Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 38

Thread: Any digicam can shoot panorama?

  1. #1

    Default Any digicam can shoot panorama?

    hi does anybody know of any high end digicam that can shoot in panorama? my canon 5 D cannot!

  2. #2

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Umm you just need a tripod that has those panoramic heads? There is photo stiching software for that too. Even consumer digital compacts can do panormas ..
    Furry Photos - Photography for the Modern Pet

  3. #3

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Normally I will take a series of all-rounded shots using the tripod. Upload it on PC and use Photoshop to align them together...

    If your digicam has manual control, use them instead of auto settings which may result in different picture turn-out for each photo, causing unblended colours to occur.

  4. #4

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    hi raptor thanks. this may sound crazy but i am a guy who is too lazy to edit let alone stitch up my digital photos. i just shoot and store!! hence was wondering whether there is a digital version of the hasselblad panorama camera which gives superb images without the need to photoshop

  5. #5

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Quote Originally Posted by gtan
    hi raptor thanks. this may sound crazy but i am a guy who is too lazy to edit let alone stitch up my digital photos. i just shoot and store!! hence was wondering whether there is a digital version of the hasselblad panorama camera which gives superb images without the need to photoshop
    Those stitching software are so simple to use that you just have to give them the images in sequence and it will stitch them for you automatically.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    I'm a Llama!
    Posts
    4,751

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?


  7. #7

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    http://www.steves-digicams.com/2005_...0one_mod3.html

    works with any camera, even the 5D

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    I'm a Llama!
    Posts
    4,751

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Quote Originally Posted by theRBK
    http://www.steves-digicams.com/2005_...0one_mod3.html

    works with any camera, even the 5D
    I've used this before, resolution is rather crap. You're basically taking an image off a mirror!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Selangor D.E.
    Posts
    1,625

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    WOW Blu like this one...sure beats any panorama software.!!!!

  10. #10

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Quote Originally Posted by Terence
    I've used this before, resolution is rather crap. You're basically taking an image off a mirror!
    well, it is convenient...best resolution is still from stitching

  11. #11

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Quote Originally Posted by Blu-By-U
    WOW Blu like this one...sure beats any panorama software.!!!!
    You still need to use the software to transform the circular image into rectilinear.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Selangor D.E.
    Posts
    1,625

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    was reading the review...now not so sure it's any better...maybe a panning head would be more ideal....looks like it's back to the stiching software..

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    I'm a Llama!
    Posts
    4,751

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Quote Originally Posted by theRBK
    well, it is convenient...best resolution is still from stitching
    What has stitching got to do with overall resolution and image quality?

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    KFC
    Posts
    1,776

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    My sony ericsson W700i got panorama function leh..
    Somemore its only $99 with 2-yr plan at sintel promotion now
    09 Oct 09 officially marks the date I become a canon convert.

  15. #15

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Quote Originally Posted by Terence
    What has stitching got to do with overall resolution and image quality?
    Because you can shoot many frames at full resolution to make the panorama. The device cramps the whole panorama into one frame and tries to unravel it, of course you get better resolution with stitching software.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    I'm a Llama!
    Posts
    4,751

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Quote Originally Posted by lsisaxon
    Because you can shoot many frames at full resolution to make the panorama. The device cramps the whole panorama into one frame and tries to unravel it, of course you get better resolution with stitching software.
    I'm wondering why he stated that stitching was the best solution when they are film alternatives which can be as good or better, without the need for stitching.

    If you read my earlier post, you'd know that I didn't like the 360 One VR.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    A village in a forest
    Posts
    1,515

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Errmm...., if you don't intend to have big prints, why don't you just use your widest lense, and then crop the picture afterwards into any panaroma format you like in PS. 5D resolution is high enough for you to crop quite a bit. It is just a less than 1 min job to do it in PS.
    Canon 80D|Panasonic LX3/LX5
    35f2 IS|50f1.8|85f1.8|12-24f4|18-135f4-5.6 IS|28-75f2.8

  18. #18

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Quote Originally Posted by Terence
    I'm wondering why he stated that stitching was the best solution when they are film alternatives which can be as good or better, without the need for stitching.

    If you read my earlier post, you'd know that I didn't like the 360 One VR.
    replying to previous post saying images CMI...just meant that if priority is resolution, can't beat stitching (not using shots from the 360 system, using shots from camera mounted on a pano head)...some patience and a whole lot of stiching can get you gigapixel images...

    but convenience, xpan would be good as it is one shot...just that TS mentioned wanting a digital solution
    Last edited by theRBK; 15th September 2006 at 02:05 PM.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Selangor D.E.
    Posts
    1,625

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Blu think not much choice then if high resolution required, then Terance's Film based pano camera is still the best. Even a with blu now currently shooting at full 7.8mp would not be able to beat the 35mm film. Maybe the only advantage from digital, is adjusting and playing around with the exposure.

  20. #20

    Default Re: any digicam can shoot panorama?

    Quote Originally Posted by Terence
    I'm wondering why he stated that stitching was the best solution when they are film alternatives which can be as good or better, without the need for stitching.

    If you read my earlier post, you'd know that I didn't like the 360 One VR.
    Film solutions requires dedicated hardware which is not cheap.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •