Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta

Sony/Konica-Minolta Dream. Create. Live

Old 3rd October 2006   #1
radi9red

Default The story of the minolta >> Sony + Lens compilation

Hi all, starting a thread to write about the lens i've used before. I'm sure most of the guys here has tons of lens (minolta) mount. Let's share some experiences in this thread.

LET SEE WHO IS THE CHAMPION who owns the most number of lens before !! or the poorest.. since buy and sell, waste $$.. muhahaha

I'll start first in this format :

Minolta / sony bodies used : Minolta 5D, Sony Alpha A100
Total lens used and owned before : 18

Tamron 11-18mm f4.5-5.6mm - Bought from k3 Marketing - Sharp optics, comparing to my fren's Sigma 10-20mm, his corner pics seems to be better. Went overseas to shoot using this lens before, most shots were around 14mm -16mm, at 11mm wide, its very rare to get a suitable scene to compose a nice shot.. maybe its just me .. Fast focus. Good built quality.

Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4.5 - This lens cost me $580, len is sharp, i bought it because its light 10%-15% sharper than the Kit lens 18-70mm., at 70mm at f5.6, tested both lens, this lens is 20-25% sharper. So for F-stop + longer sharper end, not sure if you wanna spend the $$. Its also slighter wide too.. slightly thats all.. Built quality very subjective, cos i heard this lens has QC issues, i went to one shop and tested 2 of this lens. one of it is spoilt one.. I meant SPOILT .. the zoom lock button is STUCK .. so remeber to test it throughly before buying. The colours, contrast and the bokeh for this lens is much better than kit, even at same F-stop.

KM 18-70mm kit lens - Actually its quite good lei, comparing to Sigma 17-70mm, and sigma prime 20mm f1.8. - but you zoom it to 50mm and above, wide open is quite soft.. anyway kit lens.. what you expect ?? at 18mm excellent results ! .- i print A3 size.. Quality its good enough for me.

Minolta 24-85mm F3.5-4.5 - Nice bokeh lei ...lovely colours too.. you can smell the minolta colours .. Its really different from tamron and sigma. It gives you a smooth feeling, not critically sharp but just nice and adeequate.

Minolta 28-85mm f3.5-4.5 - Mine is old metal mount, solid and heavy. The coating is bluish, very very lovely .. comparing to the newer lens, this optic coating is the best i've seen so far. Very sharp too , very cheap as well. I will not hestitate to shoot with this lens, very constant quality results.

Tokina 28-70mm f2.6-2.8 - Heavy but superb solid built. Best i handed so far. Colours hmm not very minolta-like, i dont quite like it.. but very sharp. At 70mm, wide open is soft even at f3.5 , the focal length also limited..

Vivitar series 1 28-70mm F2.8 - This lens is exactly the 1st series of sigma 28-70mm, relatively sharp, similar to tokina.. but the focusing at wide 28mm, sometimes focus wrong spot. Colour produces okie but a bit greyish due to lack of contrast.. well the lens is above 20 years.. what you expect ??

Tamron 28-105mm F2.8 - Heavy like Hell.. optics is not bad, better than i expect after reading lotsa negative reviews.. similar to kit lens quality at same f-stops.. not magical , colours not magical, sharpness acceptable but the zoom range is good.. 82mm filter is kinda exaggerating.. i had a Bw 82mm filter on it and its really heavy.. at 105mm at f2.8 very very soft , need to stopped down to f4 , contrast not very good overall.

Minolta 70-210mm F4 - Beercan , heavy metal but sharp sharp sharp, even at F4. if your shots is not sharp, either its your handshake problem or your lens faulty. I really like the internal focusing.. Very value for $$.. thats why everyone grab this lens.

Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 - Bought it at $200+ to replace beercan, reasons ?? Its light light light .. and at 200mm , sharp sharp sharp.. comparable to beercan. but dodgy AF a bit slow.. 300mm shoot okay la.. at least you get extra focal length comapring to beercan

Sigma 75-210mm f2.8-3.5 - Remember to buy serial number startin "2" onwards, then can AF with minolta DSLR .. Sharper than beercan, very close with my minolta G 200mm APO F2.8, up to you to believe. but again.. maybe mine is a *mint* set, i got it almost brand new.. so i'm happy with it.

Minolta 75-300mm F4.5-5.6 - Average lens, light weight, fast AF, and since you shooting at f4.5 and above.. haha its quite acceptable sharpness.. cheap for beginners

Tokina 80-200mm F2.8 Red ring - Heavy like a missile launcher.. Results disappointing, even worse than beercan at F4. Waste my time and energy to shoot with it. Collar is useful. thats about it.

Sigma 20mm f1.8 prime - 82mm filter size, large lens, heavy, solid. very nice colours and at f2.8, very sharp.. believe me.. its a good prime, i tried minolta 20mm f2.8 before this sigma sharper . but vignette at f1.8 to f2.8.. so its up to you..

Minolta 50mm f1.4 - very nice colours, nice bokeh, sharp at f2.0 and above. lightweight !!. Good reliable prime.

Tamron 90mm f2.8 macro - This lens got 3 models, mine was the 1st.. works on 5D , cannot AF on Alpha A100.. maybe chipping issue. extremely Sharp and lightweight.. even much sharper than 50mm althought 50mm easier to construct leh .. Nice bokeh and lovely colours too.. Tamron has a winner prime and this is it ! .

Minolta 135mm F2.8 - Metal small pocket size .. really can stuff into your jeans pocket.. Sharp and smooth colours at f2.8 .. the colours produce very minolta-like..

Minolta 200mm f2.8 APO G - White sexy lens.. very fast AF. Extremely sharp at f4! . at f2.8 very sharp, but contrast seems a bit off .. highlight slightly blown , white object glowing with softness .. maybe its my copy..

Last edited by radi9red; 3rd October 2006 at 09:41 PM.
Old 4th October 2006   #2
solomon76

Default Re: The story of the minolta >> Sony + Lens compilation

thanks for sharing!
Old 4th October 2006   #3
tankm

Thanks for sharing.

Agree with you on the following lens that I have used...Tamron 11-18mm f4.5-5.6mm, Minolta 24-85mm F3.5-4.5, Tokina 28-70mm f2.6-2.8 and Minolta 70-210mm F4.

The Minolta 24-85 f3.5-4.5 as compare to the KM 18-70, has better built, sharper, nicer bokeh and color. Only thing missing is the wider end. A good upgrade from the kit lens if you don't need the wide end.
Old 4th October 2006   #4
Del_CtrlnoAlt

scary... 18 lenses...

so far i only sold 3 lenses, 75-300, 90mm tamron macro, 16mm Zenitar

anyway i buy some lens that never see daylight b4 but is constantly feeling the warmth of the drybox...

think i go by the chronological timing of my lens procurement...

1) KM 17-35 f2.8-4 - started out using a DSLR/SLR with this lens, i find it more useful than my 28-75 cos of the wide angle, on digital body, the 28-75 is like neither here nor there... 17-35 fills it all, probably, if there is a 17-55 range would be better for digital, but with film, the 17mm is real fantastic.

2) KM 28-75 f2.8 - one of the least used lens, practically, 95% of the time in drybox, 5% in the bag as spare. cos when i shoot digital, its unless shoot model, but then i seldom shoot, and i prefer using 135mm f2.8, then with film, i shoot slides, and scenery, so 28 is not wide enuff, so its always 17-35, BBTM commented its as good as new... haha...

3) M 50mm f1.7 - another seldom use 1, its fast, its sharp, its almost the in thing, only thing is, its 75mm on digital, and i prefer using 35mm on digital giving a rough 50mm, 50mm on film, seldom shoot with 50mm on that... no chance literally...

4) M 75-300 f4.5-5.6 - Bought and tried out once to shoot a bird outdoor, and it basically can't do as its suppose to work, chuck it into the drybox, then brought to the zoo, kinda slow... then did a macro shoot with it since its already 300 at 1:2 or is it 1:4, just a few more extension will do 1:1... not bad... with a hell of a bunch of extension tubes, showed it during a KMOS outing, the longest lens ever... haha... cos it went beyond 1:1 but the focusing kills you, a tripod definitely needed with a remote release.

5) Sigma 50-500 - after the 75-300, i find that i need a longer range, hence the 50-500, brought out to the zoo outing, raining that day, can't use, brought to birdpark and i find that its very heavy... almost died along with the monopod... but its a good sharp lens, only focusing tad slow... manual focusing is fine with the large barrel.

6) Lensbaby - backside itchy go buy this toy, after using once or twice, find that its not as fun as it seems... back to the dry cabi... still hoping it will see daylight...

7) M 70-210 f4 - went to SLCC wedding course, then they are talking about these lens, then was thinking how fun i could get 1, so went to buy it, overall its a nice lens, colors are nice, distance nice, nothing much to complain, its small & light, only thing is its kinda slow, so you need a steady hand.

8) Tamron 90mm - one of my most used lens when i do product shooting, its sharp, super sharp, since macro, manual focusing is great, i always pack it along with my 17-35 for outing, sold it off after i gotten a M 100mm macro.

later got time then continue... haha...
Old 4th October 2006   #5
BBTM

Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
BBTM commented its as good as new... haha...
So tight, you say la.
Old 4th October 2006   #6
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by BBTM View Post
So tight, you say la.
Virgin mah...
Old 4th October 2006   #7
BBTM

Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
Virgin mah...
Now targetting a 17-35mm. Maybe going for curise during Feb.
Old 4th October 2006   #8
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by BBTM View Post
Now targetting a 17-35mm. Maybe going for curise during Feb.
u like target very long liao...
Old 4th October 2006   #9
solomon76

Just bought a A100
bought a 2nd hand lens
Minolta AF 28-105 Xi 3.5-4.5

Last edited by solomon76; 4th October 2006 at 02:25 PM.
Old 4th October 2006   #10
satay16

3 lenses only.

Minolta 28mm f2 : My first lens. When I bought the 7D over, the seller had a whole bunch of lenses, 17-35mm, 28-70mm, 50mm, all KM. For some reasons, I only bought this 28mm, slight regret for not getting that 28-70 2.8. Used it for its first event only after buying it for 10mins, the syf opening ceremony at national stadium. Focusing was fast, and the lens looked cute. This was the only lens I bought as it gives an extremely accurate view of what the eye sees, making it sufficient for many many events.

Sigma 18-50 2.8 EX DG : After using the 28mm, I figured that I was going to stay with this system for quite some time. I lacked the flexibilty of the very commonly used wide to semi-wide end, so, this sigma lens was next. FOr this lens, the focusing is slowwwww. It was a turn off for me when i used it for the first time. However, it was a lens that definately has to be bought as the only other subsitute is the 17-35 G(tamron's 17-50 wasn't out yet). Despite the slow focusing, it wasn't really a big problem as it is very seldom that i would focus from infintity to 30cm between consecutive shots, so focusing was actually quite okay. but as most of you know, the background focusing issue became prominent, and the lens is still with sigma now. This lens, despite its flaws is my most commonly used lens as optically wise, it has totally no problem(only with a tad high of CA). and at 2.8 constant, it is indeed useful in indoor school events. I value constant aperture alot.

Sigma 70-200 2.8 EX: Currently my last lens. Focusing is fast. When i first touched this lens, it was pretty exciting. It was the first biggy lens i had, sort of give me the feeling that i finally have promoted myself to a real photographer as I had been using a manual focus nikon FE with 1 lousy lens for 4 years. I used it quite often(not like i have that many choices) for again, school events. this lens finally gave me the ability to take those nice close-up head shots which i could nv do with a wide lens. I use it very often in special events that i cannot go to close, esp lectures and talks. Never had the opptunity to try it on sports as sporting season was over by then.

right now, i have my basic lineup which i think fits me nicely without any lens that is seldom used. However, i lack macro and super tele in my lineup. though i dun shoot macro or supertele often, there are certain occasions when i needed it badly, so i had to either use my Dimage A1 for macro, or a kenko teleplus 2X for super tele. but i believe the next two lenses i would like to have in the near future would be a KM 100mm macro, and a reflex 500mm.
Old 4th October 2006   #11
Agetan

You can see the list of lenses that I use and come across and use briefly on

Minolta Gear Gallery

If you need a review, let me know I will let you know what I think.

Hart
Old 4th October 2006   #12
eesteck

Originally Posted by Agetan View Post

Minolta Gear Gallery

Hart
you are champion Can open a minolta shop already
Old 4th October 2006   #13
wee_ly

Minolta Gear Gallery

Hart
say.... what do you do for a living, huh?
wow, how i wish i have that many lenses to look at daily, not to mention touching them!
Old 5th October 2006   #14
Johnston

Minolta Gear Gallery

Hart
wah say! you really champion of the champion. hardcore KM user.

Originally Posted by wee_ly View Post
say.... what do you do for a living, huh?
wow, how i wish i have that many lenses to look at daily, not to mention touching them!
agetan is a photographer for a living. see his website and you will know.
Old 5th October 2006   #15
radi9red

hahaha agetan is rank number 1 now ..
i'm number 2 .. hats off ..!
Old 5th October 2006   #16
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by radi9red View Post
hahaha agetan is rank number 1 now ..
i'm number 2 .. hats off ..!
u will be demoted soon when sulhan post his... or maybe Geno share his gear...
Old 5th October 2006   #17
Agetan

Don't envy me...

I just lucky that have a friend who let me sold some of the good gear for me.... hence I can test and play with those things without much expenses... Well, bad thing is that If i really like it, I will keep it, meaning hole in my pocket.

By all mean, I am not that rich to own everything, nor I have any intention to keep everything...

I am user, not really a collector.

Hart
Old 5th October 2006   #18
Moonstone

8 lenses only:

Minolta AF28-80mm f4.5-5.6 Got it as a kit lens when first bought the 303si in Japan

Minolta AF24-85mm f3.5-4.5: Upgraded to this lens after using the Sigma 28-70mm f2.8

Minolta AF100-300mm Apo Not bad image acceptable to me

Minolta AF85mm D f1.4: Solid and best portrait lens I have. this lens!

Tamron 70-210mm f4.5-5.6: Don't like this lens use only a few times. Flimsy and wobbling front. Soft images at tele end

Sigma 24 f2.8 macro: Sharp lens and wide angle macro, good built too. (Metal body)

Sigma 28-70m f2.8 Good lens but heavy. Internal fogged after 5 years using it as a workhorse lens.

Sigma AF105mm EX f2.8 macro: My only macro lens, sharp images
Old 5th October 2006   #19
dr34mc4st3r

lens used so far:

KM 18-70 f3.5-5.6 kit lens - good sharpness when stopped down. damn light as well

KM 17-35 f2.8-4 - sharp lens and its a FF lens!

KM 28-75 f2.8 - good for normal walkaround. sharp as usual

Sigma 400 f5.6 APO - old lens i bought from ebay. got a bit of haze in centre element . but photos taken are still passable after i edit the photos.

Tamron 90mm macro - light and sharp 1:1 macro lens.

Minolta 70-210 f4 - my fav telezoom lens. always use it @ f4. cheap and sharp!!!

Minolta 75-300 f3.5-5.6 - slow lens. but sharpness is good @ f/8
Old 5th October 2006   #20
zcf

Just post the some lenses I have used so far:

Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6
Wide and sharp at f/8, wide open not so good, so mainly for outdoor scenery/travel shoot. Some distortion and vignetting at widest end at close to the border of frame, but that don't border me much.

Minolta 16mm f/2.8 Fish Eye
Wide and sharp, not as wide as Sigma 10-20mm on APS-C cropped sensor, but widest in full frame/film body, the distortion make it a fun lens to have.

Tokina 17mm f/3.5 ATX-Pro
As other descripted, build like a tank, another sharp lens I use most frequently before I acquire Sigma 10-20mm, and Minolta 17-35mm G, not sadly just sit in the dry cabinet.

Minolta 17-35mm f/3.5 G
Sharp lens even at wide open, mainly for indoor low light shoot, heavy, good build.

KM 18-70mm f/3.5-5.6
Very light weight kit lens, so is my first lens to own, sharp at centre soft at corner. Now superceded by Sigma 18-200mm

Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3
Light weight general/trekking/convenient lens, distortion at wide and tele end, reasonably sharp. A bit soft and focus hunt around 200mm.

KM 24-105mm f/3.5-4.5
Not as sharp as 28-75mm, but better on the length, but not wide enough as a travel/scenery lens. Good light weight day time event shoot, now superceded by Sigma 18-200mm.

KM 28-75mm f/2.8
Another sharp lens, especially from f/4 onward, useable f/2.8. Mainly used for low light indoor event and portrait shoot.

Minolta 50mm f/1.4
Good portrait/low light shoot prime lens, sharp.

Minolta 80-200mm f/2.8 APO G HS
Most used indoor event/fashion show lens. Sharp and fast, but heavy.

Minolta 85mm f/1.4
Better portrait/low light shoot prime lens, better bokeh and sharpness at f/1.4-2.0 than 50mm.

Minolta 100mm Macro f/2.8
Sharpest lens even at f/2.8, good for macro, but slow and a bit heavy.

Minolta 100-300mm f/4.5-5.6 non-APO
My first tele lens, OK weight and sharpness when stop down. Now superceded by 100-400mm

Minolta 100-400mm f/4.5-6.3
Good zoom lens, convenient, a bit heavy though, but have good reach and reasonably sharp, not fast and focusing a bit slow especially under low light condition.

Minolta 400mm f/4.5 APO + 1.4 Minolta APO TC
Sharp lens, even with TC on. Very heavy, hard to hand held for long, but lighter than other competitor lens. Reasonably fast.

Last edited by zcf; 5th October 2006 at 01:20 PM.
Closed Thread