Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: How to pull film out from cartridge?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    west coast
    Posts
    36

    Default How to pull film out from cartridge?

    Hi all,

    I want to ask how to pull out the film from the film cartridge again after it has ben rewound?

    Is there a simple trick or Is there a special tool? If so where can i get it?

    Please advise

    Thanks,

    Deep5

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    5,499

    Default

    what you need is something called a Film Pick or Picker. easily obtainable from CP/fotoguide/ruby photo or any good photo lab. get the blue Konica one, easy to use and so far, the most popular.

    i'd consider this an essential item for a film shooter, along with a el cheapo slim black marker (for noting the number of shots on the film canister itself)...

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    west coast
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Thx a lot...

    Btw How much would this picker cost?

    is it expensive?

  4. #4
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default

    I've heard that if one knows the lab well, they can even do it for you FOC!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by AdamGoi
    I've heard that if one knows the lab well, they can even do it for you FOC!
    Dun need, just go any lab, buy a couple of rolls of film, and you should be able to get them to do for you.

    Regards
    CK

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    west coast
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Yes...
    i have done that a few times. But it's very troublesome as my place is nowhere near to any lab (not within walking distance) and not to mention that i have to buy stuffs there b4 i can ask.

    So now i'm thinking of getting that film picker so i can do it myself.

    Thanks for all the inputs

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Farrer Road
    Posts
    354

    Default

    is it technically difficult? do u need a black bag to do it in? any risk of ruining the roll like opening up the cartridge?

    so the idea of doing this is to do midroll rewinds to switch film right?

    and the risks of it is getting dust/scratches on film during the winding process?

    any possibility of partial exposure when u reload a previously-used film and try to forward to the midroll by shooting with lens-cap on?

    this works best with canon systems that pre-wind to the end right? but is it quite accurate or better to leave 1 shot extra spacing between sessions?

    thanks!

  8. #8
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default

    Originally posted by hyun
    is it technically difficult? do u need a black bag to do it in? any risk of ruining the roll like opening up the cartridge?

    so the idea of doing this is to do midroll rewinds to switch film right?

    and the risks of it is getting dust/scratches on film during the winding process?

    any possibility of partial exposure when u reload a previously-used film and try to forward to the midroll by shooting with lens-cap on?

    this works best with canon systems that pre-wind to the end right? but is it quite accurate or better to leave 1 shot extra spacing between sessions?

    thanks!
    Wah...so many questions!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by hyun
    is it technically difficult? do u need a black bag to do it in? any risk of ruining the roll like opening up the cartridge?

    so the idea of doing this is to do midroll rewinds to switch film right?

    and the risks of it is getting dust/scratches on film during the winding process?

    any possibility of partial exposure when u reload a previously-used film and try to forward to the midroll by shooting with lens-cap on?

    this works best with canon systems that pre-wind to the end right? but is it quite accurate or better to leave 1 shot extra spacing between sessions?

    thanks!
    Aiyo, so many questions!

    You can get them all answered by buying the thing and asking the seller to show you. Very easy one, dun need changing bag, etc.

    Basically, it goes like this. You insert the film picker's 3 tongues (retracted) into the lip of the cartridge. Push Lever [1] into the cartridge. Rotate the spindle of the cartridge until you hear a click. Push lever [2] into the cartridge. Pull the film picker out, which willl extract the leader.

    Using a marker, write down which frame you stopped at on the leader or the cartridge. I prefer to write on the leader.

    When you re-load it, use the highest shutter speed, smallest aperture (e.g. 1/4000s @ f/22) and fast forward it to the last frame + 1 or 2. E.g. if you stopped at frame 17, advance to 19.

    Be careful of reloading film from pre-wind cameras into non-prewind cameras and vice versa.

    Regards
    CK

  10. #10

    Default

    Deep5, what camera do you use? Most Canon SLRs allow you to leave the leader out.

  11. #11

    Default

    Originally posted by sriram
    Deep5, what camera do you use? Most Canon SLRs allow you to leave the leader out.
    heh heh. love it. I always set mine to leave the leader out.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Farrer Road
    Posts
    354

    Default

    Originally posted by sriram
    Deep5, what camera do you use? Most Canon SLRs allow you to leave the leader out.
    u mean the camera has some menu setting that lets u leave it out after a rewind?

    any experience of damage to film from all this winding there and there? scratches etc..?

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    west coast
    Posts
    36

    Default

    i use nikon f65

    i dun think they have this setting...
    nvr see in the manual

  14. #14

    Default

    Originally posted by hyun


    u mean the camera has some menu setting that lets u leave it out after a rewind?

    any experience of damage to film from all this winding there and there? scratches etc..?
    yes, some advanced cameras allow that.

    no..... my my.... u are one big worried guy... relax.

  15. #15

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang

    fast forward it to the last frame + 1 or 2. E.g. if you stopped at frame 17, advance to 19.
    There is no need to advance to the last frame + 1 or 2 for Canon. The film advancing unit in Canon cameras can accurately wind the film to the next available frame without any overlapping or extra space. But u can only do that if your roll of film has a tongue.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by mervlam


    There is no need to advance to the last frame + 1 or 2 for Canon. The film advancing unit in Canon cameras can accurately wind the film to the next available frame without any overlapping or extra space. But u can only do that if your roll of film has a tongue.
    Not to downplay Canon, but do you really, really, really want to trust it? It's safer to just +1 or 2, just in case. 1 frame is cheap. A double exposure with your winning shot is not.

    Regards
    CK

  17. #17

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang


    Not to downplay Canon, but do you really, really, really want to trust it? It's safer to just +1 or 2, just in case. 1 frame is cheap. A double exposure with your winning shot is not.

    Regards
    CK
    i had tried it on around 20 rolls so far on my EOS 30. Never missed a beat on consumer film (ie. not bulk-loaded, as i dont cut the leader into a tongue shape)

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by mervlam


    i had tried it on around 20 rolls so far on my EOS 30. Never missed a beat on consumer film (ie. not bulk-loaded, as i dont cut the leader into a tongue shape)
    That's only 20 rolls. Try 2000 rolls. If all pass, heh. But seriously, just as you wouldn't want to trust any metering 100% of the time, you shouldn't trust such automation 100% of the time. You never know when it fails.

    Regards
    CK

  19. #19

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang


    That's only 20 rolls. Try 2000 rolls. If all pass, heh. But seriously, just as you wouldn't want to trust any metering 100% of the time, you shouldn't trust such automation 100% of the time. You never know when it fails.

    Regards
    CK
    hehe.... u got a point there. that's why i prefer not to mid-roll rewind for important events. i usually finish that roll of film.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    west coast
    Posts
    36

    Default

    The point is juz go out and try.
    If you make a mistake, so what?
    You probably will still be alive afterwards... (cross my finger)
    But learn from it, so next time you can avoid it.

    The stupid mistakes we make now can become an inspiring story to share with our grandchildren in the future.

    Cheers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •