Thread: Shortening learning curve of mastering the settings

Default Shortening learning curve of mastering the settings

Bros, newbie here requesting information whether is there any website or books that specifically let me know the various types of settings for taking different pictures, ie

Portrait, sports, macro (insects, flowers), fireworks, scnery, landscape etc etc)
    ideal ISO
    ideal Aperture
    ideal Shutter speed
    ideal EV compensation
    alot more things to pay attention to etc etc.

Currently, I am learning the hard way of switching blindly the settings and trying to figure out whether I am doing the right thing as most of the pictures looks the same to me on the LCD screen even though I change the dial from portriat to sports, to night scenery on my D50. I am so confused and I need help from the expert. Thanks in advance

Default Re: Shortening learning curve of mastering the settings

Quote Originally Posted by tengcc
    Bros, newbie here requesting information whether is there any website or books that specifically let me know the various types of settings for taking different pictures, ie

Portrait, sports, macro (insects, flowers), fireworks, scnery, landscape etc etc)
    ideal ISO
    ideal Aperture
    ideal Shutter speed
    ideal EV compensation
    alot more things to pay attention to etc etc.

Currently, I am learning the hard way of switching blindly the settings and trying to figure out whether I am doing the right thing as most of the pictures looks the same to me on the LCD screen even though I change the dial from portriat to sports, to night scenery on my D50. I am so confused and I need help from the expert. Thanks in advance
    ISO - As low as possible... unless for creative purpose like coverting to B/W photos
    Aperture - Depend on how deep/shallow you want your DOF to be