Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > Reportage and Sports

Reportage and Sports Photojournalistic, Reportage, Events Coverage, Sports Illustrated.

Old 8th February 2003   #1
tomshen

Default Changai Preview - Tom Shen version

Sigh, this was the first time I hate D60's low light focusing. Half of my pix were taken from foot level, 70% shots taken without seeing through view finder. I know, I konw, digital lar

Road was cleared

Security was on

Photographers were in place

The show was on...
Old 8th February 2003   #2
tomshen

People were anxious

Old 8th February 2003   #3
kindred

nice pix taken

especially, the 2 little kids sitting on the railing 1....
Sponsored Link
Old 8th February 2003   #4
tomshen

Now, now, let's have fun with low angle blind shoot...

She is a very shy shy cute cute girl

Old 8th February 2003   #5
tomshen

Another littel cute

Old 8th February 2003   #6
PentiumPC

great shots..... different look... mine looks like a tourist with a point and shoot...

Good exprience though...

Ok go low light tomorrow....
Old 8th February 2003   #7
tomshen

Old 8th February 2003   #8
tomshen

Old 8th February 2003   #9
denizenx

sob sob... I was standing across from digipix and the rest... I tried to shoot but while I can pre-empt AF and stuff like that I cannot help having a weak onboard flash and/or a slow shutter speed.
sigh..
Old 8th February 2003   #10
mervlam

nice series... good work
Old 8th February 2003   #11
nudi

tomshen

i m seeing more here when compared to what i saw in citihall just now. so many people and only the people with special passes can go up to the overhead bridge.

i know i m kindof too late...
Old 8th February 2003   #12
SniperD

dun why but this one appeals to me a lot.. ^.^

great series you have there Tom ^.^

hoping to join you guys there tomorrow
Old 8th February 2003   #13
FLiNcHY

Brilliant pics!Especially the first few

Newbie question: How do i take moving subjects in low light conditions?
Wouldnt a long shutter speed blur the subjects?

Do i have to use a diffused flash or just higher speed film?
Old 8th February 2003   #14
SniperD

either a flash combined with high speed film,

if not, a big aperture and med speed shutter. Will still get a little motion blur BUT that's the spirit of it... (IMHO)

Tomorrow I want to take motion in action... swirling colours, shimmerings of costumes....
heehee.... tonight planning shots liao after seeing the photos from the people who went down today
Old 8th February 2003   #15
FLiNcHY

Quote:
Originally posted by SniperD
either a flash combined with high speed film,

if not, a big aperture and med speed shutter. Will still get a little motion blur BUT that's the spirit of it... (IMHO)

Tomorrow I want to take motion in action... swirling colours, shimmerings of costumes....
heehee.... tonight planning shots liao after seeing the photos from the people who went down today
But for the pics like when the performers are walking past. There is no motion blur at all yet there is still sufficient light to light up the pic
Doesnt look like a flash was used leh.
I'm damn blur on this
Must take more pics already
Also, canon G3 will generate significantly more noise at higher speed levels rite
Old 8th February 2003   #16
Wai

i like this one too...

btw, it is Chingay and not Chingai rite?
Old 8th February 2003   #17
SniperD

Quote:
Originally posted by FLiNcHY

But for the pics like when the performers are walking past. There is no motion blur at all yet there is still sufficient light to light up the pic
Doesnt look like a flash was used leh.
I'm damn blur on this
Must take more pics already
Also, canon G3 will generate significantly more noise at higher speed levels rite
that ... my friend, you got to ask our originator, Tomshen. heehee... i also dunno but a guess would be he used available light and open the aperture widest? (but that will create shallower DOF)

*thinks... thinks.... thinks*
Old 8th February 2003   #18
megaweb

Quote:
Originally posted by denizenx
sob sob... I was standing across from digipix and the rest... I tried to shoot but while I can pre-empt AF and stuff like that I cannot help having a weak onboard flash and/or a slow shutter speed.
sigh..
r u in my pic ?

Old 8th February 2003   #19
taicw

nice shots tom, where were u located to get those shots? I made a mistake of cramming with the crowd today around peninsula.. later walked further down, found it less crowded.
Old 8th February 2003   #20
denizenx

Quote:
Originally posted by megaweb

r u in my pic ?

hehe

was wondering what willy was doing running to the air force girl in uniform at the bus stop.. she's not cute what and I think the cop nearly brought him down as a terrorist...

Last edited by denizenx; 8th February 2003 at 02:44 AM.
Closed Thread