Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

  1. #1

    Default HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    Dear fellow CS'sers,

    I"m using Asus P4P800, P4 2.6c, 1Gram,

    IDE1 Master - HDD1 (jumper set to master)
    IDE1 Slave - HDD2 (jumper set to slave)

    IDE2 Master - DVDRW
    IDE2 Slave - Empty

    SATA1 - HDD3 (jumper set to chip select)
    SATA2 - Empty

    I was trying to fish out data from a friend's HDD, conntect it to IDE1 Slave, but its jumper was in Chip select mode. The BIOS had problem detecting some/all of the IDE devices. I changed the jumper to slave mode. After a few boots, BIOS could detect and I managed to backup most of the data in my friend's HDD.

    Tried to connect back my HDD2, and BIOS couldn't detect some/most of the devices!! Tried different combis, HDD1/2/DVDRW disc to IDE1/2 master/slave, to no avail.

    HDD1 managed to boot like 3/50 tries, but when connecting the HDD2/3/DVDRW back one by one, the BIOS would detect nothing at all!

    Can BIOS be affected by some virus or how can I 'reset' the BIOS. I wouldn't want to format my HDD1 (OS is installed there) if possible.

    Any advice is appreciated

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default Re: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    try changing the IDE cable

  3. #3

    Default Re: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    Hi,

    FYI, Slave no need to put jumper at all. Try that again.

  4. #4

    Default Re: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    Quote Originally Posted by tokrot
    Hi,

    FYI, Slave no need to put jumper at all. Try that again.
    thats new, hehehe the sticker on my hdd must be all wrong

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    3,287

    Default Re: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    Try setting your bios back to factory default.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    3,287

    Default Re: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    Quote Originally Posted by tokrot
    Hi,

    FYI, Slave no need to put jumper at all. Try that again.
    That's not true. Some HD need to put jumper for both master and slave.

  7. #7

    Talking Re: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    Quote Originally Posted by jbma
    That's not true. Some HD need to put jumper for both master and slave.
    I mean there's no need to put a jumper for HDD slave. It works all the time. But For HDD master It's a must. You don't believe you can try that. I setup and troubleshoot manufacturing testers/computers for last 10 yrs.
    Last edited by tokrot; 18th September 2006 at 11:33 AM.

  8. #8

    Default Re: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    check that your BIOS has a PATA/SATA mode select. some of them have these

    PATA only
    SATA only
    PATA & SATA


    and for the PATA&SATA option some of these have the option to select which is primary - PATA or SATA... sort of mapping pata and sata to IDE 0,1,2,3.

    try see how...

  9. #9

    Default Re: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    Quote Originally Posted by slooow
    thats new, hehehe the sticker on my hdd must be all wrong
    No I mean there's no need to put a jumper for HDD slave..Don't believe you can try it..
    Last edited by tokrot; 18th September 2006 at 11:33 AM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    Quote Originally Posted by tokrot
    No I mean there's no need to put a jumper for HDD slave..Don't believe you can try it..
    depends... but sata best, no need to put jumper, but now need, cos 150 or 300 selection.. haha..
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  11. #11

    Default Re: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    Disconnect the power supply and all your devices. Connect them back one at a time. You can also go to BIOS setup and set the device to OFF, then reboot and set the device detection to AUTO again. That sometimes does the trick, because the BIOS will "remember" which was the last device connected, and get confused when it finds a different device.

  12. #12

    Default Re: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    hdd boot priority properly set up? or is the motherboard cannot even detect the hdd in the first place?

    try putting them into cable select mode and boot up one by one.

    could be the cable too.
    random equipment.
    where are my primes?

  13. #13

    Default Re: HELP! BIOS can't detect HDDs...

    one can only see/change the boot piority after the BIOS can detect the HDDs/DVDRW drives etc.

    thanks all for your input.

    shall print this out and go home and try! (yeah, still@work!)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •