Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 33 of 33

Thread: Need help for my comp!

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hougang
    Posts
    820

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    Quote Originally Posted by Static View Post
    Flash bios for what ? Unless there is some critical stuff that ur mainboard needs to be fixed.

    "While the card should work on agp 8x, set it manually in the BIOS to 4x, and disable fastwrites. That may fix it." Got it from a forum...

    Seemed like u got urself a rotten card IMHO...
    Sound like you are the Pro here ....

    Since your PC is working before upgrade to the new graphic card,
    Check if there a minimum power requirement for the graphic card.
    I think some graphic card require power supply to be at least 480W.
    Flash the motherboard BIOS to the latest if necessary.
    Set AGP setting in BIOS as per Static recommendation.
    Reset BIOS setting to default if necessary. Do not select "optimum". (Do not overclock)
    Boot it with only your boot drive first. Disconnect the other 2 hard disks.
    Check that your chipset and graphic card driver are not too old. Use 1 version before the latest if necessary.
    Use a single stick of RAM if necessary (system usually don't auto reboot unless is hardware failure or going to fail. Most of the time is RAM). You might need to do a burn-in test.
    除了爱, 我一无所有

  2. #22
    Member Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Surfing soft porn in CS
    Posts
    1,079

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    Quote Originally Posted by Ola View Post
    Sound like you are the Pro here ....

    Since your PC is working before upgrade to the new graphic card,
    Check if there a minimum power requirement for the graphic card.
    I think some graphic card require power supply to be at least 480W.
    Flash the motherboard BIOS to the latest if necessary.
    Set AGP setting in BIOS as per Static recommendation.
    Reset BIOS setting to default if necessary. Do not select "optimum". (Do not overclock)
    Boot it with only your boot drive first. Disconnect the other 2 hard disks.
    Check that your chipset and graphic card driver are not too old. Use 1 version before the latest if necessary.
    Use a single stick of RAM if necessary (system usually don't auto reboot unless is hardware failure or going to fail. Most of the time is RAM). You might need to do a burn-in test.
    I cut and paste from the helpdesk forum from Powercolor paiseh.

    I can only crash PCs, dunno how to fix them
    陳綺貞 2010 [夏季練習曲] 巡迴演唱會 Cheer Concert 13 Nov 2010 MAX Pavilion@Singapore Expo

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hougang
    Posts
    820

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    Quote Originally Posted by Static View Post
    I cut and paste from the helpdesk forum from Powercolor paiseh.

    I can only crash PCs, dunno how to fix them
    Not everyone like you know what to cut and paste ....
    除了爱, 我一无所有

  4. #24
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    Let me try getting a new PSU. Hope it works. Yes, that should be my Mobo, match 80.

    I dun even know how to flash it hope my frenz can help me ard with it.. damn headache..
    Will try plugin everything off and do the fotos. hope nuthing happen, at least its cfm PSU problem

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hougang
    Posts
    820

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    Quote Originally Posted by josho View Post
    Let me try getting a new PSU. Hope it works. Yes, that should be my Mobo, match 80.

    I dun even know how to flash it hope my frenz can help me ard with it.. damn headache..
    Will try plugin everything off and do the fotos. hope nuthing happen, at least its cfm PSU problem
    The website will guide you on how to flash your BIOS.
    除了爱, 我一无所有

  6. #26
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    Somehow or rather, my frenz overclock my graphic card alil and everything seem fine to me.. But I still wondering how come the image is like that. Is it because of incompatible?

  7. #27

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    Quote Originally Posted by match80 View Post
    Are u using this MB? Btw, ur 3 HDD are IDE or SATA?
    Check the Optic drive, HD setting etc.. if the cable is SATA, the jumper should be set at 'CS' for the DVD Dr.. Cd Dr.. and the HD... I think 'CS' stands for Cable Select!

  8. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Singapore, CCK, SK
    Posts
    165

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    Quote Originally Posted by Yappy View Post
    Check the Optic drive, HD setting etc.. if the cable is SATA, the jumper should be set at 'CS' for the DVD Dr.. Cd Dr.. and the HD... I think 'CS' stands for Cable Select!
    There's no jumper selection for SATA HDD. 1 SATA Cable to 1 HDD. Can use master jumper setting for the DVD drive, as they are using Secondary IDE slot. Unless ur hdd also connecting to the same IDE cable. HDD is master, dvd/cd rom is slave.

    In josho's case, if 2 IDE HDD, its connected to primary IDE slot, dvd/cd connected to secondary slot and SATA to Channel 0 SATA slot.
    400D | 17-85mm f4.0-5.6 | 50mm f1.8 | 55-200mm f4.5-5.6 | 28-105mm f3.5-4.5 | 430EXII |
    My Pics

  9. #29
    Senior Member josho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jln Teck Whye
    Posts
    2,110

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    mine are all IDE slot. No Sata HDD. Anyway, just went to SLS and get the PSU. To be more kiasu and seen the price range, I got myself Antec 550w. Hopefully it can kill all the problem. If it doesn't, I guess I needed technically help from expert in my house.

    If not, worst scenario is to upgrade my MoBo (Which MoBo to recommend? Asus?). Guys, I need to get a new HDD also. Is 500gb advisable to get? As storage is so huge, more power consume more heat. Dangerous? (look like I needed a new casing also, or rather get a Fan to blow my computer. Hot hot computer.

  10. #30
    Member Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Surfing soft porn in CS
    Posts
    1,079

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    Quote Originally Posted by josho View Post
    mine are all IDE slot. No Sata HDD. Anyway, just went to SLS and get the PSU. To be more kiasu and seen the price range, I got myself Antec 550w. Hopefully it can kill all the problem. If it doesn't, I guess I needed technically help from expert in my house.

    If not, worst scenario is to upgrade my MoBo (Which MoBo to recommend? Asus?). Guys, I need to get a new HDD also. Is 500gb advisable to get? As storage is so huge, more power consume more heat. Dangerous? (look like I needed a new casing also, or rather get a Fan to blow my computer. Hot hot computer.
    Glad u managed to solve ur prob !

    Wahaha ur friend overclock ur VGA card ? Power

    Dunno much abt 500Gb. Heard from my suppliers not so stable, but how and why not stable they also never specify. Hearsay only.

    Wahaha how much u paid for that antec 550W ? Muz be expensive right ? More than 200bucks ?
    Mine 450watts only 65bucks !

    Which MB to buy ? Dunno leh, all from taiwan, correct me if wrong
    陳綺貞 2010 [夏季練習曲] 巡迴演唱會 Cheer Concert 13 Nov 2010 MAX Pavilion@Singapore Expo

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    3,287

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    Quote Originally Posted by match80 View Post
    Are u using this MB? Btw, ur 3 HDD are IDE or SATA?
    I had problems with this MB. Regret buying it. Change motherboard and everything works fine. Keep on rebooting. Not sure if your problem is same as mine. Now happily using Asus.

  12. #32

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    Try to update the Catalyst drivers.

    If that dun help, maybe go bk to Ban Leong to RMA ur card.

    But i tink ur card is damaged (judging from the screenshot u posted)

  13. #33

    Default Re: Need help for my comp!

    If you do need a new rig, I planned one up for myself, you might find it useful...
    Abit AW9D-MAX + Intel C2D E6300 - $682
    OCZ POWERstream 520W - $185
    GEIL DDR2 667 2GB Kit - $425
    Seagate 320GB 16MB SATA2 - $169
    Sapphire X1600PRO 512MB DDR3 - $216
    Lite-On Super Allwrite 16x DVDRW - $68

    Total:
    682 + 182 + 169 + 425 + 216 + 68 = 1 742

    Note: All these prices are from Bell

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •