Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Night photography on moving objective

Default Night photography on moving objective

Hi Guys,

I just got my first SLR (Sony Alpha 100-kit) and need some advice from all the experts here. I was trying to take a photo of my son running. If i use any mode other then "S" 1/125 (think it is Tv in Canon?) The pictures turn out totally dark without flash (normal white fluorescent light) how ever if i use the flash, the shadow at the background spoil the picture. Any advise?

Thanx in advance.

Default Re: Night photography on moving objective

I think you need to buy an external flash that can bounce the flash over the roof loh....I am no expert, and I am about to try out exteranl flash soon.....my son doesn't know how to run yet (not even stand, only 6 month ) so I have some time to waste....

Quote Originally Posted by yihao01 View Post
    Hi Guys,

I just got my first SLR (Sony Alpha 100-kit) and need some advice from all the experts here. I was trying to take a photo of my son running. If i use any mode other then "S" 1/125 (think it is Tv in Canon?) The pictures turn out totally dark without flash (normal white fluorescent light) how ever if i use the flash, the shadow at the background spoil the picture. Any advise?

Thanx in advance.

Deregistered

erm...why dun shoot in daytime?

you could try setting a slower shutter speed and do panning.. add a 2nd curtain flash and you can get a frozen image with a blurred background..

Quote Originally Posted by J-Chan View Post
    you could try setting a slower shutter speed and do panning.. add a 2nd curtain flash and you can get a frozen image with a blurred background..

super!!! thats some expert stuff.

yah i guess using flash is more appropriate. 1/125 under fluorescent light is way too fast. you can also UP the ISO or faster lens.

What is a curtain flash?