Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 5th September 2006   #1
Chris Lim

Default Does NSC service Sb-800?

Hi guys, do you all have any info if NSC services the sb 800? My battery contact point got rusted from a minor leak in the battery. Or is there anyway that i may be able to salvage the problem? thanks
Old 5th September 2006   #2
incubus

Default Re: Does NSC service Sb-800?

of course NSC will service your Sb-800. depends on warranty status tho. my sb600 batt contacts got rusted as well, wat i did was i sanded it down with very fine sandpaper. works for me.
funny thing is that, it got rusted even when i dilligently let the batteries out before storing it in dry cabinet
Old 5th September 2006   #3
taker

Originally Posted by Chris Lim
Hi guys, do you all have any info if NSC services the sb 800? My battery contact point got rusted from a minor leak in the battery. Or is there anyway that i may be able to salvage the problem? thanks
Let NSC have a look. They will quote you before repair, and you can decide if you want to repair it or not.
Sponsored Link
Old 5th September 2006   #4
+evenstar

Originally Posted by incubus
of course NSC will service your Sb-800. depends on warranty status tho. my sb600 batt contacts got rusted as well, wat i did was i sanded it down with very fine sandpaper. works for me.
funny thing is that, it got rusted even when i dilligently let the batteries out before storing it in dry cabinet
it services your SB-800 even if your warranty has expired...
Old 5th September 2006   #5
_espn_

Just send it in. 6559 3630.
Old 5th September 2006   #6
Chris Lim

thanks guys. hmmmm could it be due to the harsh conditions in sg that parts are rusted? Cos i know of some screw on camera bodies being corroded too?
Old 5th September 2006   #7
_espn_

thanks guys. hmmmm could it be due to the harsh conditions in sg that parts are rusted? Cos i know of some screw on camera bodies being corroded too?
Nope, the corrosion on the camera body's screws are likely to be caused by perspiration from the hands while handling the camera body.

As for the rusting, I have no idea why... I've owned over 8 SB-800s over the few years, none gave me that kind of problem
Old 5th September 2006   #8
Chris Lim

hmmmm alright. Thanks Espn. hmm maybe i'll just gaffer the screws on my cam to prevent the corrosion.
cheers
Old 5th September 2006   #9
blazer_workz
Member/Tangshooter

I guess u must be using alkaline batteries..
Old 5th September 2006   #10
Chris Lim

Originally Posted by blazer_workz
I guess u must be using alkaline batteries..
yeah. hmmmmm any reccomendations?
Old 5th September 2006   #11
ipin

I just wipe down the camera body and lenses after every shoot with a damp cloth twice, let them all air dry before placing them back in the dry cabinet. 'Machiam' like my SOP liao. Never had any problems with rusted screws or any signs of corrosion.

As for the flash contacts, I have them for some time already and the contacts never rusted or even tarnished, and I place them in the dry cabinet (flash out of their pouches, battery compartments open) when not in use.
Old 5th September 2006   #12
blazer_workz
Member/Tangshooter

yeah. hmmmmm any reccomendations?
use rechargeable batteries to avoid leak..but first u have to remove the rust on the contact points first..can try using WD-40 + sandpaper..but if the contacts within the body are rusted..send it in to NSC..'cos u can't reach those contact points..
Old 6th September 2006   #13
zoossh

keep us updated if they cover rusting of components before warranty expires.
Old 6th September 2006   #14
_espn_

hmmmm alright. Thanks Espn. hmm maybe i'll just gaffer the screws on my cam to prevent the corrosion.
cheers
That's one way.
Old 6th September 2006   #15
Artosoft

use rechargeable batteries to avoid leak..but first u have to remove the rust on the contact points first..can try using WD-40 + sandpaper..but if the contacts within the body are rusted..send it in to NSC..'cos u can't reach those contact points..
I agree with you. Rechargeable Ni-MH battery have better sealed than alkaline. If you really really must use alkaline, pay attention on expiry date (if say dec 2007, safe to use until dec 2006 only). Do not let the alkaline battery until empty inside flash/electronic devices.

Change all batteries in once (do not mixed different capacity of battery), this good exercise is for any types of battery.

Arto.
Old 6th September 2006   #16
blazer_workz
Member/Tangshooter

Originally Posted by Artosoft
I agree with you. Rechargeable Ni-MH battery have better sealed than alkaline. If you really really must use alkaline, pay attention on expiry date (if say dec 2007, safe to use until dec 2006 only). Do not let the alkaline battery until empty inside flash/electronic devices.

Change all batteries in once (do not mixed different capacity of battery), this good exercise is for any types of battery.

Arto.
my advice is to take out the alkaline batteries immediately once u r not using it anymore..do not leave in inside ur flash for more than 1 day..because flash draws a lot more power than any other electronic devices..hence the chance of leakage is very high..its not leakage due to long time never use/expiry..if u dun believe, u can try to use alkaline batteries on ur SB800 and fire 50times manual mode 1/1 power..after u did tat u can see some stains on the contact points..and those are signs of leakage..

for me, before i keep my flash for storage..i will check for any stains on the contact points..because these stains are the cause of rust..i will spray some WD-40 on a cotton bud to clean up the stains..but its better to use rechargeable ones..
Old 6th September 2006   #17
Artosoft

..because flash draws a lot more power than any other electronic devices..hence the chance of leakage is very high..its not leakage due to long time never use/expiry..if u dun believe, u can try to use alkaline batteries on ur SB800 and fire 50times manual mode 1/1 power..after u did tat u can see some stains on the contact points..and those are signs of leakage..
Errr...., while I agree it should be better to take out battery everytime you keep the flash, some correction from me:
IMHO, Flash draws a lot more power when working (when need to fill up the capacitor inside). When flash is in idle or turn off mode, it will draw only a little power.
Of course, if you fire flash 50 times at M1/1, it will drain all the power the battery have. It soon will leakage.

In my personal experience, if I will use flash within 1 or 2 weeks, I never take out the battery from flash (alkaline or Ni-MH). If you take out the battery too often, the battery door will wear off and become another problem. Most important, never touch flash battery contact (and also battery contact). It will leading to corrosion. If touched, I will clean it up with microfiber cloth.

Arto.
Old 6th September 2006   #18
blazer_workz
Member/Tangshooter

Errr...., while I agree it should be better to take out battery everytime you keep the flash, some correction from me:
IMHO, Flash draws a lot more power when working (when need to fill up the capacitor inside). When flash is in idle or turn off mode, it will draw only a little power.
Of course, if you fire flash 50 times at M1/1, it will drain all the power the battery have. It soon will leakage.

In my personal experience, if I will use flash within 1 or 2 weeks, I never take out the battery from flash (alkaline or Ni-MH). If you take out the battery too often, the battery door will wear off and become another problem. Most important, never touch flash battery contact (and also battery contact). It will leading to corrosion. If touched, I will clean it up with microfiber cloth.

Arto.
yeah! no prob wif tat oso..the flash is just as important as our camera/lenses..if u dun maintain it no one will..besides tat, having a good practise to maintain ur equipment ensures it always stay in good condition so it will not let us down when we go for shoot..some more u can oso fetch a better price if u want to sell it off..
Old 6th September 2006   #19
ipin

yeah! no prob wif tat oso..the flash is just as important as our camera/lenses..if u dun maintain it no one will..besides tat, having a good practise to maintain ur equipment ensures it always stay in good condition so it will not let us down when we go for shoot..some more u can oso fetch a better price if u want to sell it off..
Prevention is still better that cure. Cleaning / maintaining equipment after use should be part and parcel of every user's SOP. Take care of your equipment and they will serve you well.
Old 6th September 2006   #20
taker

I agree with you. Rechargeable Ni-MH battery have better sealed than alkaline...

Arto.
Also rechargeable's recycling time is faster for flash.
Closed Thread