Thread: what does this mean?

Default what does this mean?

whenver i open a pic taken by my d200 on adobe cs2,

it shows me this...

"the document has an embedded color profile that does not match the curretn RGB working space.
    embedded sRGB IEC61966-2.1
    working adobe RGB (1998)

wat would you like to do?

1)use the embedded profile
    2)convert document colors to the working space
    3)discard the embeded profile"

so, which option should i choose and may i know why is there such a message?
    thanks for your patience.i'm a newbie to photoshop CS and my d200

Default Re: what does this mean?

Basically, it's a colour space mismatch. Under the colour management settings in PS CS, set the working colour space to sRGB to match the colour space your camera is using. Colour management is not on by default, so I assume you know where the settings screen is since you've turned it on.

Quote Originally Posted by jeanie View Post

it shows me this...

"the document has an embedded color profile that does not match the curretn RGB working space.
    working adobe RGB (1998)

i would save it as sRGB IEC61966-2.1 if i'm doing it only for web posting, as adobe RGB (1998) if i think i would want to print them. if i'm undecided, i would leave it in the same profile as much as possible.

however, i suggest that if you want to print them, change your camera setting to adobe RGB (1998) and avoid the profile change in CS.

p.s. i dun use CS, i use elements who dun force me to change the profile, but i do make selection before saving.

Quote Originally Posted by zoossh View Post
    i would save it as sRGB IEC61966-2.1 if i'm doing it only for web posting, as adobe RGB (1998) if i think i would want to print them. if i'm undecided, i would leave it in the same profile as much as possible.

however, i suggest that if you want to print them, change your camera setting to adobe RGB (1998) and avoid the profile change in CS.