Page 29 of 33 FirstFirst ... 419242728293031 ... LastLast
Results 561 to 580 of 651

Thread: Home studio setup

  1. #561

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    i'm worried the nearer i put the light to the dancers, the less space they have.and when they fly in the air, may kick the strobes or land on the light stands.

    piang eh...like that too risky

  2. #562
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    oh shucks....means i really have to get faster strobes ah?

    already spent so much on these strobes.
    Hmmm.. for me, I will ask in bowens forum to find out, and email the Sarah Silver and ask her about the set up.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  3. #563

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    Hmmm.. for me, I will ask in bowens forum to find out, and email the Sarah Silver and ask her about the set up.
    ok done-ded.
    eagerly waiting for their reply.

    http://www.bowens.co.uk/cgi-bin/yabb...1773;start=0#0

  4. #564
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Home studio setup



    I'm interested to find out also
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  5. #565

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post


    I'm interested to find out also
    you already freeze the boy in action.what's there to find out?

    btw, what lights are you using?

  6. #566
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Anyway jeanie did you try to see if you can sync at higher speeds? I remember last time Nikon's max sync speed isn't really a constrain like Canon's. Something different with the mechanism.
    If you understand my works, it's photography. If you don't, it's art.
    SplutterPhotography|flickr

  7. #567
    vince123123
    Guests

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    I understand the D70 could do that, because they use an electronic shutter upwards of 1/500. The D100 and 200 can't apparently.

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter View Post
    Anyway jeanie did you try to see if you can sync at higher speeds? I remember last time Nikon's max sync speed isn't really a constrain like Canon's. Something different with the mechanism.

  8. #568
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Then i think it's cheaper to get another D70 instead of faster strobes
    If you understand my works, it's photography. If you don't, it's art.
    SplutterPhotography|flickr

  9. #569

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter View Post
    Anyway jeanie did you try to see if you can sync at higher speeds? I remember last time Nikon's max sync speed isn't really a constrain like Canon's. Something different with the mechanism.
    i tried lei splut.
    anything above 1/250, half the frame becomes dark.
    curtain closes on me.

  10. #570
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    you already freeze the boy in action.what's there to find out?

    btw, what lights are you using?
    elinchrom 500, some time, can't have all parts freeze in the air, so it is good if I can do that with existing set up.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  11. #571

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    elinchrom 500, some time, can't have all parts freeze in the air, so it is good if I can do that with existing set up.
    so the boy boy what settings you use if i may ask?

  12. #572

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    ok guys, i just did some test shots.

    even at ISO 500, 1/250 and f4, lights placed AS CLOSE to subject as allowable, fast movements will still result in motion blur.

  13. #573

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    got the reply from bowens forum from a guy known as alex.

    but i still catch no ball.


    Dear Jeanie,

    1. t=0.5 means that the duration, or time needed if the light has reached half power of peaks value the flash settled is 1/925sec. And so after that the flash tube still ionizing (this is electronic terms) until it totally fades. If you need to set the shutter, you must find t=0,1 time, which is much longer than t=0,5. If you agree the value of t=0,1 is enough to freeze the subject, and so the dancer will not have any tail (such as in slow shutter speed effect). PM me if you need more explanations.
    2. If you shoot the dancer in totally darkness, and you may use slower than synchro-speed ie. 1/250 sec. Could be 1/2, 1/4, or even B. But if you shoot in normally lighted room, you may use the highest synchro-speed ie. 1/250sec.

    I hope this would be clear enough.
    Regards,

    Alex.

  14. #574
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    so the boy boy what settings you use if i may ask?
    sorry, I tot I have replied you this afternoon.

    main and fill lights is at power, background lights is minimium power, shoot at ISO 100, f11, 1/200s, room lights are on and it's quiet bright.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  15. #575
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    got the reply from bowens forum from a guy known as alex.

    but i still catch no ball.


    Dear Jeanie,

    1. t=0.5 means that the duration, or time needed if the light has reached half power of peaks value the flash settled is 1/925sec. And so after that the flash tube still ionizing (this is electronic terms) until it totally fades. If you need to set the shutter, you must find t=0,1 time, which is much longer than t=0,5. If you agree the value of t=0,1 is enough to freeze the subject, and so the dancer will not have any tail (such as in slow shutter speed effect). PM me if you need more explanations.
    2. If you shoot the dancer in totally darkness, and you may use slower than synchro-speed ie. 1/250 sec. Could be 1/2, 1/4, or even B. But if you shoot in normally lighted room, you may use the highest synchro-speed ie. 1/250sec.

    I hope this would be clear enough.
    Regards,

    Alex.
    also catch no ball.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  16. #576
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    ok guys, i just did some test shots.

    even at ISO 500, 1/250 and f4, lights placed AS CLOSE to subject as allowable, fast movements will still result in motion blur.
    What power were the lights on? Full power?

    try 1/4 power or less...

  17. #577
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Central West
    Posts
    1,952

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Usually when they specify flash duration for strobes, they will quote a t=0.5 figure (depends on the brand, some brands also quote a t=0.1 figure)

    When your strobe fires at full power, it doesn't go from zero power all the way to full power instantaneously. It takes some time to build up from zero to full power (same goes for when it turns off, it doesn't go from full power down to zero instantaneously either). So for a t=0.5 figure, what they do is measure the time between when the strobe first reaches 50% power on it's way up to full power and when the strobes hits 50% power again on it's way down. Similarly, the t=0.1 figure is taken from the 10% power points.

  18. #578

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    just have to try to catch the dancer at the top of the movement, when the dancer is almost stationary in the air... what the NBA calls hangtime... that is when relative velocity is minimum... 's all about timing...

  19. #579

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    What power were the lights on? Full power?

    try 1/4 power or less...
    almost minimal.

  20. #580

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by gooseberry View Post
    Usually when they specify flash duration for strobes, they will quote a t=0.5 figure (depends on the brand, some brands also quote a t=0.1 figure)

    When your strobe fires at full power, it doesn't go from zero power all the way to full power instantaneously. It takes some time to build up from zero to full power (same goes for when it turns off, it doesn't go from full power down to zero instantaneously either). So for a t=0.5 figure, what they do is measure the time between when the strobe first reaches 50% power on it's way up to full power and when the strobes hits 50% power again on it's way down. Similarly, the t=0.1 figure is taken from the 10% power points.
    i have a better picture already.thanks technical adviser.

Page 29 of 33 FirstFirst ... 419242728293031 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •