Page 13 of 33 FirstFirst ... 3811121314151823 ... LastLast
Results 241 to 260 of 651

Thread: Home studio setup

  1. #241

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    cell - for slave

  2. #242

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    ok thanks.

    btw, happen to be sourcing for studio lights.


    what's the cell button for?and what's the swtich on the right showing "I" "0" "II" for?
    for turning it on?but why has 2 settings?
    That's a Bowens Gemini?

    The switch I, 0 & II is for switch between mains, off and battery power.

    Cell button I think if for on/off the remote trigger by other flash.

    BC
    Last edited by Scaglietti; 15th January 2007 at 10:33 AM.

  3. #243

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega View Post
    those are on/off switches

    I, O and II are for amount of light

    looks like a basic light with only 3 light settings

    O = off
    I = bright
    II = brighter
    should be good enough for a noob like me right?must i get really 'complicated' lights to start off with?

    i tot the brightness can be adjusted with the power output dials at the side of the strobe.hmmm

  4. #244

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by Scaglietti View Post
    That's a Bowens Gemini?

    The switch I, 0 & II is for switch between mains, off and battery power.

    Cell button I think if for on/off the remote trigger by other flash.

    BC
    can use battery ah?i really dunno.

  5. #245

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ortega
    those are on/off switches

    I, O and II are for amount of light

    looks like a basic light with only 3 light settings

    O = off
    I = bright
    II = brighter
    should be good enough for a noob like me right?must i get really 'complicated' lights to start off with?

    i tot the brightness can be adjusted with the power output dials at the side of the strobe.hmmm
    Yes, output dials is at the side of the strobe.

    BC

  6. #246

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    can use battery ah?i really dunno.
    Yes, I think Bowens Gemini series comes with an option to use battery packs.

    BC

  7. #247
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Town of Queens doing PORT-9YOU
    Posts
    12,716

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    can use battery ah?i really dunno.
    It's an extra option for Bowens Gemini series of strobes, each battery pack is at least S$1k I last enquire from Ruby.

    With the battery pack, u can make Gemini an indoor/outdoor strobe.

  8. #248

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by AJ23 View Post
    It's an extra option for Bowens Gemini series of strobes, each battery pack is at least S$1k I last enquire from Ruby.

    With the battery pack, u can make Gemini an indoor/outdoor strobe.
    u guys serious?bringing studio strobe to outdoor shoot?

  9. #249
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Oulu, Finland, Finland
    Posts
    6,299

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    the bowens gemini battery pack is about 1.5k i believe..

  10. #250

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    u guys serious?bringing studio strobe to outdoor shoot?
    Go to Kenneth (Afiend) for his Jin Bei Strobes. Made in China, thus cheap and good. He has both battery powered and corded versions.

    I use both Bowens and Jin Bei strobes in my studio. They have very similar color temperature so I don't have any problem combining them. My other studio in Bombay, India, uses Jin Bei strobes exclusively. We purchase 8 sets of the 800w for less than S$5,000.
    Last edited by photobum; 16th January 2007 at 08:53 AM.

  11. #251

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    1)what lens is normally use for studio?for half and full body portraits

    2)do i need to use a bigger aperture to isolate subject from backdrop?what is the common aperture to use?f8?

  12. #252
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    1)what lens is normally use for studio?for half and full body portraits

    2)do i need to use a bigger aperture to isolate subject from backdrop?what is the common aperture to use?f8?
    1) up to you... but would reccommend the 50 f1.4 and 85 f1.4 to you of course...

    2) again, it depends on your choice of direction. You can chooise to shoot from f1.4 to f11...

  13. #253

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    1)wwhat is the common aperture to use?f8?
    I use f11. Most of the portrait photographers I had worked with in past, such as Annie Leibovitz and Joyce Tennesson use f11.

    I instructed all my assistants to use f11. In my world of photography, f11 is the 'common aperture' I know.
    Last edited by photobum; 18th January 2007 at 11:55 PM.

  14. #254

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    thanks for replies again.

    managed to borrow a set of studio lights from my friend.
    was happily triggering away, and i realised....
    when i use 1/400 at 'no matter what aperture', top half of the frame goes black.seems like sync speed problem?can explain why?

    when i reduce the shutter speed to about 1/250, then it comes out ok.
    you mean studio flash cant go beyond 1/400?

  15. #255

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    when i reduce the shutter speed to about 1/250, then it comes out ok. you mean studio flash cant go beyond 1/400?
    The sync speed of your camera can't go above 1/250, it has nothing to do with the strobes. Blame it on your error. By the way, I sugget that you shoot either at 1/125 or 1/60.

  16. #256

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by photobum View Post
    The sync speed of your camera can't go above 1/250, it has nothing to do with the strobes. Blame it on your error. By the way, I sugget that you shoot either at 1/125 or 1/60.
    but i tot d200 can go above 1/250?or it only works when the sb800 is attached and set to flash FP?(nikon users help me please)

    but if i shoot at f8 or f11, using 1/125 or 1/60, subject comes out overexposed.
    how?do i move the strobes further away from the subject?

    man...studio is so much fun!all in the comfort of own home, with aircon on...
    i really cant wait to setup my studio.

    photobum, thanks for replies.

  17. #257

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    but i tot d200 can go above 1/250?or it only works when the sb800 is attached and set to flash FP?(nikon users help me please)

    but if i shoot at f8 or f11, using 1/125 or 1/60, subject comes out overexposed.
    how?do i move the strobes further away from the subject?

    man...studio is so much fun!all in the comfort of own home, with aircon on...
    i really cant wait to setup my studio.

    photobum, thanks for replies.
    Trust me.... when shooting in studio, the shutter speed of your camera has got nothing to do with over or underexposure. Your lens aperature setting and the strobes' power setting are the two factors which affect this.

    You can shoot at 1/250, but I just don't recommend it for portraiture, unless you are photographing a dancer leaping in mid-air like what Lois Greenfield does. But even for someone of her caliber, she only uses 1/125.
    Last edited by photobum; 19th January 2007 at 09:14 AM.

  18. #258

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by photobum View Post
    Trust me.... when shooting in studio, the shutter speed of your camera has got nothing to do with over or underexposure. Your lens aperature setting and the strobes' power setting are the two factors which affect this.
    i'll try more shots and come back here for ur guidance.
    thanks very much photobum.

  19. #259
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    for studio work, shutter speed is normally set at 1/60
    unless you want to introduce some ambient light of movement

  20. #260

    Default Re: Home studio setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post
    i'll try more shots and come back here for ur guidance.
    thanks very much photobum.
    Maybe we can meet over coffee one day so that I can answer your endless questions. PM me if you so.

Page 13 of 33 FirstFirst ... 3811121314151823 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •