Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 69

Thread: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

  1. #1

    Default Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Hi all,

    I know i wouldnt trust the Airport handler to handle my camera bag, but what about expensive tripod ??? do u guys check in with the tripod or carry it with you onto the plane. Will there be any security problem ??

    Thanks

    Ramius

  2. #2

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by Ramius75 View Post
    Hi all,

    I know i wouldnt trust the Airport handler to handle my camera bag, but what about expensive tripod ??? do u guys check in with the tripod or carry it with you onto the plane. Will there be any security problem ??

    Thanks

    Ramius
    I carried everything when i board the plane. Presently in europe.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Try to carry the tripod with me, but during the last trip from Japan, not able to pass the airport security(too long), as a result need to check in the tripod. But I take out the head before checking in.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    98

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Putting tripod in the overhead compartment wouldn't be a problem if it's not too long. I always hand carry my equipment, can't trust the handlers.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    i juz checked in my long tripod (abt 50cm)
    specifically stated it as a tripod when checking in
    and *opps* i left the head on

    turned out fine, no problem
    currently in europe too

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Jurong Lake District - West
    Posts
    897

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    just rtn from Aust

    pack tripod and head (separate head from body) in my luagguage

    no prob

  7. #7

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    I guess really depends on what luggage you are using. If using samsonite hard case (those big ones), you can safely put the tripod in the luggage. Else I might wrap it up with some sort of protections before checking in, just in case.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Singapore, CanonGraphers.org
    Posts
    3,157

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    I had to check my Manfrotto 190B sized tripod in when travelling to Aussie.Special handling and all i got was a few dings and scratches.No problem.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by Ramius75 View Post
    Hi all,
    but what about expensive tripod ??? do u guys check in with the tripod or carry it with you onto the plane. Will there be any security problem ??
    I hand carry my CF tripod with me no problem. At the check in counter they ask me to check in I told them no. From USA, JPN to SG so far no problem.

    YMMV

  10. #10

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Been to Australia & back -- all equipment (including tripod) hand carried onto the plane.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    hi,

    thanks all, i think i will want to carry the tripod manually too. Sometime, i observed how the airport handlers handle the luggage and saw them throwing it around due to the fast aircraft turn overrate. Thats why im having reservation about this. thanks

  12. #12

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by birdy52 View Post
    i juz checked in my long tripod (abt 50cm)
    specifically stated it as a tripod when checking in
    and *opps* i left the head on

    turned out fine, no problem
    currently in europe too
    Quote Originally Posted by ernest_ted View Post
    just rtn from Aust

    pack tripod and head (separate head from body) in my luagguage

    no prob
    Quote Originally Posted by kynoe View Post
    I guess really depends on what luggage you are using. If using samsonite hard case (those big ones), you can safely put the tripod in the luggage. Else I might wrap it up with some sort of protections before checking in, just in case.
    Thanks for the assurance, but i think i will try hand carry 1st. My tripod is about 1M in length so it aint small at all and usually i backpack(hence no tough luggage case). -_-"

    Thats why im a bit worry this time.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by Ramius75 View Post
    Thanks for the assurance, but i think i will try hand carry 1st. My tripod is about 1M in length so it aint small at all and usually i backpack(hence no tough luggage case). -_-"

    Thats why im a bit worry this time.
    once board in the plan request them to help you secure the tripod if the overhead storage cannot store it.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by longkangman View Post
    once board in the plan request them to help you secure the tripod if the overhead storage cannot store it.
    Ok thanks thats a good idea too.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by sfthong View Post
    Try to carry the tripod with me, but during the last trip from Japan, not able to pass the airport security(too long), as a result need to check in the tripod. But I take out the head before checking in.
    Hi...

    I'm going to Japan soon too. But I thot u have to check in your luggage first, then go thru the security check? By the time u realized the tripod cannot be hand carried at the security check point, how did you check your tripod in?

    Was your tripod very big or long?

  16. #16

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    Hi...

    I'm going to Japan soon too. But I thot u have to check in your luggage first, then go thru the security check? By the time u realized the tripod cannot be hand carried at the security check point, how did you check your tripod in?

    Was your tripod very big or long?
    dunno, just bash thru i think. im using a 055MF3. so its quite big and long.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    HAhaha...i'm going to Japan soon too... Also using 055PROB... Wondering whether can be brought into the plane...
    Last edited by hortwizer; 5th December 2006 at 10:33 AM.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Land of the Teddy Bear
    Posts
    2,324

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    it is best if you put your tripod inside a tripod bag, the chances that they allow you to hand carry in is higher. I have hand carry in my monopod (monopod in a box) and tripod (tripod bag) before.

  19. #19

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    I was carrying the 190 PRO to Japan, going there is not a problem i bring along with me but when coming back during the security check they said is too long. As a result i have to go out and check the tripod into the cargo but i took out my head just in case. But i think it depend on luck or sometime which airport. I came back from Kansai Airport just for your information.

  20. #20

    Default Re: Travelling oversea with camera equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by sfthong View Post
    I was carrying the 190 PRO to Japan, going there is not a problem i bring along with me but when coming back during the security check they said is too long. As a result i have to go out and check the tripod into the cargo but i took out my head just in case. But i think it depend on luck or sometime which airport. I came back from Kansai Airport just for your information.
    Woe.. if 190 is deemed too long, then 055 should be checked in.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •