Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 26th October 2006   #1
triggerhappy79

Question Dilemma..............

Hi all, need some advice from some of u guys/gals here. Currently usin 350D with 85mmL ii n 24-70L. The thing now is i have e chance of getting a 5D. Wanted a 1Ds but lack funds to do so. Anyway, i am stuck with
1) getting new lenses or getting 5D or
2) getting 5D n use these 2 lense n if i were to get 5D , should i sell e 350D??

In need for advice..... Thank you very much,.....
Old 26th October 2006   #2
kross

Default Re: Dilemma..............

do u need ff? can u live without the 1.6xcrop?
these are question only u can answer.... once u have the answers, u'll know which choice to make.... if it's more of a 'want thing' then no one can help....

cheers....
Old 26th October 2006   #3
haagen_dazs

what do you shoot? what you shoot will sort of dictate your body choices
you are dropping from a 1.6x to a 1.0x crop factor..
Sponsored Link
Old 26th October 2006   #4
raptor84

That would depend on your shooting style. do you feel you lack a certain focal range (wide or long ) Or can you compensate with your feet? If you think your shooting style or needs do not warrant a lens with a diff focal length (your 2 lenses are worts at leasr 5k laio =p) I'd say for for the 5D...

The 350D would make a good backup body if you shoot for a living (espcially events)
Old 26th October 2006   #5
triggerhappy79

Originally Posted by kross View Post
do u need ff? can u live without the 1.6xcrop?
these are question only u can answer.... once u have the answers, u'll know which choice to make.... if it's more of a 'want thing' then no one can help....

cheers....
Actually , i find 1.6x is tight in some situations n 5D is a want thing ....... n also a desire to go FF.
Old 26th October 2006   #6
triggerhappy79

Originally Posted by raptor84 View Post
That would depend on your shooting style. do you feel you lack a certain focal range (wide or long ) Or can you compensate with your feet? If you think your shooting style or needs do not warrant a lens with a diff focal length (your 2 lenses are worts at leasr 5k laio =p) I'd say for for the 5D...

The 350D would make a good backup body if you shoot for a living (espcially events)
Shooting portrait n products, travel landscape. Actually e lenses i got is to go FF, tats y , well, FF it shall be ......
Old 26th October 2006   #7
TrailsofLife

sell 85L & 350D buy 17-40L & a 2nd hand 70-200L.

Buy 5D. Use 17-40L for landscape, 24-70L for portraits and product...? still got some spare cash? buy 85 f1.8...good enough...my fav lens for portrait or buy 70-200 f2.8L if can dump abit more cash...

I use 5D with 17-40, 24-70, 70-200L...more than enough! I go for consumer prime because L prime too ex! I use 20mm f1.8, 50 f1.4 & 85 f1.8...85mm is my fav lens

Last edited by TrailsofLife; 26th October 2006 at 11:57 PM.
Old 27th October 2006   #8
triggerhappy79

70-200 will be in my list but wont have extras to get it unless i sell my 85L, but i am too in love to sell it away. So i think i shall wait for e 70-200 to come . 17-40L vs sigma or tokina 12-24? i guess u will chose 17-40L over those 2?
Old 27th October 2006   #9
TrailsofLife

I used 12-24mm before....so-so only lah... I like 17-40L because its sharper and more contrasty compare to 12-24mm. have not try tokina...

sell the 85L lah....but a more useful lens lor... like 70-200L...ha ha...

I try to use canon's lens because I like the USM and also the sharpness and contrast of L lenses. I used third party lenses before, maybe is my luck lah, but I never can get the same contrasty images I get from L lenses. The nearest are Tamron lenses but the built, the noisy focussing just turns me off.

Last edited by TrailsofLife; 27th October 2006 at 12:39 AM.
Old 27th October 2006   #10
triggerhappy79

Jus gotten my 85L like less than 3weeks.... na, think i will keep it ,n wait for e 70-200. is urs a IS 2.8L????
Thought of 17-40L for landscape, but shall see how..... will try it when i get 5D this coming weekend..... E above 2 lens is wat i wanted if i dun get e 5D, but FF is so tempting , but too bad 1Ds MkII is jus too ex.At least for now.
Old 27th October 2006   #11
sehsuan

What are your interests? Look at those shots by well known photographers, then use it as a guideline.
Old 27th October 2006   #12
TrailsofLife

Originally Posted by triggerhappy79 View Post
Jus gotten my 85L like less than 3weeks.... na, think i will keep it ,n wait for e 70-200. is urs a IS 2.8L????
Thought of 17-40L for landscape, but shall see how..... will try it when i get 5D this coming weekend..... E above 2 lens is wat i wanted if i dun get e 5D, but FF is so tempting , but too bad 1Ds MkII is jus too ex.At least for now.
Nope, mine dun have IS. Its the first L lens I have... The original one will be 3 years old already if not for some mishap by canon service centre. This one I have is a replacement from canon. its about 9 months to 1 year old. Very good for portraits!

17-40L is my second L... no regrets... very useful lens I think because I am a wide angle person.

I bought 24-70L last year to shoot wedding.

Sell your 350D and get a 17-40L lah. When you're done with 85L then sell it to get 70-200L.
Old 27th October 2006   #13
lightning

Do take note that 5D with a 17-40, you get distortion at the 17mm end. So far never regreted getting the 5D. FF is cool. But FPS is slow. Noise control is super. Never see my pics so clear and smooth even at ISO 800 or even at 1000.

Since I switch from the 10D to 5D, I find my 70-200 very useful. I am able to now shoot in many situation not possible when I am using my 10D with 1.6x crop.
Old 27th October 2006   #14
triggerhappy79

Originally Posted by Max 2.8 View Post
Nope, mine dun have IS. Its the first L lens I have... The original one will be 3 years old already if not for some mishap by canon service centre. This one I have is a replacement from canon. its about 9 months to 1 year old. Very good for portraits!

17-40L is my second L... no regrets... very useful lens I think because I am a wide angle person.

I bought 24-70L last year to shoot wedding.

Sell your 350D and get a 17-40L lah. When you're done with 85L then sell it to get 70-200L.
17-40L will be in my list. 70-200L f2.8L is definitely in , but whether to get e IS version or not , i will decide when e bonus comes in Dec...... But e pic of 85L is excellent ... but well, may keep all e lense .
Old 27th October 2006   #15
triggerhappy79

Originally Posted by lightning View Post
Do take note that 5D with a 17-40, you get distortion at the 17mm end. So far never regreted getting the 5D. FF is cool. But FPS is slow. Noise control is super. Never see my pics so clear and smooth even at ISO 800 or even at 1000.

Since I switch from the 10D to 5D, I find my 70-200 very useful. I am able to now shoot in many situation not possible when I am using my 10D with 1.6x crop.
So after 5D 17-40L or 70-200?
Old 27th October 2006   #16
madmacs

Originally Posted by triggerhappy79 View Post
Shooting portrait n products, travel landscape. Actually e lenses i got is to go FF, tats y , well, FF it shall be ......
get the 5d and keep your 85 and 24-70 for now. add a wider angle lens later if you need it. the 350d you can sell or you can keep.
Old 27th October 2006   #17
triggerhappy79

I got e price quoting mi 4300 at the camera workshop at peninsular plaza. E sales person claims tat it has no international warranty for all Dslr models? isst true? Anyone gotten any things from there? Feels kinda weird when CP, MS , n TK are quoting 4.9 to 5k
Old 27th October 2006   #18
TrailsofLife

Dun worry lah...I got mine without any warranty even brand new! 1 from Japan and 1 from staff purchase in Australia...but make sure you check everything. Like exposures, does the camera communicate with lens, ISO etc... if everything works fine, just buy it lah...

TCW got give shop warranty right? Good enough lah...

Seriously...sell your 350D, you won't want it anymore after you use 5D and get 17-40L...you won't regret one...

Regarding the price, 4.3k seems alright... mine was 5.6k with grip for the first set, the 2nd one was $4.5k no grip but thats last year. I thought the price would drop abit more like maybe $4-4.2k....

Last edited by TrailsofLife; 27th October 2006 at 05:00 PM.
Old 27th October 2006   #19
madmacs

depends on your luck. my 10d had battery charge problems during its 1st year. canon changed some logic board for me.
Old 28th October 2006   #20
triggerhappy79

sigh, shall go there n take alook....... hope all is well when i get it ....
Closed Thread