Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 69

Thread: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

  1. #41
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by trifusion View Post
    My tripod is about 60cm long. They don't allow hand carry of tripods at London-Heathrow. I had to check that in, resulting in deep scratches. I had a backpack with my laptop in it and some winter coat in it which I intend to hand carry and my camera bag was slunged by my side. I was forced to put everything into one bag. By the time I squeeze everything in, I almost couldn't close it. When I reached Dubai, i checked and realised I damaged my laptop screen. Darn. I really disliked the way the British handle things.

    Hand carried my tripod on the flight from Dubai, everything is fine.
    u took BA izit?

  2. #42
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by zcf View Post
    Just for information, Air Asia didn't allow me to carry my monopod onboard, so end up have to wrap up and go with other baggage
    Luckily nothing spoil after the flight.
    lucky u... hehe..

  3. #43
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by Yatlapball View Post
    most airlines i've been on are quite accomodating to camera gear being carried on as opposed to being checked in (unless you're talking about those huge pelican cases containing your studio lights and all!) long tripods folded still shouldn't be a problem. I seen people carry strange pole-like objects onto the plane too. So long as its short enough to go into the overhead, I don't think that will be a problem.

    I would advise a bag like the CompuTrekker or CompuRover if you're talking about that amount of gear. Or if you prefer sling, the 650 Stealth Reporter. They are all able to go into your overhead without too much problem. Just take note, don't secure the tripod if you're the above-mentioned bags, it won't be able to fit into the overhead. Separate them.

    Weight-wise... I think don't worry too much. Mine was about 10+kg in all. The only time when I had a problem with handcarry luggage weight was when I fly with SAF :P As a civilian who actually bought the ticket, nahh....

    Oh, also I was carrying 2 bags. A CompuRover and another crumpler laptop bag (due to 2 laptops).

    Be prepared to take out your laptops and all when going through airport security though. Singapore is pretty strict with that lately.
    yup.. i remember they took down particulars of the labtop user before they check in.. saying it for security reasons in case something happened to the flight due to labtop, they know who to look.. tt airline co. was sia.

  4. #44

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by xunjas View Post
    u took BA izit?
    I took Emirates. The lock of my luggage even got cut open and my beloved swiss army knife was taken. That was from Dubai to Singapore. I carried my tripod along that leg.

    Heathrow is such a pain.

  5. #45
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    West
    Posts
    3,136

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Anyone knows of a travel insurance that will cover around 1k and to USA? I checked around and having not much luck... Those that cover America only up to SG$500 per item...

  6. #46
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    495

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by trifusion View Post
    I took Emirates. The lock of my luggage even got cut open and my beloved swiss army knife was taken. That was from Dubai to Singapore. I carried my tripod along that leg.

    Heathrow is such a pain.
    relax.. in america my family's luggage got trashed (when we just arrived!!!), and we had to buy a new luggage... lucky i had a cheap tripod inside which didn't spoil... the next time i'm bringing everything on board....don't dare to risk it anymore...
    Canon EOS 30D w/ grip 580EX, Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8, EF-S 10-22mm
    :bsmilie:

  7. #47
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by trifusion View Post
    I took Emirates. The lock of my luggage even got cut open and my beloved swiss army knife was taken. That was from Dubai to Singapore. I carried my tripod along that leg.

    Heathrow is such a pain.
    sorry for u.. even the cargo dept luggage also so strict on emirates..

  8. #48
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by Adelfin View Post
    relax.. in america my family's luggage got trashed (when we just arrived!!!), and we had to buy a new luggage... lucky i had a cheap tripod inside which didn't spoil... the next time i'm bringing everything on board....don't dare to risk it anymore...
    US is super duper strict.. esp after the 911 incidents.. they cant afford another 911.. so just have to bear with them...

  9. #49
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by Vulpix0r View Post
    Anyone knows of a travel insurance that will cover around 1k and to USA? I checked around and having not much luck... Those that cover America only up to SG$500 per item...
    i bought tecnet travel insurance covering 1k for PG gear.. if my spouse were to buy also, that will be 2k coverage..

  10. #50
    Senior Member glennyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,587

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by Ramius75 View Post
    Hi all,

    I know i wouldnt trust the Airport handler to handle my camera bag, but what about expensive tripod ??? do u guys check in with the tripod or carry it with you onto the plane. Will there be any security problem ??

    Thanks

    Ramius
    my tripod send in for check in. laptop, camera all hand carry on haversack.... imagine carrying in 60kgs in..... but that was after 911, and i did this on a sia flight.

    psst. i came back with a 120kg haversack and 92kg luggage... i dunno why..

  11. #51
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by glennyong View Post
    my tripod send in for check in. laptop, camera all hand carry on haversack.... imagine carrying in 60kgs in..... but that was after 911, and i did this on a sia flight.

    psst. i came back with a 120kg haversack and 92kg luggage... i dunno why..
    your overweight tax must be scary.. hee..

  12. #52
    Senior Member glennyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,587

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by xunjas View Post
    your overweight tax must be scary.. hee..
    no leh... didnt tax me....

  13. #53
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by glennyong View Post
    no leh... didnt tax me....
    gd leh.. so gd..

  14. #54

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Just some update on my recent travelling trip to india with my 3 friends L, B and Z.

    All 4 of us brought out tripods along and IIRC, all 4 of us check in the tripods together with the luggages.
    Z got a net which he used to tie all the equipment together and cover it, while B put it into his haversack i think and Me and L strapped the tripod with the backpacks.

    When we reached New Delhi airport, the strap of L was found to be broken and her Tripod gone. thou it was a cheap tripod, it does mean that L have to do the trip without her tripod and i cant imagaine the agony if its a $800 equipment.

    i still strapped the tripod to my backpack on my return trip thou.

  15. #55
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    near the Equator
    Posts
    1,255

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    For those with the Stealth Reporter 500AW, it fits beneath the airline seat as well.
    We live in an age when unnecessary things are our only necessities. - Oscar Wilde

  16. #56
    Senior Member asterixsg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Somewhere in this creation
    Posts
    2,060

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    I've travelled to most parts of Europe (except UK) and in China, with my tripod as carry on baggage. Of course, I wrap the tripod in a layer of bubble-wrap and also put it in a bag. No probs taking it along even in most airlines (SQ, AirChina, China Eastern, and other domestic airlines in Europe as well as budget airlines like Vueling in Spain)

    However, recently I flew to Brisbane by Emirates. I was asked to check-in the tripod at Brisbane airport on my return (its funny, while going to Brisbane I could hand carry it along with me). I made a mistake. In my agitation and frustration at having been asked to checkin the tripod, I forgot to remove the ball head and put it in my camera backpack

    When I collected the tripod in Singapore, I didn't check the tripod bag or its contents carefully - was just glad that it made it safely to Singapore. At home later, I found that the tripod bag got cut at a couple of places and horror of horror, when i opened the bag, the ballhead was slightly scratched. Felt so bloody pissed but its my fault as i didn't check it at the airport.

    Moral of the story. If you have a big enough check-in baggage, wrap the tripod with two layers of good quality bubblewrap and put the tripod inside the check-in baggage.
    The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt....

  17. #57
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SengKang, Singapore
    Posts
    212

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    any idea where to get cheap tripod bag for 190Pro?
    #Captured Moments# @ Flickr
    D80|18-135mm|70-300mmVR|SB-800

  18. #58
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    the brand should have its own pouch for sale.. hee..

  19. #59
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Beyond Space-Time Continuum
    Posts
    6,324

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    I made it through with 1 backpack, 1 laptop bag and 1 more bag that is disguised to look like souvenirs bought at the DFS shops. Overall, nearly 20kg. LOL SQ somemore.

  20. #60

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    how does monopod looks like? whats the difference between tripod n monopod? what are the advantages of having a monopod?
    PM me if U Want Asst Wedding Photographer
    http://totoro17.multiply.com http://chinhaven.tripod.com

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •