the bank since i getting 2nd-hand!
Old 13th December 2006   #13
DeSwitch

aso-desune!

i am looking at kenko extensions tubes. ok hor? probably will not break the bank since i getting 2nd-hand!
MS selling 25mm for $85. Just got mine 2 days ago. It brings the focusing distance nearer hence bigger magnification like 2x depending on the focal length of yr lens.
Old 13th December 2006   #14
yehosaphat

aso-desune!

Yup, Kenko and Teleplus sama sama
Old 14th December 2006   #15
USM

There are differences in using an extension tube vs a teleconverter for macro.

Check this out.
Old 14th December 2006   #16
yehosaphat

Originally Posted by USM View Post
There are differences in using an extension tube vs a teleconverter for macro.

Check this out.
Thanks for the explanations. So in summary ET has more pros than TC right? In the aspect of macro to be specific

Last edited by yehosaphat; 14th December 2006 at 10:15 AM.
Old 14th December 2006   #17
babykailan

thanks bro usm. i am having a frustrating but fun and discovery-filled time with the macro lens. lol...

looks like i am quite set on getting the 25mm extension tube. woohoo.

thanks all!
Closed Thread