Page 14 of 33 FirstFirst ... 4912131415161924 ... LastLast
Results 261 to 280 of 651

Thread: Home studio setup

  1. #261

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega View Post
    for studio work, shutter speed is normally set at 1/60
    unless you want to introduce some ambient light of movement
    ambient light of movement?what's that?

    i dont have a blackout room.
    so i do not want any ambient lighting to interfere with my shots.
    so is 1/60 still a good ss to use?

  2. #262

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega View Post
    for studio work, shutter speed is normally set at 1/60
    unless you want to introduce some ambient light of movement
    Yes.... I was going to explain this to her but you did it first.

  3. #263
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    ambient light of movement?what's that?

    i dont have a blackout room.
    so i do not want any ambient lighting to interfere with my shots.
    so is 1/60 still a good ss to use?
    sorry typo

    should be ambient light or movement
    strobes are way brighter than the ambient light
    so it should not matter

  4. #264

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Regardless.... 1/60 or 1/125 is the way to go.

    Unless isolated cases, ambient light may actually makes you portraiture looks better.
    Last edited by photobum; 19th January 2007 at 09:25 AM.

  5. #265

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega View Post
    should be ambient light or movement
    That is what I thought also, but you are the man!

  6. #266

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    thank you sensei and gandalf.

  7. #267

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    thank you sensei and gandalf.
    So still on for coffee? Maybe we should ask Ortega to come along too.
    Last edited by photobum; 19th January 2007 at 09:27 AM.

  8. #268
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    thank you sensei and gandalf.
    you want me to cast another spell?

  9. #269

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by photobum View Post
    So still on for coffee? Maybe we should ask Ortega to come along too.
    prefer to ask online.
    coffee need to meet.once meet, it will be the first & last you guys come out to entertain me liao.

    ortega gandalfy,i'm immune to spells.the only way to kill me is decapitation.

    stick to topic ya!dont want my thread to be closed.

  10. #270

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    prefer to ask online.
    coffee need to meet.once meet, it will be the first & last you guys come out to entertain me liao.
    Don't be shy leh.... I am ok with you asking me. I don't know about 'Mr. Gandalf'.

    BTW, I am happily married, so no worries.

  11. #271
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by photobum View Post
    Don't be shy leh.... I am ok with you asking me. I don't know about 'Mr. Gandalf'.

    BTW, I am happily married, so no worries.
    I am married too. And need to study for my o levels this year, so no time to think about other things
    but it seems that "the headless one" has had some bad experiences

    ortega cast "Eye of the beholder" on the headless one
    Last edited by ortega; 19th January 2007 at 09:35 AM.

  12. #272

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    thanks for replies again.

    managed to borrow a set of studio lights from my friend.
    was happily triggering away, and i realised....
    when i use 1/400 at 'no matter what aperture', top half of the frame goes black.seems like sync speed problem?can explain why?

    when i reduce the shutter speed to about 1/250, then it comes out ok.
    you mean studio flash cant go beyond 1/400?
    That why flash sync speed is marked as 1/250. Any speed above that the 2nd curtain will close before the first curtain is fully open, so you get the top part blocked out. The blackout portion will be more when you increase the shutter speed even more.

    If you're using radio trigger for your strobes, even at 1/250, you might still encounter a slight blackout because there is a slight delay for radio trigger. If that does happen, then maybe you can try going slower to 1/200. Otherwise, 1/250 should be fine.

  13. #273
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Where the wind blows...
    Posts
    4,528

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Wow! The 2 giants on discussion! Can I just ask if I 1 2 take some small product shots, and I use a light tent with lights on the sides, do I still stick to 1/60? By the way....is there a reason why it's 1/60?

    TIA!

  14. #274

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by lastboltnut View Post
    Wow! The 2 giants on discussion! Can I just ask if I 1 2 take some small product shots, and I use a light tent with lights on the sides, do I still stick to 1/60? By the way....is there a reason why it's 1/60?

    TIA!
    No reason as long as the camera is able to sync. Unless you're doing mixed lighting (strobes + ambient) then you may need to go slower but never faster than the sync speed otherwise you'll just get a black out portion.

    This will not happen on D50 and D70/D70s because the shutter above 1/250 is electronic, so you won't get a blackout portion but will experience an underexposure if the flash duration is longer than the shutter speed itself.

  15. #275

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by lastboltnut View Post
    Wow! The 2 giants on discussion! Can I just ask if I 1 2 take some small product shots, and I use a light tent with lights on the sides, do I still stick to 1/60? By the way....is there a reason why it's 1/60?

    TIA!
    good question.
    i was about to ask WHY need to stick to 1/60 or 1/125.
    other than interference of ambient light, any other reasons?
    so if i want to capture a subject freeze in midair, 1/60 is sufficient?i dont think so right?then how to overcome this?

  16. #276
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    good question.
    i was about to ask WHY need to stick to 1/60 or 1/125.
    other than interference of ambient light, any other reasons?
    so if i want to capture a subject freeze in midair, 1/60 is sufficient?i dont think so right?then how to overcome this?
    More of a camera limitation issue...

    High speed flash sync may be helpful on this....

  17. #277
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    good question.
    i was about to ask WHY need to stick to 1/60 or 1/125.
    other than interference of ambient light, any other reasons?
    so if i want to capture a subject freeze in midair, 1/60 is sufficient?i dont think so right?then how to overcome this?
    yes, cut down ambient will do most of the time, the duration of the flash is much faster then the camera shutter speed, you are able to use the flash to freeze the subject, no by shutter speed.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  18. #278
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    good question.
    i was about to ask WHY need to stick to 1/60 or 1/125.
    other than interference of ambient light, any other reasons?
    so if i want to capture a subject freeze in midair, 1/60 is sufficient?i dont think so right?then how to overcome this?
    freezeing subject in mid air very easy

    pitch dark room and use the flash of light to freeze the object
    even a 1 sec shutter speed will do

  19. #279
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    example:

    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  20. #280

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    prefer to ask online.
    coffee need to meet.once meet, it will be the first & last you guys come out to entertain me liao.

    ortega gandalfy,i'm immune to spells.the only way to kill me is decapitation.

    stick to topic ya!dont want my thread to be closed.
    so, you have horns and tail? nothing to worry, DI to the rescue ...

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    1)what lens is normally use for studio?for half and full body portraits

    2)do i need to use a bigger aperture to isolate subject from backdrop?what is the common aperture to use?f8?
    use whatever lens you like, 35mm to 200mm, evne 300mm, if your studio is long enough.

    I shoot f11-f16 most of the time, to make sure the entire subject is in focus.

Page 14 of 33 FirstFirst ... 4912131415161924 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •