Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Four Thirds Standard (4/3 and m43)

Four Thirds Standard (4/3 and m43) Four Thirds and Micro Four Thirds Discussions

Old 31st October 2006   #1
Hacker

Default Sigma 30mm f1.4 (Images in Post)

For KC who may get this lens for his son:

Old 31st October 2006   #2
microcosm

Default Re: Sigma 30mm f1.4 (Images in Post)

Thanks for sharing the shots. Personally I don't like the quality of the shot taken by the Sigma. It is still far from the quality from the ZD lenses.
Old 31st October 2006   #3
drewdam

Originally Posted by microcosm View Post
Thanks for sharing the shots. Personally I don't like the quality of the shot taken by the Sigma. It is still far from the quality from the ZD lenses.
am new to dslr n photograph thingy....would like to understand more...u mean the sharpness of the pic?
Sponsored Link
Old 31st October 2006   #4
microcosm

Sharpness and the details in the shadows.
Old 31st October 2006   #5
drewdam

Sharpness and the details in the shadows.
tks for high lite..sharpness..ya can see but still blur about shadow..
Old 31st October 2006   #6
microcosm

How can I put this? *(I am not super technical)...

With a good lens, even in the shadows, you can still see the colour gradient (am I using the right term? Correction guys) and details in the shadows but in the Sigma, I don't really see it (even with other pictures I have seen on the internet).
Old 1st November 2006   #7
Hacker

I will do proper shots when time allows without bringing an active kid along. 2 more pixs. Ignore the color and other factors, I'm taking these shots for my memories! They were never meant for pixel peeping.

Old 1st November 2006   #8
snappyantz

How can I put this? *(I am not super technical)...

With a good lens, even in the shadows, you can still see the colour gradient (am I using the right term? Correction guys) and details in the shadows but in the Sigma, I don't really see it (even with other pictures I have seen on the internet).
hm... can show some sample pics or is there any link that tell us more about this colour gradient if there is? thanks.
Old 1st November 2006   #9
Agetan

Originally Posted by Hacker View Post
For KC who may get this lens for his son:

Lovely shots... nothing wrong with them...!!

Just curious, did you shoot at wide open f1.4?

Hart
Old 1st November 2006   #10
Hacker

Originally Posted by Agetan View Post
Lovely shots... nothing wrong with them...!!

Just curious, did you shoot at wide open f1.4?

Hart
EXIF info is intact.

I'm using E-330 and I normally use Aperture Priority or Portrait mode. Portrait mode opens the aperture at its widest. Landscape or aperture tends to be more red. As I'm on an outing and secondarily, use the camera if there are opportunities, I have no proper test shots, though I take the shot whenever/wherever I can.

Last edited by Hacker; 1st November 2006 at 08:57 PM.
Old 1st November 2006   #11
StreetShooter

Fine lens.

Finer memories.
Old 1st November 2006   #12
Agetan

EXIF info is intact.

I'm using E-330 and I normally use Aperture Priority or Portrait mode. Portrait mode opens the aperture at its widest. Landscape or aperture tends to be more red. As I'm on an outing and secondarily, use the camera if there are opportunities, I have no proper test shots, though I take the shot whenver/wherever I can.
no prob... thanks for replying.

Hart
Old 1st November 2006   #13
KC THAM

Stephen - Are you selling? If yes what is the starting bid price
Old 1st November 2006   #14
Hacker

Aiyo, all hand held and taking photos because I happened to have the camera with me....
Old 1st November 2006   #15
microcosm

Paiseh bro, I was just nit picking...
Old 2nd November 2006   #16
Hacker

Originally Posted by KC THAM View Post
Stephen - Are you selling? If yes what is the starting bid price
I will, Leica 25mm is on the way in Dec!
Old 2nd November 2006   #17
cire07

I will, Leica 25mm is on the way in Dec!
This one?

http://www.photokina-show.com/0465/l...asummiluxlens/

25mm f1.4... Nice...

Any guess-timate how much it'll cost?

I was going to buy the ZD 50mm f2... now abit unsure liao...
Old 2nd November 2006   #18
say123

Originally Posted by cire07 View Post
This one?

http://www.photokina-show.com/0465/l...asummiluxlens/

25mm f1.4... Nice...

Any guess-timate how much it'll cost?

I was going to buy the ZD 50mm f2... now abit unsure liao...
just go ahead and get the 50mm f2.
the lecia is going to be expensive.. this lens is even heavier than the 14-50 leica (more glass). and it is not a macro. unless u fancy portraiture shots more and have lots of vitamin M, then wait for it to be released.
Old 2nd November 2006   #19
cire07

Originally Posted by say123 View Post
just go ahead and get the 50mm f2.
the lecia is going to be expensive.. this lens is even heavier than the 14-50 leica (more glass). and it is not a macro. unless u fancy portraiture shots more and have lots of vitamin M, then wait for it to be released.
I was under the impression that the 50mm f2.0 is good for "portraiture" as well???

Vitamin M is not say a lot lah, but save long enuff eventually will reach the required amt i guess...

So u mean the Leica 25mm is BETTER for portraiture shots? Cos i intend to take potrait-shots...

Another query, i've read somewhere that a "50mm lens is called the normal lens becos it gives the closest perspective as seen by the human eye..."

SO... given the x2 multiplier factor on our Oly bodies, is it the Leica's 25mm (x2 = 50mm) or the ZD's 50mm (x2 = 100mm) that is to be considered the "normal lens with closest perspective as seen by human eye..."???

Sorry if this has been asked before... AND i've used the Search function liao, din turn up anything.

Eric
Old 2nd November 2006   #20
Hacker

Leica 45mm f2 for portraits. That is on the list too.
Closed Thread