Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 27th October 2006   #1
siaopika

Default D80 -- any problems encountered so far?

was wondering if there's any one encountering any prob with D80 for those who owned it so far..
Old 27th October 2006   #2
westwest1

Default Re: D80 -- any problems encountered so far?

what problem is consider as a problem???
Old 27th October 2006   #3
zaxh81

Originally Posted by siaopika View Post
was wondering if there's any one encountering any prob with D80 for those who owned it so far..
yes,the lcd cover always kena sweat or oil on nose.
Sponsored Link
Old 27th October 2006   #4
siaopika

-.-" problems like those underexposed issues in the d70 those kindda stuffs?
Old 27th October 2006   #5
westwest1

those are user problem....

if under...then over expose the pics...
Old 27th October 2006   #6
scandisk

thats where the digital darkroom comes into play.....
Old 27th October 2006   #7
lastboltnut

I have big prob with my D80, it has infected me with the BBB virus....
Old 27th October 2006   #8
hazta

No problem at all...

Pics dun require any PP. Great right out of the box.

Juz need to tweak my EC to +0.7, ISO 200 and using M mode, need only to vary the aperture & shutter accordingly. With these I'll get 95% perfect pics all the time.

Mininum shutter speed I've used for this is 1/5sec (handheld). As for aperture, f8.

Having an external flash is a plus...
Old 27th October 2006   #9
nemo

Originally Posted by hazta View Post
No problem at all...

Pics dun require any PP. Great right out of the box.

Juz need to tweak my EC to +0.7, ISO 200 and using M mode, need only to vary the aperture & shutter accordingly. With these I'll get 95% perfect pics all the time.

Mininum shutter speed I've used for this is 1/5sec (handheld). As for aperture, f8.

Having an external flash is a plus...
EC +0.7? can explain?
Old 27th October 2006   #10
siaopika

woohoo... sounds very tempting... i am intending to get one ..so..doing research now to see if theres any probs that occurs like the d70.......but it seems quite alright up til now eh....
Old 27th October 2006   #11
hazta

Originally Posted by nemo View Post
EC +0.7? can explain?
Wat I meant is I fixed my Exposure Compensation to +0.7 and ISO to 200. I dun adjust diz...

By doing diz, I have reduced my variables from 4 to 2. So if there's any change in lighting condition, I juz need to play around with the shutter and aperture only.

And juz to add on, the AWB is awesome. I use at -3.
Old 27th October 2006   #12
renegade150

where got problem..only problem u shld worry about is ur wallet getting lighter
Old 27th October 2006   #13
aaron80

Bro, I supposed you got your D80 liao?

Originally Posted by renegade150 View Post
where got problem..only problem u shld worry about is ur wallet getting lighter
Old 28th October 2006   #14
renegade150

Originally Posted by aaron80 View Post
Bro, I supposed you got your D80 liao?
hahahah wah u've been noticing! soon lar bro..now bo lui
Old 28th October 2006   #15
aaron80

Haha bro, saw that u have sold off your cam liao mah.. SSS 1st then can BBB..

Originally Posted by renegade150 View Post
hahahah wah u've been noticing! soon lar bro..now bo lui
Old 29th October 2006   #16
Zaknafein

Originally Posted by hazta View Post
Wat I meant is I fixed my Exposure Compensation to +0.7 and ISO to 200. I dun adjust diz...

By doing diz, I have reduced my variables from 4 to 2. So if there's any change in lighting condition, I juz need to play around with the shutter and aperture only.

And juz to add on, the AWB is awesome. I use at -3.
i also dun get it... why not just set to lowest ISO (given enough light), and just use aperture and shutter speed to get the correct exposure that u want?

why do u fixed ISO at 200 all the time and use EC +0.7?
Old 29th October 2006   #17
zac08

Originally Posted by Zaknafein View Post
i also dun get it... why not just set to lowest ISO (given enough light), and just use aperture and shutter speed to get the correct exposure that u want?

why do u fixed ISO at 200 all the time and use EC +0.7?
Either he's using the camera as a real expensive PnS or he's shooting in fixed lighting conditions... mebbe a studio?

I dun get it either.... The beauty of having a DSLR is that you can get to change the ISO setting, EV, and all the other controls to suit the different light conditions available in the different situations.

There's never a fixed formula nor a magical figure to stick with for all the conditions.
Old 29th October 2006   #18
shark

Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
Either he's using the camera as a real expensive PnS or he's shooting in fixed lighting conditions... mebbe a studio?

I dun get it either.... The beauty of having a DSLR is that you can get to change the ISO setting, EV, and all the other controls to suit the different light conditions available in the different situations.

There's never a fixed formula nor a magical figure to stick with for all the conditions.
Anyone got any feedback on the saturation setting? I set it to enhanced. The colour looks too rich for me. I will try moderate next time.
Old 29th October 2006   #19
lastboltnut

I think saturation is very subjective......

Originally Posted by shark View Post
Anyone got any feedback on the saturation setting? I set it to enhanced. The colour looks too rich for me. I will try moderate next time.
Old 29th October 2006   #20
Papilio

Originally Posted by shark View Post
You could always leave the Saturation on "Auto" but tweak the Color Mode setting to either Ia (sRGB) or II (Adobe RGB). Color Mode III tends towards richer "Velvia-like" outputs which are more suited to nature shots.
Closed Thread