ClubSNAP Photography Forums

Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Marketplace > Consumers Corner

Consumers Corner Want to find out or give info on where, how much, how good, what to buy? Here is where you should be.


 
Thread Tools
Old 12th October 2006   #1
prince64
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, Uk
Posts: 3
Default Canon EDS Mark II

Hello everyone, I am due to visit Singapore in Dec. and I found following website who claims to sell the above camera for $1700 http://www.kormez.com/index.php?sp=detail&id=1010&cid=9. They can be contacted at http://www.kormez.com/index.php?sp=contact

I would really appreciate if any of you could please investigate the authenticity of this seller as in UK we say "if its too good to believe, perhaps it is..."

Many thanks guys.
prince64 is offline  
Old 12th October 2006   #2
chanxj
Member
 
chanxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore......
Posts: 598
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

There is something fishy on the company registration cert online look closely. Date of commencement of registration is 1996 while cert issued in 1992. Futhermore, i don't remember singapore's company registration certs to look like that during the time it was issued.
__________________
Chanxj
my blog @ http://sgsnap.com
chanxj is offline  
Old 12th October 2006   #3
TrailsofLife
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 8,492
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

Its too good to be true.
__________________
trailsoflife photography*blog
TrailsofLife is offline  
Sponsored Link
Old 12th October 2006   #4
Jesmun18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 414
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

think. you should able to make a judgement on this.
Jesmun18 is offline  
Old 12th October 2006   #5
khairi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yishun
Posts: 2,469
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

the cam selling can take video?
see the specs at the last portion.
really?
__________________
blog: inbloomphotos.wordpress.com
khairi is offline  
Old 12th October 2006   #6
raptor84
Senior Member
 
raptor84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 4,282
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

No canon 1 seroes DLSR's have been know to take AVI foramts =p
__________________
Pet Portrait Portfolio
Stock Photos for sale
raptor84 is online now  
Old 12th October 2006   #7
prince64
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, Uk
Posts: 3
Default Re: Canon EOS Mark II

ok thanks guys. is there any genuine online singapore retailer website that i can check for rate comparison?
prince64 is offline  
Old 12th October 2006   #8
yangbeng
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Along the Eastern Coast
Posts: 268
Default Re: Canon EOS Mark II

wow..the website is a total spoof~! the address of the company does not exist in singapore.
there is no 18 Tai Seng Drive! base on the postal code given from the website...it's suppose to be 19 Tai Seng Drive, there is no unit no. 18 along Tai Seng Drive.
__________________
My Flickr | My Blog
yangbeng is offline  
Old 12th October 2006   #9
xiaobai
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: west, sg
Posts: 924
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

u can go to the canon section in the forum to have a look on the price offer here...
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=131801
xiaobai is offline  
Old 12th October 2006   #10
raptor84
Senior Member
 
raptor84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 4,282
Default Re: Canon EOS Mark II

Originally Posted by prince64 View Post
ok thanks guys. is there any genuine online singapore retailer website that i can check for rate comparison?
Dont remember any online retailers here. http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=221074 you can refer the that thread for a list of useful shops
__________________
Pet Portrait Portfolio
Stock Photos for sale
raptor84 is online now  
Old 12th October 2006   #11
TrailsofLife
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 8,492
Default Re: Canon EOS Mark II

Since you coming to Singapore, just buy from reputable store like Cathay or Alan Photo. Check the retail price first here, so you know the retail price and know what to bargain for.
__________________
trailsoflife photography*blog
TrailsofLife is offline  
Old 12th October 2006   #12
blk160
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Heaven
Posts: 252
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

A couple of things to note:

1) Singapore company will not have Kormez, Inc. it will be Kormex Pte. Ltd. If it is a real singapore registered company.

2) Singapore company registration number will start with year, i.e. is registered in 1992, it will start with 1992XXXXX

3) The cert is issued by Department of Commerce. There is no Department of Commerce in Singapore

4) As idicated by other CSers, the years in the cert does not tie.


Conclusion : This is a bogus company!!!

I probably will try to call the number in their contact to see if it is a real number
blk160 is offline  
Old 12th October 2006   #13
prince64
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, Uk
Posts: 3
Smile Re: Canon EOS Mark II

Brilliant! I think I have made up my mind now. Thanks very much to all those who contributed this thread.
prince64 is offline  
Old 12th October 2006   #14
+evenstar
Senior Member
 
+evenstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 5,453
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

EDS mark II?
__________________
the SEARCH FUNCTION is there for a reason. USE IT!
+evenstar is offline  
Old 12th October 2006   #15
+evenstar
Senior Member
 
+evenstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 5,453
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

oh and a "3072 x 2048 Pixels" 16.7MP camera with optical and digital zoom!! cool!!!
__________________
the SEARCH FUNCTION is there for a reason. USE IT!
+evenstar is offline  
Old 12th October 2006   #16
Mr_3lmo
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Near NTU
Posts: 147
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

Originally Posted by prince64 View Post
Hello everyone, I am due to visit Singapore in Dec. and I found following website who claims to sell the above camera for $1700 http://www.kormez.com/index.php?sp=detail&id=1010&cid=9. They can be contacted at http://www.kormez.com/index.php?sp=contact

I would really appreciate if any of you could please investigate the authenticity of this seller as in UK we say "if its too good to believe, perhaps it is..."

Many thanks guys.
ohh... that website. it is totally bogus. Checked it out before, and this is not the only bogus one around. Just check around Alibaba.com, there are plenty of them around. Just be careful. Anyway, the business registration records does not show anything, did independent checks on my end before...
Mr_3lmo is offline  
Old 13th October 2006   #17
hi5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 473
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

Originally Posted by blk160 View Post
A couple of things to note:

1) Singapore company will not have Kormez, Inc. it will be Kormex Pte. Ltd. If it is a real singapore registered company.

2) Singapore company registration number will start with year, i.e. is registered in 1992, it will start with 1992XXXXX

3) The cert is issued by Department of Commerce. There is no Department of Commerce in Singapore

4) As idicated by other CSers, the years in the cert does not tie.


Conclusion : This is a bogus company!!!

I probably will try to call the number in their contact to see if it is a real number
the phone number is the same as fax.... I tried, it is always fax sound....
hi5 is offline  
Old 13th October 2006   #18
Hoky
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,186
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

Originally Posted by hi5 View Post
the phone number is the same as fax.... I tried, it is always fax sound....
If you notice, the Slogan is "Name you can traust for best discount price."
Observe the word in bold... that tells you how reliable it is...
Hoky is offline  
Old 13th October 2006   #19
spartacus.ret
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,358
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

wow, this 1Ds II also comes with a built-in flash!

really good buy!
spartacus.ret is offline  
Old 13th October 2006   #20
Razor54
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West to East
Posts: 281
Default Re: Canon EDS Mark II

Originally Posted by spartacus.ret View Post
wow, this 1Ds II also comes with a built-in flash!

really good buy!
Must be a latest cross-breed with the 30D........
Razor54 is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2002 - 2009 ClubSNAP.com
Page generated in 0.12572 seconds with 7 queries