Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 69

Thread: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by sfthong View Post
    I was carrying the 190 PRO to Japan, going there is not a problem i bring along with me but when coming back during the security check they said is too long. As a result i have to go out and check the tripod into the cargo but i took out my head just in case. But i think it depend on luck or sometime which airport. I came back from Kansai Airport just for your information.
    talk to custom/security/check-in nicely and advise them(expensive/delicate equipment/fragile etc) they bear the risk of damage the equipment, they allow me to hand carry in without problem.

    so far no problem even at the USA custom/check-in security.

    YMMV

  2. #22

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by sfthong View Post
    I was carrying the 190 PRO to Japan, going there is not a problem i bring along with me but when coming back during the security check they said is too long. As a result i have to go out and check the tripod into the cargo but i took out my head just in case. But i think it depend on luck or sometime which airport. I came back from Kansai Airport just for your information.
    Oh, thats bad. Coz im worried that they might throw the tripod around and accidentally bent it with some heavy luggage..

    Quote Originally Posted by lsisaxon View Post
    Woe.. if 190 is deemed too long, then 055 should be checked in.
    That will be a headache. can i get refund if anything happened to the tripod ? Something bad.

  3. #23

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    [QUOTE=Ramius75;2663988]Oh, thats bad. Coz im worried that they might throw the tripod around and accidentally bent it with some heavy luggage..



    Lucky my tripod is still in 1 piece.

  4. #24

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    lucky my tripod is still in 1 piece.

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    588

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    i just check it in. to me it's easier to put into my main luggage. tripods are pretty strong anyway.
    5D | 24-70L | 28mm f/1.8 | 580EX

  6. #26

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by Ramius75 View Post
    Oh, thats bad. Coz im worried that they might throw the tripod around and accidentally bent it with some heavy luggage..



    That will be a headache. can i get refund if anything happened to the tripod ? Something bad.
    Don't worry 055 is quite rugged. I don't think I will check in my carbon fibre Benro if I ever bring it overseas.

  7. #27

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by lsisaxon View Post
    Don't worry 055 is quite rugged. I don't think I will check in my carbon fibre Benro if I ever bring it overseas.
    my 055 is also carbon fibre. thats why im so protective of it also...

  8. #28

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    I will put my tripod(s) in the main luggage and check in ...
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by Ramius75 View Post
    my 055 is also carbon fibre. thats why im so protective of it also...
    CF cannot take direct impact.

  10. #30

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by Ramius75 View Post
    my 055 is also carbon fibre. thats why im so protective of it also...
    Oh... I thought it was the older aluminium 055. Then it might be better to see if you can hand carry it in. Tell them it's fragile.

  11. #31

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by lsisaxon View Post
    Oh... I thought it was the older aluminium 055. Then it might be better to see if you can hand carry it in. Tell them it's fragile.
    Yup, will try that, since im travelling with backpacks also.. no hard casing luggage.

  12. #32

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    i normalyl leave my tripod in my luggage....

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    yup, the luggage seems to be the best place to store the tripod. u can use towels or other stuff to protect them.

  14. #34
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    708

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    I don't want to start a new thread.

    I'll be heading to Canada, and will be taking my DSLR and 3 x lenses and tripod as well as my laptop. Now can only bring a cabin luggage only or can I also bring a backpack? Apart from the 7kg restrictions are there anything I should look out for?
    A camera cannot teach you how to see.

  15. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Volcano Land
    Posts
    2,351

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    most airlines i've been on are quite accomodating to camera gear being carried on as opposed to being checked in (unless you're talking about those huge pelican cases containing your studio lights and all!) long tripods folded still shouldn't be a problem. I seen people carry strange pole-like objects onto the plane too. So long as its short enough to go into the overhead, I don't think that will be a problem.

    I would advise a bag like the CompuTrekker or CompuRover if you're talking about that amount of gear. Or if you prefer sling, the 650 Stealth Reporter. They are all able to go into your overhead without too much problem. Just take note, don't secure the tripod if you're the above-mentioned bags, it won't be able to fit into the overhead. Separate them.

    Weight-wise... I think don't worry too much. Mine was about 10+kg in all. The only time when I had a problem with handcarry luggage weight was when I fly with SAF :P As a civilian who actually bought the ticket, nahh....

    Oh, also I was carrying 2 bags. A CompuRover and another crumpler laptop bag (due to 2 laptops).

    Be prepared to take out your laptops and all when going through airport security though. Singapore is pretty strict with that lately.

  16. #36
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    708

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Ok. Thanks. I've a big lowepro that can put all the camera stuff + laptop. Think I'll use that one in that case.

    Any more CSers with similar experience? Mind sharing?
    Last edited by JamesW; 8th April 2007 at 03:53 PM.
    A camera cannot teach you how to see.

  17. #37
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    495

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by JamesW View Post
    I don't want to start a new thread.

    I'll be heading to Canada, and will be taking my DSLR and 3 x lenses and tripod as well as my laptop. Now can only bring a cabin luggage only or can I also bring a backpack? Apart from the 7kg restrictions are there anything I should look out for?
    by right u are only allowed to bring in one bag, so the cabin luggage and backpack counts as 2. some small items, like handbags are allowed in addition to the carry ons.. so it's best if u have a companion who doesn't have a cabin bag, and can cover for you, or simply check in ur cabin luggage...

    Changi Airport Baggage Allowance

    Look at the above link for the dimensions allowed.. Usually airport staff are not too strict with the specifications, esp about the size. No one will actually bother to measure it, but if ur luggage looks obviously too big they'll tell u to check it in.. I've managed to bring my backpacks on with 8-10kg of weight.. but once one of the staff actually bothered to weigh my carry-ons and i had to transfer stuff around....

    Just FYI:
    Baggage Item Restrictions for Hand Carry (Security Reasons)
    Last edited by Adelfin; 8th April 2007 at 05:32 PM.
    Canon EOS 30D w/ grip 580EX, Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8, EF-S 10-22mm
    :bsmilie:

  18. #38
    Senior Member xunjas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Singapura
    Posts
    6,490

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by Adelfin View Post
    by right u are only allowed to bring in one bag, so the cabin luggage and backpack counts as 2. some small items, like handbags are allowed in addition to the carry ons.. so it's best if u have a companion who doesn't have a cabin bag, and can cover for you, or simply check in ur cabin luggage...

    Changi Airport Baggage Allowance

    Look at the above link for the dimensions allowed.. Usually airport staff are not too strict with the specifications, esp about the size. No one will actually bother to measure it, but if ur luggage looks obviously too big they'll tell u to check it in.. I've managed to bring my backpacks on with 8-10kg of weight.. but once one of the staff actually bothered to weigh my carry-ons and i had to transfer stuff around....

    Just FYI:
    Baggage Item Restrictions for Hand Carry (Security Reasons)
    very informative. my benro tripod is very long, about 60cm.. most prob have to hand carry if i travel..

  19. #39

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    My tripod is about 60cm long. They don't allow hand carry of tripods at London-Heathrow. I had to check that in, resulting in deep scratches. I had a backpack with my laptop in it and some winter coat in it which I intend to hand carry and my camera bag was slunged by my side. I was forced to put everything into one bag. By the time I squeeze everything in, I almost couldn't close it. When I reached Dubai, i checked and realised I damaged my laptop screen. Darn. I really disliked the way the British handle things.

    Hand carried my tripod on the flight from Dubai, everything is fine.

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Just for information, Air Asia didn't allow me to carry my monopod onboard, so end up have to wrap up and go with other baggage
    Luckily nothing spoil after the flight.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •