Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Ie 7.0

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Singapore & Hong Kong
    Posts
    903

    Default Ie 7.0

    Got a pop mesg this morning on my Win XP Pro, telling me to update to IE7

    I am not a poweruser, and use my brower for just simply, browsing.

    Is this 15MB upgrade necessary ? Or should I use other type of browser.

    Advice appreciated.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Lensman View Post
    Got a pop mesg this morning on my Win XP Pro, telling me to update to IE7

    I am not a poweruser, and use my brower for just simply, browsing.

    Is this 15MB upgrade necessary ? Or should I use other type of browser.

    Advice appreciated.
    IE7 is actually pretty stable now (a lot more stable than Firefox 2 that hung 2 times while I was replying to your post) and their added features are nice, however, if you have any applications that were created to run on IE6, then it is best not to update as these may not run at all.

    _

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    3,287

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    No need to upgrade. Just ignore the msg. It is not a must.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Singapore & Hong Kong
    Posts
    903

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    thanks, guess i will ignore it till later.

    I am sure that it is going to be another round of updates and patches.

    If WIN XP and it;s software is a real ship, and given it's numerous patches and bugs, it would not pass MPA certification and are likely to sink with lives lost.

    NVM.

    Can anyone teach me how to use Linux ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    i don't like the layout of the IE 7.0...and it loads multiple tabs slower than FF 2.0
    eat. drink. shoot

  6. #6

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    Quote Originally Posted by +evenstar View Post
    i don't like the layout of the IE 7.0...and it loads multiple tabs slower than FF 2.0
    same goes for me about IE7. if only they allow the top bar(with back/forward buttons) to be shifted.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    I tried firefox 2.0, dont like it and switch back to version 1.6.

    IE7? I use mainly FF now so did not upgrade to IE7
    DR KOH KHO KING

  8. #8

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    I think you should upgrade your IE if security is your main concern. 15MB won't take much of your hardisk space right?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cons digger.
    Posts
    3,924

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    I think you should dump IE altogether and switch to Firefox if security is your main concern.
    If you can afford 15mb.. I'm sure 5.6mb is an even smaller investment, right?
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    I think FF 2.0 is pretty stable leh, so far we haven't hanged it, my wife and I has been using it since it's available for download.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Yeo View Post
    I think FF 2.0 is pretty stable leh, so far we haven't hanged it, my wife and I has been using it since it's available for download.
    Mac? I have it on 4 PCs and FF 2.0 frequently hangs unexpectedly on all of them. They all have different configurations.

    _

  12. #12
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    my FF 2.0 has yet to hang..
    eat. drink. shoot

  13. #13
    Account Suspended
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    I love my cup & coaster!
    Posts
    754

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    IE sux0rs!

  14. #14

    Default Re: Ie 7.0

    to me, IE 7.0 don't listen to what i tell it to do. i specify it to open new windows in new tabs but it just launch the new windows. damn feddup.

    i just need to tell Firefox 2 once and it obeys.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •