Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Cost of scanning MF

  1. #1

    Default Cost of scanning MF

    anyone hv any idea how much it'll cost to scan 120 film?
    ckiang?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Not sure about the other labs, but Colour Lab charges $8 per piece. Very expensive.

    Regards
    CK

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Sgp/China/TW
    Posts
    659

    Default

    wa......siao ar......so x...wat size? 6X45 or 6X7??

  5. #5

    Default Re: Cost of scanning MF

    Originally posted by Shadus
    anyone hv any idea how much it'll cost to scan 120 film?
    ckiang?
    1.What resolution are you looking at?
    2.What will the scans be used for? Poster prints?
    3. Any colour correct for the scans?
    4. Just plain scans?
    5. What's your volume?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by roti
    wa......siao ar......so x...wat size? 6X45 or 6X7??
    Any 120. 66, 645, 67, 69, 617, 612, all $8. Even panoramic is $8.

    Regards
    CK

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang


    Any 120. 66, 645, 67, 69, 617, 612, all $8. Even panoramic is $8.

    Regards
    CK
    got a derivative qn, the 120 film is not hardcoded in width? meaning it's just one long strip of negative?
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by denizenx


    got a derivative qn, the 120 film is not hardcoded in width? meaning it's just one long strip of negative?
    hardcoded? This is not programming you know?

    Whether 120 or 135, it's just one long strip of film. The final size depends on the camera. Even for 35mm, you can get half-frame (e.g. the old Yashica Samurai), full frame, panoramic (e.g. Xpan), etc.

    Regards
    CK

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang


    hardcoded? This is not programming you know?

    Whether 120 or 135, it's just one long strip of film. The final size depends on the camera. Even for 35mm, you can get half-frame (e.g. the old Yashica Samurai), full frame, panoramic (e.g. Xpan), etc.

    Regards
    CK
    serious? eh then barcoding and numbeing is printed by the devt machine ah?
    oh dear blur siah...
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by denizenx


    serious? eh then barcoding and numbeing is printed by the devt machine ah?
    oh dear blur siah...
    Numbers are pre-printed on the film. Why do you think 135 film has the 0, 0A, 1, 1A, 2, 2A, etc? Whatever format you shoot, the numbers will somehow align with your frames. Just that it may not be in running sequence. That's not important anyway.


    Regards
    CK

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang


    Numbers are pre-printed on the film. Why do you think 135 film has the 0, 0A, 1, 1A, 2, 2A, etc? Whatever format you shoot, the numbers will somehow align with your frames. Just that it may not be in running sequence. That's not important anyway.


    Regards
    CK
    aaahh I see I see... LOL I thought film was really advanced liao... since APS so old...
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

  12. #12

    Default Re: Re: Cost of scanning MF

    Originally posted by Dagger


    1.What resolution are you looking at?
    2.What will the scans be used for? Poster prints?
    3. Any colour correct for the scans?
    4. Just plain scans?
    5. What's your volume?
    1. See Q2
    2. Mostly 4R size up to 10R max
    3. Nope, can do that in Photoshop
    4. Plain vanilla, out of the scanner type of scan.
    5. 100 pieces?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •