Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > General Discussions > Newbies Corner

Newbies Corner The best place for those new to photography and ClubSNAP.

Old 17th September 2006   #1
ahsosl1e8

Default Price depreciation of lens vs bodies

Seriously considering an upgrade from my fz30 to a dslr. (the limitations are getting frustrating). Tight constrain in budget (<2k), so I have narrowed down the choice to two paths:

1) Start with 2nd hand d50 + d70s/d80 kit lens. Wait till i got money then upgrade lens body to d80/d200 (when their price drops)

2) Chiong the d80 kit. Wait till i got money then sell the lens for a better one.

What i need to know is how fast do lens depreciate? I know the 2nd hand d50 price almost reach bottom liao, but wad about d80? Will it depreciate faster than its kit lens?
Old 17th September 2006   #2
ortega

Default Re: Price depreciation of lens vs bodies

don't worry so much about depreciation

just appreciate you camera and go shooting

BTW get the D80 + 2nd hand D70 kit lens 18-70mm for a start
Old 17th September 2006   #3
Madmax

D100 is still a good cam. I am still using it.
Sponsored Link
Old 17th September 2006   #4
lightning

The body of the cemera always drop in price faster then the lens. Get a simple body(2nd hand D50, D70s), and a good lens if you are on a budget.
Old 17th September 2006   #5
ortega

not really, get the D80 if only for the viewfinder
Old 17th September 2006   #6
ExplorerZ

either go for d80 or just d50 alone without upgrade to d80 in the future... by the time you wanna upgrade to d80 there might already be a d80s or d90... and this keeps on...
for me if i know i will have a really tight budget for a while i go for d50/80 + d70s kit lens and one more tele lens. and from here start building up your lens instead of chasing the body.
Old 17th September 2006   #7
ahsosl1e8

having weighed the pros and cons, i've realised that the true advantages of d80 is only:
-better viewfinder (actually i dunno how much better, cos i'm used to puny fz30 viewfinder)
-better screen
-iso3200 (may be important since i still got no $$$ for VR lens)

Features that i dunno if important:
-DOF button
-battery (more info)
-iso100
-CAM1000

One more thing... is the 18-135mm worth it? or should i get the 18-70mm instead. I would love to have a greater zoom range without changing lens too often.
Old 17th September 2006   #8
ortega

Originally Posted by ahsosl1e8
having weighed the pros and cons, i've realised that the true advantages of d80 is only:
-better viewfinder (actually i dunno how much better, cos i'm used to puny fz30 viewfinder)
-better screen

-DOF button
-battery (more info)
-iso100
-CAM1000

One more thing... is the 18-135mm worth it? or should i get the 18-70mm instead. I would love to have a greater zoom range without changing lens too often.
DOF button? useful for film camera, D80 got huge LCD to see actual DOF
ISO 100 is useful when you need to slow down the shutter speed
CAM1000 -Better AF when you are lazy, good for sports and other fast moving shots
Battery Info - not so important to me Battery life is more important
Better exposure meter
Better CLS control
More powerful pop up flash
Old 17th September 2006   #9
blurrblurr

Originally Posted by ortega
DOF button? useful for film camera, D80 got huge LCD to see actual DOF
ISO 100 is useful when you need to slow down the shutter speed
CAM1000 -Better AF when you are lazy, good for sports and other fast moving shots
Battery Info - not so important to me Battery life is more important
Better exposure meter
Better CLS control
More powerful pop up flash
So what are you waiting for
Old 17th September 2006   #10
ExplorerZ

-better screen

-DOF button
-battery (more info)
-iso100
-CAM1000

sell and top up 700-800 for the 18-200 VR... enough to last you for a really long while
Old 17th September 2006   #11
ahsosl1e8

Quote:
sell and top up 700-800 for the 18-200 VR... enough to last you for a really long while
wah i now still dun have dslr yet leh.... if i lucky can sell my fz30 @ ~800 then still need to top up lots to get a config with 18-200VR

May i know what is CLS? And whats so great about the exposure meter of d80?
Old 17th September 2006   #12
ortega

Originally Posted by blurrblurr
So what are you waiting for
me?

waiting for installment of my D70 to finish first
my target next year end

I hope that there is more new technology to see, try and compare again

Maybe D200s with lower battery consumption/no banding problem and better noise control?

hee hee till next year
Old 17th September 2006   #13
ortega

May i know what is CLS? And whats so great about the exposure meter of d80?
CLS - Creative Light System
Google it, lots of detailed infomation on the internet

Exposure meter - go look in the nikon forum for more info and examples
Old 17th September 2006   #14
ernest_ted

Originally Posted by ortega
me?

waiting for installment of my D70 to finish first
my target next year end

I hope that there is more new technology to see, try and compare again

Maybe D200s with lower battery consumption/no banding problem and better noise control?

hee hee till next year
thot u saving for D3....
Old 17th September 2006   #15
ortega

Originally Posted by ernest_ted
thot u saving for D3....
that is for the pros, not a hobbyist like me