Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

  1. #1

    Default 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    Hi folks, care to share what computers you use to process your 11-17mp raw files from your cameras? I love to find out from normal users to professionals, thanks! Could you share your RAM size, which software to edit, thanks!

    i'm currently running Imac 2.1GHz Power G5 (non intel) with 1.5Gb RAM with CS2 using Adobe RAW.
    Last edited by Belle&Sebastain; 11th September 2006 at 01:24 AM.

  2. #2

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    I'm running off a 1.83Ghz MacbookPro with 1.5G RAM using C1 pro

  3. #3

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    IMO, you just need a system with decent ram and a fast OS disc.

    my photo/video/audio editing PC doesn't go to the internet. so i can safey use without getting attacked by virus.

    you will need about 2 gb of ram and a decent processor. the intel 9xx or E6600 is a good choice.

    you no need good graphics card for photo editing.

    as for harddisk, it is advisable to get 1 hdd for os and 1 hdd for storage of photos. the OS disc may raid in raid 0, improve speed but decrease data integrity if data is corrupted. raid 1 will be a better choice if you choose to store important assignments in your main OS disc.
    random equipment.
    where are my primes?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    I'm a Llama!
    Posts
    4,751

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    Primary system: G5 2.3 Powermac 4gb Ram (Video: Geforce 7800GT)

    Mobile system: G4 1.67 Powerbook 1.5gb Ram

    Both run well, obviously the powermac runs raw converters faster. The powerbook is just about acceptable to me.

  5. #5

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    I m still using my old G3 iBook with 640MB RAM.

  6. #6

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    Quote Originally Posted by astroboy
    I m still using my old G3 iBook with 640MB RAM.
    to process RAW images from a full frame camera ? ... geez .. how long does that take u ?

  7. #7

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    Slow but not too bad, i go for quality, not quantity. But then I have another G4 iBook, so sometimes i use 2 laptops to run simultaneously.


    Quote Originally Posted by darrelchia
    to process RAW images from a full frame camera ? ... geez .. how long does that take u ?

  8. #8

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    I process my raw files in PC WinXP / cpu 3.8GHz (4.05 GHZ when overclocked) / ram 1GB ... but hopefully will change to Macbookpro within this month or next.

    Software, I sometimes use C1 or Adobe CS2 Raw.

  9. #9

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    Quote Originally Posted by astroboy
    Slow but not too bad, i go for quality, not quantity. But then I have another G4 iBook, so sometimes i use 2 laptops to run simultaneously.
    that's how i feel the bottle neck is, my Powerbook G4 1GHz, 768mb ram is slightly crawling with 5D files, i may either upgrade my Ram on the powerbook or just get a new macbook when the Leopard's out.

  10. #10

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    Main processing system: Pentium D 830 overclocked to 3.8GHz, 4GB RAM, Win XP, PS CS2, C1

    Mobile: MacBook 1.83GHz, 2GB RAM, PS CS2, C1 (non-Universal) but hope to try Aperture soon (although not supported on MB )

    The PC is ultra fast for RAW processing, but the Macbook...errr....

    I typically process about 200-300 RAWs at one go in batch on C1.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Serangoon Nth
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    Quote Originally Posted by Belle&Sebastain
    Hi folks, care to share what computers you use to process your 11-17mp raw files from your cameras? I love to find out from normal users to professionals, thanks! Could you share your RAM size, which software to edit, thanks!

    i'm currently running Imac 2.1GHz Power G5 (non intel) with 1.5Gb RAM with CS2 using Adobe RAW.

    EXACTLY same as yours

    Nothing to complain so far.

    DT

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    2,815

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    Quote Originally Posted by Belle&Sebastain
    that's how i feel the bottle neck is, my Powerbook G4 1GHz, 768mb ram is slightly crawling with 5D files, i may either upgrade my Ram on the powerbook or just get a new macbook when the Leopard's out.
    can check the "efficiency" indicator in CS2? this will tell you if you need to add more ram.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,924

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    I bought a HP workstation and its works fine for editing photos and laying pages. Loads Photoshop, InDesign and Dreamweaver without crashing and works like a charm. I think its the 3 Ghz, 1.5GB RAM, 300GB HDD, ATI-Radeon card.
    Last edited by hazmee; 11th September 2006 at 11:03 PM.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    143

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    Hahas, my school's PMac 2.5quad with 3gb ram.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Somewhere Out There
    Posts
    2,571

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    Wait till you have to process 19MB RAW files then we all would be screaming for more RAM and a more powerful processor.

    In the end, we would all recognize that a powerful computer is only half the story. The other one is a powerful RAW convertor software.

    So far, ACR and C1pro works best for me.

  16. #16
    Member/Tangshooter
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Eastie moved to NorthEastie
    Posts
    337

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    How come no one mentions the hard disk space is critical for ppl using Photoshop? The scratch disk will affect the Read and Write of files and processing of the photos. For best performance scatch disk to be in the same HDD as the OS rather than another HDD.
    コミュニケーションは私たちの障壁です | Flickr

  17. #17

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    hmm..best performance for scratch disk is on same HDD as OS? someone else told me to put scratch on another HDD

    2.6C 1G ram

    HD1: OS
    HD2: Scratch
    HD3: storage of pictures

    Last time changed from 512 to 1G ram, didn't feel very much difference, not sure if add another 512 or 1G will have a lot of diff?? any Xperts?

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Bedok
    Posts
    1,785

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    Quote Originally Posted by di0nysus
    hmm..best performance for scratch disk is on same HDD as OS? someone else told me to put scratch on another HDD

    2.6C 1G ram

    HD1: OS
    HD2: Scratch
    HD3: storage of pictures

    Last time changed from 512 to 1G ram, didn't feel very much difference, not sure if add another 512 or 1G will have a lot of diff?? any Xperts?
    Raise the task manager when using your PS. Look under the performance tab. If you physical memory available drops to a very low value (4 or 5 digits) and your 'PF usage' (Pagefile) starts to go up, it mean you're out of physical memory.

    i'm quite sure 1GB RAM is NOT enough, though. i hit limit often on 2GB RAM.

  19. #19
    Member/Tangshooter
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Eastie moved to NorthEastie
    Posts
    337

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    Quote Originally Posted by di0nysus
    hmm..best performance for scratch disk is on same HDD as OS? someone else told me to put scratch on another HDD
    ....
    If writing/reading on the same HDD, the bottleneck will be the harddisk speed. Across another harddisk, the bottleneck will be the transfer speed of the cable, IDE or SATA, plus harddisk speed.
    コミュニケーションは私たちの障壁です | Flickr

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    2,815

    Default Re: 5D, 1Ds, 1Dsmk2 users, what computers do you use for editing?

    scratch disc on different hdd preferred.

    if efficiency (look near bottom of image in CS2) < 100%, you are paging.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •