Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: external flash on PS camera wo hotshoe, how do they sync?

  1. #1

    Default external flash on PS camera wo hotshoe, how do they sync?

    I think I saw some PS cameras with an external flash. How do they sync when there is no
    hotshoe on the camera?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nee Soon
    Posts
    457

    Default Re: external flash on PS camera wo hotshoe, how do they sync?

    My Oly 5060 has a standard hotshoe. Not all PnS have hotshoe though.
    If no hotshoe and no flash sync socket, then I dunno

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SGee
    Posts
    1,572

    Default Re: external flash on PS camera wo hotshoe, how do they sync?

    d ext flash has a triggering devise tt detect d flash popped by d cam's flash, den itself trigger off bah. not sure wads d lag time oni.

  4. #4

    Default Re: external flash on PS camera wo hotshoe, how do they sync?

    Quote Originally Posted by sORe-EyEz View Post
    d ext flash has a triggering devise tt detect d flash popped by d cam's flash, den itself trigger off bah. not sure wads d lag time oni.
    yeah, i am reading that also.
    I guess it's called slave flash thingy.
    Some websites say as long as near normal 1/60s, the lag time is okie.

    Still, does it mean when camera manufactorer write "External flash support: No",
    but the cam has internal flash, any capable slave flash would prob work with it.
    Am I right?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tanjong Katong
    Posts
    3,710

    Default Re: external flash on PS camera wo hotshoe, how do they sync?

    Use flash slave (called SU4). This flash slave is put on flash hotshoe to trigger the flash by camera's flash output. Some flash like Nikon SB-800 does have internal SU4 function, which can be triggered by compact flash camera without need flash slave.

    Regards,
    Arto.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bukit Merah
    Posts
    442

    Default Re: external flash on PS camera wo hotshoe, how do they sync?

    Yes, use a slave adapter, and have the flash on the PnS covered with an IR (Infrared) filter. The CCD would be less sensitive to IR ray, but the slave adapter would be 100% sensitive. Make sure the F stop and ISO setting on both the camera and flash unit tele. you now bounce to ceiling, side way, or even rear corner for group shot, if yours' external flash is powerful enough ! in "A" mode

    The Infrared filter for the flash can be easily made, by processing a roll of unexposed slide film. I've alot of left over, to share with you free, those whom has interest to try. Please PM me

    I've a Fuji F30, which can operate nicely on ASA800, with the aid of a very old Metz 40MZ2, I can easily shoot under F5.6, even F8 (ASA800 !). This is impossible in the good old days, whilst the usable ASA restrict to 100 or 200 !
    Last edited by tzesian; 25th November 2006 at 01:38 PM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: external flash on PS camera wo hotshoe, how do they sync?

    practically as long as the camera have a flash, it is enough to trigger slave flash.

  8. #8
    Senior Member azul123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Eastern Bloc
    Posts
    2,776

    Default Re: external flash on PS camera wo hotshoe, how do they sync?

    Some slave flash are not design to read the pre-flashes of the newer cameras, so just be aware about that.

    ../azul123

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    west
    Posts
    1,313

    Default Re: external flash on PS camera wo hotshoe, how do they sync?

    sunpak remotelite II? is it one of these slave flashes u tokign bout?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •