Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Fujifilm

Old 12th October 2006   #1
Junye

Default F31d vs F30 - Is it worth the wait

As above,
do you guys think the faces detection feature will be good?

if not, price wise, should i wait for f31d to be released so f30 price will go down?

Old 12th October 2006   #2
aaron80

Default Re: f31d vs f30 - Is it worth the wait

Hi I think the face detention function will b useful esp when taking group photos. but I dun think its a die die want kind of function. For my need, high ISO performance coupled with IS will be more useful.. If I am not wrong, the F31fd and the F30 are basically the same except for the face detection function. U can see the price difference between the 2 models 1st when F31 is launched. If the price difference is v slight, i will go for the F31 if not I will save some money and get the F30 instead. F30 is a very gd camera liao..
Old 12th October 2006   #3
Junye

haa that's the thing. i dunno if there will be significant price difference. hmmm sian. it will be another month before f31d is out
Old 12th October 2006   #4
surge

Originally Posted by Junye View Post
As above,
do you guys think the faces detection feature will be good?

if not, price wise, should i wait for f31d to be released so f30 price will go down?

i have owned the f30 for about 2 months and taken tons of pictures w it.and has also printed many for my friends who are non photographers but own compact for snapshots. when i gave them the pictures, they were very impress and ask me what camera i use. the f30 produce very nice ppl pictures. focus is very fast. think the face detection thingy not really neccessary...plus the amount of pictures you are going to miss during this wait....
Old 12th October 2006   #5
zcf

It's probably convenient for user who don't know how to selectively lock focus on people properly. If you know how to do it, or unless just want to safe time and automatic let the camera do the job, you probably don't need it.
Old 12th October 2006   #6
kyo

is z-3 gd enough also? can match with f30 also ba..
only at night lose abit cos is 1600 compare to 3200

please advice.
Old 12th October 2006   #7
kross

why wait when u can start shooting with f30?
it's a never ending story...
Old 12th October 2006   #8
brian

I wonder how the face detection works... if everyone is in line, ok, simple enough. But what happens when you have 2 guys, one in the background 4-5m away and another guy 1m away say, close enough not to be at infinity for focussing purpose. Will the FD focus in the middle after identifying the 2 faces? Or will it prefer one over the other?

FYI, the last time I checked I think the shop told me that the F31fd is out in Dec. Dont think I want to wait. Going to get the F30 very soon and join you guys in this part of the forum!
Old 12th October 2006   #9
dnaxe

Originally Posted by brian View Post
I wonder how the face detection works... if everyone is in line, ok, simple enough. But what happens when you have 2 guys, one in the background 4-5m away and another guy 1m away say, close enough not to be at infinity for focussing purpose. Will the FD focus in the middle after identifying the 2 faces? Or will it prefer one over the other?

FYI, the last time I checked I think the shop told me that the F31fd is out in Dec. Dont think I want to wait. Going to get the F30 very soon and join you guys in this part of the forum!
It'll probably increase the aperture appropriately (that would make sense.)

I think whether you should wait depends on what you're using now.

Also, I wold consider the F20. I don't realy see anything improved with the F30.
Old 23rd October 2006   #10
sriram

I too considered waiting but what are you going to do till the F31 is available? FD is no big deal. I've seen it on the G7 and it's really nothing great. Maybe useful for noobs or if you hand your cam to someone else to shoot a pic of you.
Old 24th October 2006   #11
brian

That's what I did. Just bought a F30 last week, at least I get to shoot right away. I think I heard that they're going to maintain the F30 and the F31 at the same time, not sure if its true. But if it, then the fd will probably be priced at premium.
Old 24th October 2006   #12
code

where to get the best deal for f30 right now?
Old 25th October 2006   #13
squalle

Originally Posted by code View Post
ebay
Old 27th October 2006   #14
brian

Originally Posted by code View Post
Best deal I dont know. I checked with some reputable shops, go in, if the price is right, I buy and not to check anymore. Or else you'll always find someone who's selling cheaper, and at the same time expose yourself to risks of dealing with disreputable dealers.
Old 28th October 2006   #15
newkidontheblk

Originally Posted by squalle View Post
ebay
yup. bought mine from ebay for USD222.50
Old 30th October 2006   #16
Astin

As the Fuji digicam is good for taking indoor, party shots, so the face detection is very usable in situations example, u and yr best friend sitting together and u ask someone to take photo for u.
Old 3rd November 2006   #17
fastgear

I'm also seriously consider f31d or f30. Is the noise control performance really good.
My other alternative is Canon Ixus 900IS since it provides IS, face detection and don't use XD. However my experience is that red eye does happen quite often with Ixus.

Any comment on noise of F30 compared with Ixus 900IS ?

Also is there an XD to CF / SD adaptor?
Old 4th November 2006   #18
cyaw

Originally Posted by fastgear View Post
Any comment on noise of F30 compared with Ixus 900IS ?
6MP on a 1/1.7" chip compare to 10MP on a 1/1.8" CCD...whadaya think? F30 hands down!

Originally Posted by fastgear View Post
Also is there an XD to CF / SD adaptor?
Only the CF adaptor. Think SD would be too small to wedge in an xD
Old 4th November 2006   #19
yowch

Using the F30 alongside my S2pro, you can almost mix and match the images without realising the two different cams! Only close scrutiny, DoF or flash effects will tell the two apart clearly. As a matter of fact, ISO 1600 on the F30 is better than that on the S2pro.
Old 4th November 2006   #20
cyaw

Wow, yowch - that's high praise for the F30! A compact standing its ground against a DSLR!
Closed Thread